She finally did it!! I was worried she wasn’t going to do it as she had been delaying it for months.

I should tell the story chronically.

Back in February 2010, I had my first shedding…not my skin, it was parts of my carapace called  scute. I bet you didn’t know that turtles shed their carapace😉 It was my first shedding. Mommy was ecstatic upon seeing my scute in the tank. She immediately captured it and kept it. She wrote this historical moment in her blog using our native language.

These pictures showed the position of my 1st scute

These pictures showed my scute in mommy’s hand.

In September 2010, I wrote about my shedding that had reached 90% of all my scutes. I still have 6 scutes to shed. You can see the changes of my Carapace”s color in here.

In October 2010, I finally shed ALL my scutes away. i have a completely new Carapace…yeaaa \(^^)/. You can read the details of my new carapace in here.

Mommy collected all my scutes and spent her weekend to put all my scutes back together again.She used glues and some fabric  to keep all my scutes together. She also kept me near her all the time because the scute puzzle was a bit difficult to arrange without seeing my carapace.

How many scutes did I shed and how did she put them all together again can be read in Turtle Puzzle. Here is a  picture to intrigued you😉

She planned to put the glued scutes in a picture frame… but she kept on delaying it😦 She did the puzzle on November 2010,on January 2011 she still hasn’t done it yet. I was beginning to worry that she didn’t care for my first scutes after all😦

But…late February,I saw new hope🙂
She took my scutes to a frame workshop. We have to wait for 2  weeks to see the result…the man was so slow in doing it. To make matter worse,he got it all wrong! Mommy was so pissed off with him. She undo it as soon as she got home and re-arrange the scutes the way she wanted it. She didn’t trust that man anymore,she didn’t even want him to re do it.

Well….anyway…now, my scutes are carefully put in a frame exactly the way she wanted it. They look really amazing in our bedroom’s wall🙂

We took 2 pictures of the frame, one with flash and  the  other without flash. We did it to give you all a clear  view of  the frame🙂

DSC09558

DSC09564

 

This post is part of

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

16 responses »

  1. Tegan says:

    That is awesome! Thanks for sharing. I always assumed that they shed, but didn’t know exactly the mechanism. Very educational.🙂

  2. Kame says:

    Thank you for the compliment Joel & Tegan🙂

  3. Bikram says:

    Lovely nice article and lots of info

  4. Sara says:

    that came out beautiful.

  5. catcalls says:

    So amazing! What a great way to save part of you forever!

  6. Kame says:

    @Bikram Thanks🙂 I hope this post can give you more knowledege on our kind.

    @Sara They are indeed🙂
    The workshop owner put them together and it looked horrible…lucky we can change it by ourself.

    @Catcalls I hope it will last forever,she thought that it will be a much better way to keep the memory of me alive rather than having my original shell preserved after I died.

  7. Binky says:

    I guess I never really thought about it, but I didn’t know turtles shed! I like the way you framed the old scutes. Not very many people have something like that hanging on their wall.

  8. Wow, that is very special! Your Mama must love you a whole lot. Now our Mama wishes SHE could have a turtle!

    • Kame says:

      Well…don’t tell Kroten, but out of 2 turtles I am her number one favorites😉
      If your Mama bought turtle, please treat him nicely

  9. lavenderbay says:

    Is that ever cool! I knew from Seabrooke’s blog about scutes, but your collecting Kame’s scutes to rebuild the shell is such a neat idea.

    • Novroz says:

      Thanks🙂 I was lucky Kame shed her scutes in a thick form, if they were thin I would be impossible to collect them. Kroten has thin scutes and I couldn’t rebuilt her scutes😦

      But the truth is, thin scutes were better than thick scutes because that means the turtle is shedding properly and regularly.

  10. Amanda says:

    do we have to shed the scute when my turtle grow up

  11. […] Kame shed her scutes beautifully. All of them shed one by one in a very nice shape, so nice that I ended up putting them all back together again, then I framed it and put it on my wall (It become my most priceless possession, one that even a mountain of gold can’t buy it of off me). I have shared it long time ago in a post called They Are on The Wall Now: […]

Thank you for commenting :)

