Back in 2011, I have shared the way I train my baby turtles…the training was for Kame and Kroten but I still use it toward Kurome and Papoe.

(If you haven’t seen/read it, click her> How To Train Your Turtles)

I am going to highlight point 8: Let them sleep next to your bed once in a while.

I know I am doing what most turtle owners don’t do!! But…it works well, so I do it all the time and my turtles seem happy every morning :)

Every night, somewhere between 7pm to 9pm (depends on what time I get back from work) I took all my turtles out of their tanks, wipe them with their ‘towel‘ and then set them free in my room.

Kurome on my keyboard looking at my favorite comedian, Noel Fielding

At that time, most my turtles are already sleepy… especially Kroten. Kurome is the only one who sleeps late…he will walk around the room aimlessly and sometime sit nicely on my keyboard like the time Kurome shared about Noel Fielding >>>>

Kroten and Papoe will sleep immediately, the two of them enjoy sleeping a lot. Kurome is always the most active out of all my turtles…probably his species. He often disturbs Kroten who is already fast asleep (I will share this another time).

Anyway…let’s move on on my turtles’ favorite sleeping spot.

Kroten

Kroten is the fastest sleeper. She sleeps on her basking area before 7pm. I pick her up and put her nicely on her ‘bed‘ right next to mine. She used to be a restless sleeper, she woke up on every sound…but as she gets older, she sleeps more soundly, only awakes when I touch her.

She stays on her ‘bed’ till morning.

DSC00411

DSC00412

Kurome

After he feels enough exploring my room, he goes to his favorite sleeping spot…behind the tank!

I don’t know why he loves sleeping there…but he always sleeps there since the first time I let him out of the tank. At first, I taught him to sleep in the clean rags like Kroten, but he kept running away. Then I put him in the box along with the rags, he kept moving around the box and being very noisy. Then I gave up and let him chose his own spot…he found it and sleeps there till this day.

DSC00407

DSC00410

Papoe

As I have shared in 13 things about Papoe : #6. Papoe loves sleeping under my pillow. I always set him free on my bed because I am afraid I might accidentally step on him. He will straight away dig himself under the pillow.

Now, I provide you with proof of him sleeping under anything. (unfortunately, the box-room didn’t work well)

DSC00418

Under my pillow

DSC00403

Under Nyunyu

I have two pillows, I usually let Papoe sleeps under one of the pillows…but most of the time, I lift him up and move him to a small bowl filled with rags.

Well…that’s it :)

I have no particular reason when I start doing this to my turtles, but since it worked well with Kame…I will continue doing this. I love waking up in the morning and seeing Kroten and Kurome busy following me around…Papoe is learning from few feet (turtle feets) away and hoping he will follow his bigger siblings soon ;)

I will close this post with Papoe looking annoyed because I lift Nyunyu to reveal him trying to sleep ;)

DSC00417

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

32 responses »

  1. Janet Roper says:

    Turtles like their own comfy sleeping quarters too – Kurome’s is a most unique place to sleep! Thanks for sharing

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Janet, welcome to our blog :)
      Yeah I believe so too. My late Kame used to have her own ‘room’ , I called it room because it was under a table. I wonder why Kurome loves that spot.

  2. Soooo cute. Love all their different personalities and sleeping preferences.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Susan :)
      It still amazed me how my 3 turtles have different personalities … before housing a turtle, I thought they were all the same.

  3. That is soo cute! Love how Kroten sleeps on her very own bed… that is just too cool.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Ann :)
      On her first year with me, she always slept behind the cabinet…trying to hide from me as hiden as possible…but now, she is comfortable sleeping next to me <3

  4. ilovecats says:

    Thank you for sharing. I had no idea you could train them like you have. Do they snore?

  5. Gizmo says:

    This is so interesting…never knew turtles would sleep on a bed…Love that picture of little Papoe burrowed in under that big stuffed turtle

  6. FleaByte says:

    That’s so darling! I love that the turtles sleep near you!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Flea :)
      I think letting pets sleep near us can create stronger bond…never read about it, just a thought ;)

      Ps. Please leave your blog url, Flea..so I can read your blog :)

  7. Binky says:

    Perhaps in the wild, Papoe’s and Kurome’s species like to sleep in a cave or under a rock or something like that. It probably gives them protection and makes them feel safe.

    • Novroz says:

      I also think like that…but I haven’t seen much photos of those species in the wild. I have seen a lot of photos showing RES sleeping peacefully on a log or rock. I guess that’s why both Kame and Kroten can sleep easily on their basking area and on their ‘bed’

      But…Kurome sometimes slept on his basking area too. Papoe always sleep under the ramp. I need search more on these two species.

  8. I never knew they were so intelligent, I have only ever seen them living in tanks.. I think it is great what you do with your babies :) xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Mollie and Alfie :)
      Turtle is said to be one of the smartest reptile…I read it few years ago. The fact that they recognize their name is one proof :)

  9. Nekoneko says:

    Hahahaha!! I have this mental picture of sneaky ninja turtles scampering around your room in the dark while you sleep up to all sorts of mischief!! ;)

    Huh? Papoe doesn’t sleep in his wee box anymore? What happened? Did I miss something? Nosy kittens want to know…. ;)

    • Novroz says:

      Huahahaha….fortunately, they are all on their places when I get up and I always get up at 5am ;)
      But…if they are Ninjas, they might wake up without me knowing it ;)

      Oh…papoe keeps getting away from her box, unless I put a lot of rags inside. Once he ran away from the box and let me worried sick looking for him. So, I gave up and let him sleep under the pillow

  10. love that papoe sleeps under the plush turtle:-)

  11. Donna says:

    In Kurome case, probably because of dark. My turtles can’t sleep too if the lights on.
    In Papoe, don’t you scared your head or body will afflict Papoe while you sleep?

    • Novroz says:

      No I don’t ;) When papoe sleeps on my bed…he sleeps under a small pillow above my head, but mostly I moved him to a small baskom filled with rags

  12. Deb says:

    I see someone like to snuggle up is tight dark places. ;) :)

  13. Shay says:

    Hi! I stumbled upon your blog a while ago but only recently had the courage to post a comment. >.<

    I was just wondering about how old did you start letting kurome & your other turtles sleep in her own bed? Ever since you got her? It's just because I want to start doing this with my turtle but I'm just scared it won't like it because it's been sleeping in its tank in the water ever since I got him :( (about 9 months ago)

    I'm really jealous of how your turtles react to you and how intimate they can be. But then again my turtle is still a baby.

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Shay :)
      You don’t have to collect your courage to comment…all comments and questions are welcome anytime :)

      Yup! Papoe was about 3 cm when I brought him home and I started the ‘bed’ training straight away. But to avoid the little one from running away, I put them inside a small basin filled with unused clothes. and I put them back into the tank in the morning. I think sleeping in the tank is the proper one but to make a bond with them, it’s nicer to let them sleep around us.

      My kame was still a baby when she began to understand her name…she was my genius turtle.

  14. Rosie says:

    love your pics :) I <3 turtles

  15. […] Mommy had shared it before, I often sleep under a pillow. (Mommy shared it in Where do my baby turtles sleep). However, I did something different last […]

  16. […] have mentioned it in Where Do my baby Turtles Sleep that Kurome was always active before he actually sleeps in his favorite spot. On his active hour, […]

  17. Foutri says:

    Papoe is like my Sanbi… Sleep under pillow, but sometimes I let him sleep in his bed.. :D

Thank you for commenting :)

