The Adventure of Little Papoe

Adventure #5 : Crash Course on Size and Gravity

On a beautiful sunny day, Papoe decides to take a walk and enjoys the sun. As an adventurous little turtle, Papoe always sees the view around him with intense curiosity. He marvels at the beauty of the place he lives in. Swallows in the beauty of the surrounding, he almost ignores a little green beetle sitting solemnly on a piece of rock.

The Beetle sees Papoe and asks him to come closer, “Well, Hello little turtle, I assume you are still a kid even though you are much bigger than the old me.”

“Hello Mr Beetle,” answers Papoe politely. “Yes I am still a kid but I am much too small for my age.”

“Ah, you should be happy you’re still small, it allows you to have superpower ability.”

“Superpower ability?”

“Well, not exactly a power, it’s just that the smaller you are, the harder it is to break your bones when you fall from high places.”

Papoe looks confused. Mr. Beetle smiles upon seeing Papoe’s confused face. “Well, I will try to simplify this for you. You know that everything will fall down to earth. When you stand on the edge of a rock then you slips, you will definitely fall down instead of floating in the air. The one that causes you to fall is called the gravity, the weak force from the earth. Can you follow me so far?”

“Yeah, sort of,” answers Papoe.

“Well, the smaller you are the less the gravity will pull you down. If the small you is being dropped from, say 2 meter high, together with another turtle ten times bigger than you, the result will be different. You will get a bit stunned and then walk normally after a few second but the other turtle will have, probably, broken shell or bone. If that’s not a bit like superpower, what else can you call that,” Mr. Bug gives Papoe a wink.

“How do you know all this stuff, Mr. Beetle?”

“Well, I was fortunate enough to get stuck in Professor Cox’s bag when he was filming Wonders of Life. I absorbs all his knowledge.”

DSC00435

A green Beetle I shot at Baluran National Park

I have just finished reading Professor Cox’s book (Wonders of Life), so I wanted to share a  bit from the book..just a tiny bit because I always want to keep Papoe’s imaginary adventure as something light.

Hope you enjoy it :)

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: http://kamekroten.wordpress.com

24 responses »

  1. When I first started reading, I thought Papoe was going to be tricked by the beetle and have an accident! I’m relieved he didn’t though! How cute :-) x

  2. Binky says:

    Gravity may be the weakest force, but it still enough to easily kill us. And it also makes it very hard for us to rocket into space.

    (I think you meant “…the smaller you are, the harder it is to break your bones when you fall from high places.”)

  3. ThatJenK says:

    Great story!
    I’m not too familair with Prof Cox, but I’ll have to check out his show!

  4. Laika says:

    Love the story.

  5. Misaki says:

    Such a great story!

  6. I love it! A turtle with superpowers!

    –Woofs (and purrs) from Aunty Susan at Life with Dogs and Cats

  7. Corso Mama says:

    Oh I missed the turtles! I am following from the MPBH. Used to follow your blog from Raising Rama but now I have continued the blogging journey on Walks With Rama. Glad to have found your blog once again. :-)

  8. Alice Audrey says:

    Are the shells and bones of older turtles really so inflexible? I suppose it could be like the difference between a cougar jumping off a third floor window and a house cat doing the same.

  9. oldegg says:

    Although the beetle is right, he doesn’t have to worry himself as he can fly. Papoe however has really good powers too being able to hide in his shell. Glad you are back Novroz.

    • Novroz says:

      But Papoe is a fragile turtle, he can’t hide inside his shell…only under his shell like this:

      Thank you Robin :)
      I will post Aqeela and Me this week

  10. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Papoe

    Take it easy little guy, just remember you don’t have wings! :)

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy :)

Thank you for commenting :)

