We won’t be posting Wordless Wednesday for this Wednesday because the month is almost over.

This is the newest section of our blog. Inspired by mommy’s monthly post in her blog, Polychrome Interest. In here, we will share a bit information from other herptiles.

We think that sharing only about turtles is a bit unfair, so we discussed  it  and came to a decision to share 1 herptile per month.

What is herptile? It is a new term for amphibian and reptile.

The first one we want to share about our late cousin,Toga

Toga is a  Tokay Gecko,we Indonesian called it as Tokek.

Here’s a little information on Tokay gecko from wikipedia:

The Tokay Gecko (Gekko gecko) is a nocturnal arboreal gecko, ranging from northeast India and Bangladesh, throughout Southeast Asia, Philippines to Indonesia and western New Guinea. Its native habitat is rain-forest trees and cliffs, and it also frequently adapts to rural human habitations, roaming walls and ceilings at night in search of insect prey. Increasing urbanization is reducing its range. In the late 1980s and early 1990s it was introduced into Hawaii, Florida, Texas, Belize, and several Caribbean islands, where it can be considered an invasive species.

The Tokay Gecko is known as a Tuko or Toko in the Philippines, and Tokek in Indonesian/Javanese, for its characteristic vocalizations. People have mixed feelings about it ranging from terror of the mistaken belief that its feet can tear your skin off to great love and admiration for its entertaining vocalizations; in the Philippines, most people respect it and value it because it eats dangerous pests such as scorpions and giant centipedes.

Tokay is very vicious. A tiny bite by it will make your  blood squirt out. Grampa was  bitten by Toga before he finally tamed her. His skin was torn because Tokay has a sharp teeth like razor.

Tokay is very difficult to touch, some people considered Tokay as pit-bull of lizard pet. when Grampa finally tamed her, she only allowed member of Family to touch her, she would open her mouth when non family member tried to touch her.

Opening its mouth was its defense mechanism. Once it bites you, you’ll find it very difficult to let it  go.

Some pictures of Toga (We will be featuring her again this coming August to remember the day she died)

Mommy had posted this picture below in her post about her Chicken Soup Story. Toga was licking Grampa’s nose. NEVER do this when you find a Tokay near you, you’ll lose a chunk of your nose for sure!

You can check some Tokay’s morph in this site> www.tokay-gecko.com

They are pretty, right? just like me 🙂 all morphs are pretty.

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

25 responses »

  1. sundryandco says:

    That is a beautiful creature, and I really like your photos – The colour is amazing! I have a question – Are reptiles commonly kept as pets where you live? What would be the second and third most common? Great idea for a monthly post – Maybe you could do a weekly or fortnightly one, as I am looking forward to reading the next post already!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Roisin 🙂

      Actually, reptiles are not a common pet here,in fact most Indonesian find it weird when someone mentioned that he/she has certain type of reptile as their pet. I was one of those people until I have Kame and Kroten.

      Having a reptile of my own opens my eyes and makes me see reptiles in new perspective.

      I used to be so scared of Tokay Gecko, but Toga changed that feeling.

      I wish I can make it fortnightly,but my knowledge of reptiles is very limited,I needed a research to feature them.I have asked someone who is an expert on reptiles to be a guest author for this topic.

  2. catcalls says:

    I happen to love lizards. I have had several, mostly anoles, and one blue skink. The babies are the cutest things. I love that last photo. What a fabulous picture!

    • Kroten says:

      Nice to know you love lizard too 🙂 We reptiles are really cute, right? That last picture is so sweet, If I have a tounge I would do the same too.

  3. Binky says:

    Toga was a very beautiful lizard! The coloration is very distinct. Not too many animals are white and orange like that. Maybe some fish? I know geckos can be a bit vicious, so it’s interesting to hear that your father was able to tame Toga.

  4. lifewith4cats says:

    Thats a special Toga kiss. I wonder if their tonges are sticky.

  5. Caroline says:

    She looks so cute. I would never expect her to be vicious. He must have spent a lot of time with her to tame her like this.

    • Novroz says:

      You should see the link I put up there. It shows some Tokay opening their mouth…that look is really scary.

      Well…my father has a secret. I am planning to write about it one day.

  6. Tony McGurk says:

    Wow Toga is a beautiful colour & markings. I didn’t know geckos could be so big as the ones we have in Australia are only small. Beautiful photos

  7. Asop says:

    Wiiiii warnanya baguuus bangeeeeeet…. 😳

    Imut banget deh, pas momen ngejilat hidung… 😀

  8. Hudson says:

    I have always liked tokays! Never held one but they are really cool. Great pics.

  9. Irina says:

    What a cute creature! love the colours! He actually looks like a character from a movie or something 🙂

  10. Ronan says:

    He could have a part in Rango 2! 🙂

  11. […] Our late cousin, Toga. She was a Tokay Gecko […]

  12. […] know more about Tokay Gecko, do read my First Herptile Spotlight -6.332802 106.831299 Rate this: Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Leave […]

  13. Half-Blood Prince says:

    I have 7 turtles. Two snapping turtles, two red eared sliders, two eastern painted, and one box turtle. They are all babies and they live in a pen inside my backyard. We are building them a pond so that they’ll have more room. The snapping turtles I just pick up and just lay limp in my hand. If I curl my hand around them or put my thumb on their shell they’ll squirm around signaling they don’t like that. The Res and painted are starting to get like that. Before they would just try to dart out of my hand to get back in the water. The box turtle is very new and does not like to be very close to me.

Thank you for commenting :)

