First of all…we are so happy when people find our articles/posts useful for them. We feel like we are not just 2 turtles and 1 human who are running the blog simply for fun. Well,it is fun but we also want people to learn more about our species.

I have shared about Spinach in We Are Not Popeye, here are the other food to avoid: (copied from redearslider.com)

  • Iceburg lettuce and Celery because they provide very little useful nutrition or fiber. They are fillers, a way to add variety but not nutrition.
  • Spinach, Chard, Beets, Rhubarb because they have Oxalic acid and it blocks the absorption of calcium. These foods cause the turtle to become calcium deficient even if a good source of calcium is provided which can result in soft shell or MBD (metabolic bone disease) which is fatal.
  • Beans, Mushrooms because they do not much nutritional value, and can cause gout.
  • Raw meat, Frozen fish, Raw chicken because they will causes obesity, pyramiding, kidney problems << this used to be my problem.Mommy often gave me cook chicken…and I am a bit overweight now :(
  • Goldfish because it is very fatty, really no nutritional value for turtle

Now … here are what’s good for us :) (also copied from redearslider.com)

  • For turtles under 1 year old, feed pellets daily, as much as would fit in their head if it were hollow (not including the neck) and veggies every day (if they refuse, don’t stop offering it)
  • For turtles one year and older, feed every other day at most (amount of food will increase with size of head), with veggies every day.

VEGETABLES  **all rinsed thoroughly**

  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Mustard leaves
  • Leaves of Radish
  • Collard Greens
  • Tomatoes (must be considered a rarity. too acidic to be a regular staple)
  • Carrot
  • Turnip
  • Sweet Potato (cooked – boiled/ steamed/baked)
  • Peas (occasionally – once a month max)
  • Pumpkin
  • Squashes

FRUITS **no more than once a month**

  • Papaya
  • Mango
  • Watermelon
  • Cantaloupe/Common Melon
  • Grapes (remove skin so its easier for them to pick at )
  • Apple
  • Pear
  • Strawberry
  • Figs
  • Banana

WATER PLANTS **rinsed thoroughly**

  • Anacharis
  • Water Lily
  • Duckweed
  • Water Hyacinth
  • Hornwort

LIVE PREY **as snack, once in a while**

  • Feeder Fish (guppies, rosey red minnows)
  • mealworms (no more than once a week as they’re very high in protein)
  • mosquito larvae
  • crickets (preferably gutloaded)
  • cockroaches
  • apple snails or other water snails

Me eating Cuttlebone

Getting Calcium

  • cuttlebone (found in any pet store in the bird section – peel off the hard backing first, as they can’t digest it)
  • Calcium Dusting (you can crush cuttlebone for this)
  • Calcium blocks

Getting Vitamin A (Great for eyes ..especially if they are puffy)

  • green leafy vegetables
  • carrot
  • squash
  • cod liver oil

Remember!! don’t feed us same food over and over again because we can easily attached to it and refuse other  food.

Take good care of our species, okay :)

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

36 responses »

  1. catcalls says:

    I had to laugh at this! “feed pellets daily, as much as would fit in their head if it were hollow ”
    We know your heads is not hollow, though, and that you are very intelligent!

    • Kame says:

      Hehe that sentence made mommy a bit confuse, at first. She tried to figure out how much was that supposed to be by putting pellets on her hand and looking at us at the same time.

      Thank you Cat Calls…lots of people think we are just a stupid pet :( , nice to know you don’t see us like that :)

  2. Brian Paul says:

    Nice article and very helpful. I had no idea my turtle could get gout. Thanks.

  3. Wow you guys eat lots – but I’d have to draw the line at bugs, I’d never eat those!

    • Kame says:

      We are omnivora…so we eat many kinds of food ;) You draw your line at bugs, is that means you dogs eat veggies too? I never knew that .

  4. kelly says:

    I did not know you were omnivorous…very interesting :D Fabulous post TY

    • Kame says:

      We tend to be more vegetarian as we get older. I haven’t eat any meat for 2 years…I miss chicken and fish a lot but I am on diet program :(

      Thank you for reading our blog, Aunt Kelly.

  5. Asop says:

    Kame dan Kroten begitu beruntungnya kalian ya, punya majikan yang amaaaaaat mengerti dan menyayangi dirimu…. :oops:

    • Kame says:

      Hehehe iya dong Bang Asop…kita malah suka kasian sama kura2 yang dipelihara seadanya.

      Dulu pernah punya tetangga yang kura2nya udah ditaro di dalam ember kecil cuma dikasih makan kangkung terus pula…kasian bgt. Rasanya pengen diangkat jadi saudara tapi tempatnya ga cukup. 2 container plastik aja dah menuh2in kamar.

  6. Deboshree says:

    Really guys, you are quite whimsical. We get attached and refuse other food? :D But okay, I get the idea. In case I decided to pet your friends, I will remember.

