Maybe I feed my turtles TOO often :(

I have noticed than Kroten gets fatter…slowly but visible. Let’s see some photos first

This is Kroten when I brought her home, the photo is not too good due to my mobile-phone cheap camera equipment ;)

See how skinny she was. Her skin was wrinkle between her neck and her arm. She looked famished when I took her home.

She turns into a greedy little turtle..much greedier than Kame. Kame used to pick food, she would spit out the one she didn’t like. In Kroten’s case, she swallows everything on sight.

She grows up but still has her wrinkle a bit.

Months gone by and that part between her neck and her arm slowly bulge out and no more wrinkle can be found. At that point I was really happy to see her all big and healthy.

…but, it doesn’t stop there!!

Few months back, I saw here sleeping with all her head inside and she showed lots of fat around her neck :(

At that time, I thought the fat only looks like that because she had put all her head inside and that made her fat popping out.

Today…I saw that SHE IS FATTER than I have ever thought.

Should I be a worry now?

Kroten only eats veggie, rarely eats fish and other high protein food. I give her once a day diet. Someone told me that Turtle should be given 2 to 3 days diet…but how can I be so cruel seeing her doesn’t eat for one day??

I JUST CAN’T!!!

Maybe I should lessen her daily diet. She hasn’t turned as fat as Kame yet but at this rate, she is getting there :(

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

31 responses »

  1. Wazeau says:

    Now that is a well fed Kroten! Positively plump!

  2. Androgoth says:

    There is nothing like a good meal but I
    think trimming down the size of it could
    be useful :) Great posting :)

    Androgoth

  3. catchatcaren says:

    If I were a turtle, I would be Kroten :)

  4. Binky says:

    A lot of reptiles don’t eat that often. I guess you have to know what RES are like. How often should they eat, how much, and what. It does look like Kroten could lose some weight, but of course you want to ensure she has the proper nutrition, too. Just like people, cutting back on portion size is probably a good way to go.

    • Novroz says:

      I know!! But you can’t help it…Kroten, well all water turtles, have amazingly cute begging face. I always melt on their face.
      2-3days is the best to feed them…I guess I have to lessen the portion so that I can still feed Kroten daily….from 1 big leaf of lettuce to half.

  5. fitri says:

    kroten you and i have the same problem..:-(

  6. Donna says:

    Mine still fatter more than Kroten! Let’s make them diet together! :D

  7. Kroten says:

    Hey Mommy!!! I am THAT fat!!! Please don’t lessen my food…I am begging you :(

  8. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Uh Oh Kroten,

    I can sense a diet in your future buddy!!

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

  9. he he he .. :) NO NO NO NO dieting…

  10. Tony McGurk says:

    What a chubby bubby. Time for the gym Kroten or you’ll end up like Cedric

  11. Samuel says:

    It’s the Biggest Loser. :)…I mean Turtle.

  12. Deboshree says:

    Oohhh! Someone is getting all plump. We will have to do something about all that baby fat, Kroten. :D

  13. garychoo says:

    She’s alittle fat but she’s incredibly cute and her shell is amazing. She’s got a real friendly face. Awesome

  14. [...] photo was from last year, now Kroten has become a bit slimmer, at least around the [...]

Thank you for commenting :)

