Few days ago, one of my instagram’s friends who also has several turtles, posted a photo of a turtle being painted, it wasn’t her turtle…it belonged to another account. She was only sharing it to say that painting turtles is not okay!

As a turtle blogger, I realize that I haven’t yet written about this issue….and today is the time for me to share about it.

I once discovered a picture of a turtle being painted in one of facebook groups that shares about the love for turtle. This man was so proud of sharing his painted turtle…I was shock, how could someone who claimed to love his turtle was proud of doing such cruel thing? I told him that painting the shell is not the right thing to do.

Unfortunately…he was not the only one who didn’t know about that. My blog is easily found whenever anyone use google with the keyword “training a turtle“…so, I hope this post can also be easily found when people google about caring a turtle.

     No Paint Turtle

Some people might think that the paint and those glitters made their turtle look cuter but they don’t know what that paint will do to the turtles!

Turtle shell is like human fingernails (not in term of chemicals substances which built it, but in term of how it feels toward the things underneath it), if you ever used nail paint you know that your fingernails aren’t breathing well…by painting the shell, turtle’s shell can not breath…Underneath that shell, their internal organs feel suffocate.

Turtle shell, in the wild, is used as protection, that’s why most of them have dark color as a camouflage to the predator, by painting it the turtle becomes so radiant and an easy target for the predator.

Paint is made of chemical and the shell can easily absorb it.

Most importantly, the paint will block UV from the sun…turtles need UV to grow their shell and their bones. I met someone who had a sick turtle, he said that he kept him alive as long as he could by letting him under the sunlight as often as he could. You see, UV makes turtle stronger and healthier.

NEVER PAINT A TURTLE for whatever reason you have!!

If you still want to see a different look on your turtle, make her/him a dress! you can put it on for a while (not all the time because they need to absorb UV). I did it once with my turtle but it was just for a photo, I like their original shell more.

If you are a turtle owner and claim that you love your turtles…then never ever paint them!!

If you don’t have a turtle…please never paint the wild one.

My instagram’s friend I have mentioned above created a new account to let people know that painting a turtle equals Animal Abuse!

Go check her account and see that there are a lot of animal abuse being shared on instagram…her hope is for everyone to stop abusing animals, not just turtles. All the photos I have shared here (except for Kame in dress) belong to her account.

Click on the image

Click on the image

Here are three pictures I chose to share to you!

Parents or adult should teach the right thing to their children!

Never EVER drill a hole in their shell…it hurts them!!

Look how bright the turtle is…his predator can spot him easily!

I know that most of my turtle’s friends are furry animals…but I hope you can help spread the word :)

Animal Cruelty

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

75 responses »

Comment navigation

  1. Alicia says:

    Is it safe to paint there finger nails?

  2. Tony McGurk says:

    People probably think they are just making them look nice without realising the danger. Still don’t understand why they’d want to do it though. Some people just don’t think before they act.

  3. rah,a says:

    can i paint it with water color ? not paint colors ?

Comment navigation

Thank you for commenting :)