    • Kroten says:

      I have no problem with food…I will eat everything.

      Kame is one of the perfect example for that whimpsy thing. Did you know what mommy had to do to make Kame eats veggie? She had to put her on a week on strict diet. She didn’t give her anything else but veggie. It was very hard as Kame often looked her in the eyes with cute begging eyes. She had to force herself to ignore those eyes.

      Fortunately, the hunger strike was over in a week and Kame started eatung veggie afterward. Kame was attached to meaty food such as chicken, fish and pellet.
      Mommy didn’t know much about turtle when she first had Kame. If you do decide to have our turtle cousins, please don’t make same mistake ;)

  7. Bailey says:

    Very educational as I had no idea what a balanced turtle diet would include. The O nutritional value of iceburg and celery made sense. The other stuff was very interesting. Especially the amounts.

    • Kame says:

      Yaaiii…I am so glad you think like that even though this isn’t purely something I wrote, I copy-pasted almost all of them from the site that have helped mommy a lot.

      Wrong food can cause damage for my species…glad mommy always try to mix the food she can find. Not all the food can be found in Indonesia.

  8. catchatcaren says:

    I never knew that turtles could eat sweet potatoes or fruit!! Some of the things you mentioned at the top were so surprising to me!

    • Novroz says:

      Sweet potato is their favorite!! If I allowed my self to give them the whole sweet potato, I am sure they will eat them all in less than 5 minutes.

      But sweet potato has high sugar level, I can only give it as much as head-size and not too often. Once a week or 2 weeks. The sugar can cause diabetes.

  9. Binky says:

    No chocolate? No wine gums? You poor turtles!
    Wild wombats in captivity also like carrots and sweet potatoes. But no meat.

    • Kroten says:

      Is chocolate really that good?
      Tho mommy never read it whether it bad for us or not…but she likes to keep us in the safe track…so no chocolate for us :(
      I do wonder how does it taste.

      Wombies don’t eat meat? I thought you do, judging from your teeth

  10. Bikram says:

    wow.. admire you for that .. I throw all sorts of tantrum when at home eating this or that :)

  11. Tony McGurk says:

    I didn’t realise that turtles ate such a wide variety of food. I was surprised that there is such a big variety that they will eat A very informative post
    I don’t think I would like to eat goldfish either.

    • Kroten says:

      That list surprised my mommy too ;)
      She tried to give us a bit of this and that and we are enjoying the treat.

      Most important thing to remember is the no-no food…please tell that to anyone you know who owns a turtle, ‘kay Uncle Tony :)

  12. lifewith4cats says:

    I bet you could eat mango without having to go to water. They are so super slippery, I have a hard time holding onto them when I try to peel them. They fly out of my hand like a flying monkey.

  13. once i ate a cuttle bone

  14. nadhilaaz says:

    Miss itu nama daun2annya in Indonesia apa yak? Banyak yg kurang familiar dg namanya, hehe abis dulu ga doyan sayur sih :p

  15. turtrox says:

    Hi there Kroten and everyone else at this blog
    I really love your blog :)

    I was just wondering, do you eat the veggies if its in your Mummy’s hand? Or when she’s around?
    My little turtle Robin doesn’t -and the veggies are only eaten when I’m not around. When I go back to check there’s usually some veggie bits floating around in the water…
    I tried offering him the veggies by holding them on the water but he just ignored them like they weren’t there!

    Is this normal for your species or only just maybe because he doesn’t trust me a lot yet..?

    • Papoe says:

      Hi Turtrox :)
      Thank you for liking our blog :)

      I think it’s not about species, it’s more about personality. My late sister, Kame, can eat from Mommy’s hand and didn’t bite her fingers even though the veggie was cut into 1,5 cm. My sister, Kroten, loves hand-feeding but she can’t measure distance well and often bit Mommy’s fingers if the veggie was too short. My brother, Kurome recently learned how to eat from Mommy’s hand even though he is only been here for 5 months.

      I have been adopted for almost a year but I still haven’t eaten from Mommy’s hand because I am too shy…but at least I don’t hide anymore now, I let her see me eat my veggie or pellets

  16. gopika says:

    hello.. you already know me… what i recently have tried is growing mustard leaves…. when i gave my turtle coriander, i quietly hid some mustard leaves in it… and when mackie ( the glutton turtle ) ate the coriander, he actually ate one of the mustrd leaf and then after he tasted the mustard leaf, he ran away in his tank and started searching food which doesn’t have mustard leaves…..eventually i gave him an other vegetable and hdid the same thing with it.. ran away, later when i came to have a look at them, i found that he had eaten alll of the leaves!!!! i was soo happy… but then that vegetable is gone and i dont have.. stock out everywhere…. :)

Thank you for commenting :)

