The same article in Bahasa (Indonesian Language) is here

Hi, it’s me again 🙂

I’m going to give you an update on my scute (I’ve written about my scute before in here). The shedding process has taken quite some time now. I remember that my first scute shed on April, and its June now and it’s still far from over.

Let’s divide my scute’s area in 3 sections.

Scutes on Carapace (upper shell). There are 14 scutes on my carapace. These scutes are the last to come off…I don’t know why. The first scute was off today…yeaaa finally!! It was quite big (see the picture on the left). Mom has to help a little because it got stuck on the other scute. Not long after that, the scute also shed off. The scute is right below the first scute. I have greener color underneath these 2 scutes (see the picture below). You can also see that my pyramiding is also lessening on the second layer 🙂 Mommy has fed me correctly for the past 2 years and this result is stunning.

Shedding Percentage for carapace: There are 14 scutes here, 2 scutes had been shed, that means 14% of my carapace is the new scute

Scutes on Side Carapace (people also called this as part of carapace, but I like to differ this part to make it easier). There are 25 scutes on this area. Scutes from this area cover the upper shell and the lower shell and therefore the shape is bended with room in between (see the picture on the right.). The scute in this area was the second to shed off. This shedding speed for this area is the fastest, maybe its total is the highest compare to other area. If you see the picture bellow, you can see that the protruding scute above my head is replaced by a normal scute. The protruding scute is also the sign of pyramiding…and it’s gone now 🙂

Shedding Percentage for side carapace: There are 25 scutes here, 17 scutes had been shed, that means 64% of my side carapace is the new scute.

Scutes on Plastron (lower shell). My first shedding scute was from this area. The new scutes have different pattern and the color is more yellow than before. The picture on the left was the 1st one that came off. It has been more than a week since the last shed. I only need to shed 2 more scutes and then all will be new 🙂

Shedding Percentage for plastron: There are 16 scutes here, 14 scutes had been shed, that means 87,5% of my side carapace is the new scute.

In total: I have 55 scutes and I only have 23 more scutes to shed. So far, my new scutes is 58%.

These pictures show my upper shell (carapace). It used to be brown and it’s a combination of yellow and green. The color is lighter than before. Click on the picture to see it clearly.

This picture below shows my lower shell (plastron) with a brighter color and new pattern.

Here is the picture of all my old scutes. Mommy tried to collect them all and then glued them together. She said she wants to put them all together just for the sake of fun.

Last but not least…this is me holding my mommy’s hand. You can see my new scutes too 😉

Well, that’s all for now. I’ll write another update once all the scutes had been shed.

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

Thank you for commenting :)

