Today is my birthday…although I wasn’t technically being born at this date. March 19, 2008 was the day I was loved by someone, the day I was being ‘born’ in my mommy’s family.

Things that I am about to tell you now is not much different with the things I have said in my first post, The Day I First Met Her.

I don’t remember how long I was kept in that horrible pet shop, I was so glad when I finally left that place.

Mommy had been searching for Kame’s company, she wanted a boy so that she can breed more cute turtles. Every time she passed through a pet shop, she always looked at the turtles and wondered if there was any turtle that she could bring home. She didn’t find the perfect turtle for months. She didn’t know that looking for pet is same with searching for a soul-mate (she realized it last year after reading Chicken Soup for the cat and dog’s lovers).

It didn’t matter how many turtles she was looking at because what matter was which one was looking  back at her.

I was with about 10 turtles in my small tank. She was buying pellet for Kame. She decided to look around for baby turtles. I saw her came to our tank and I knew she was the one that will get me out of that forsaken place. I looked straight into her eyes and walked toward her. The way I was looking at her completely touched her heart, I knew that I had stolen her heart the moment I saw her smiling at me. The next thing I heard she was asking for my price.

She noticed something strange with my nails (look at the picture – sorry for its bad quality because she was only using her mobile-phone camera ), I had no nail! Did she care about me having no nails? NOT AT ALL.

She also noticed some soft spots on my plastron…But, she bought me anyway 🙂

Once I arrived at her house, she took care of my deficiencies with great care. She peeled my soft shell and used betadine to cure my shell. It was already rotten. She gave me antibiotic in my water. She let me stayed for as long as I wanted to. Simply said, she took good care of me till my shell was cured. You can still see the damage on my shell even though I have completely cured now.

Pet shop can be so irresponsible… fortunately, I have stolen her heart and made her pick me despite of my deficiencies…and I love her for that 🙂

Being in pet shop for long had taken away my trust on people. It took more than a year for me to completely trust her. The first few months, I tried to run away from her touch. When she finally caught me, I put my head inside. When she let me sleep on the floor, I hid in the farthest corner of her room. In return for  my action, she couldn’t love me as much as she loved Kame 😦

I learned my mistake little by little. Somewhere in between, I knew I could trust her more than anyone in this world.

Love works both way, right? To make her loved me, I need to show her that I love her too.

I began to stay closed to her all the  time, I climbed her leg just like Kame did, I looked at her when  she came into the  room, I did everything kame did. Now, I  can proudly say that She loves me as much as she loves Kame.

I have stayed with her for 3 years now and she keeps tending my unstable shell condition up till today. I am so glad I met her 3 years ago…it was a HAPPY birthday indeed.

You can see  my top-5 pictures in  my mommy’s blog. She is posting it as her way to celebrate my birthday 🙂

This is # 5

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

26 responses »

  1. Bikram says:

    I ma firsttt 🙂

    Happy birthday to you
    happy birthdy to you
    happy birthday to Kroten

    many many happy returns of the day .. Hope you give Kroten an extra bit of treat today to celebrate te day…

    • Kroten says:

      Thank you Bikram 🙂

      Mommy gave me a little tuna today 🙂 …not too many because it has so many protein and it can hurt my shell…a little treat is fine.

  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY KROTEN!!!! That is a wonderful photo of you!!

    I love your Mommy’s posts because I can feel the love she has for you. I am so happy she saved you from the awful pet shop!!

    I just tweeted you and posted you on Facebook. Are you on Facebook? Join us at Cat Chat With Caren & Cody on Facebook!

    • Kroten says:

      Thank you so much Caren 🙂

      I am also happy she had saved me. Mommy has a facebook account and she had just joined (liked) your account 🙂

  3. […] know her full story when we met, please go to her blog Kame & Kroten’s Blog, she wrote her story as her birthday post. It didn’t matter how many turtles she was looking at […]

  4. lavenderbay says:

    From a dog forum, I learned the term “Gotcha Day” meaning the day that dogs of unknown birthdate were adopted. Happy Gotcha Day, Kroten! You’re so lucky that Novroz knew how to heal you.

    • Kroten says:

      Thank you for telling me that 🙂 I will tell mommy so that she will write Gotcha Day next year 🙂

      She is a bit clueless with my fungus right now 😦 Being a morph gives her a lot of problems

  5. catcalls says:

    ‘March 19, 2008 was the day I was loved by someone’…what a fantastic statement! So very happy for you, Kroten. You are the luckiest turtle in the world to have a mom like you do. Patience and love has forever changed you!

  6. lifewith4cats says:

    Happy birthday to you Krotenchan. You have such lovely looking nails today. 🙂 I am so glad you are in the world.

  7. Sherry says:

    Happy birthday to Kroten; you sure are cute. How fortunate you were found by the right person able to give you the care you need.

  8. It’s nice you picked your human and she brought you home. We blogging furries call such a day as this a Gotchaversary. And it is always a happy day.

    • Kroten says:

      I think all animals should pick their human carefully 😉 never look into a not nice-looking human’s eyes.

      We will use Gotchaday for next year 🙂

  9. Happy birthday! You’re so cute! :o)

  10. Binky says:

    Happy birthday, Kroten! You are a pretty smart turtle, the way you got mommy’s attention in the pet store, and all. I hope your shell will mend completely.

    • Kroten says:

      Thank you Binky. We turtles have to be smart if we want to get out from the petstore 😉

      I also hope my shell could look normal again but it is very doubtful

  11. Satria says:

    I was crying when I read it.. T.T

    Happy b’day Kame..

  12. Asop says:

    Ouch, baru segitu ya umurnya. 😀 Kalo dikonversikan ke umur manusia, masih anak-anak! 🙂

  13. Tony McGurk says:

    What a touching story. I am so glad you have someone special to love you Kroten.

  14. […] Happy Birthday To Me I don’t remember how long I was kept in that horrible pet shop, I was so glad when I finally left that place.Mommy had been searching for Kame’s company, she wanted a boy so that she can breed more cute turtles. Every time she passed through a pet shop, she always looked at the turtles and wondered if there was any turtle that she could bring home. She didn’t find the perfect turtle for months. She didn’t know that looking for pet is same with searching for a soul-mate (she realized it last year after reading Chicken Soup for the cat and dog’s lovers). […]

Thank you for commenting :)

