I translated this article from Mommy’s blog.It was actually written in Bahasa Indonesia, Ada Apa Aja Di kepala Kura-Kura.

Have you ever notice what’s on Turtle’s Head? (especially RES)

I am sure not many people have looked at our species’ head carefully. Our species is called Red Ear Slider, but DO NOT assume that our ears are those red marks on our head!

I am going to share our head to you 😉

First, let’s see some differences  between me and Kame.

Seen from above

From above, you see protruding eyes. Since I am a morph RES and Kame is a normal RES, our heads look a bit different. I have lighter color and it makes my red mark redder than Kame’s. The front part of  our head is hard while the back part is soft.

Kepala Atas

Seen sideway

You can see that the lines on our face are heading to our nose (or maybe start from our nose). My pattern isn’t  as clear as Kame because of my light skin color.Samping

Our Neck

You can also see that my neck ‘s pattern is not as clearly seen as Kame’s. You might also notice that I have yellow mouth 🙂

Leher

One think you need to know is that no turtle has the same pattern with another turtle, it’s just like human’s finger tips.

Do you know where turtle’s ear is?

Although we  are called as Red Ear Slider, but those red marks aren’t our ear!

When Kame was about 5 cm in length, mommy used  to try finding her ears…but she couldn’t find them. As Kame slowly became bigger, Kame’s ear became easier to notice. The shape of her ears,which also the shape of mine is like the picture below. It looks just like a circular line….but that doesn’t mean we can’t hear mommy’s voice  clearly 😉

Turtle Ear
The line goes through our eye and continue till our nose. Mommy didn’t realize that we have that line till she took the picture shown below.

Turtle line

Do you know that our eye-lids move  differently from human?

Human will close their eyes by moving their upper  eye-lids, we do it differently…we move our lower eye-lids to cover our beautiful eyes

Sleeping eyes

In this next picture, you see the movement of our lower eye-lid. Kame was trying to stop me to use this picture because she looked so fat in this picture. But what can I say..this is the best picture to show our lower eye-lid.

eye

We have posted our eyes 2 days ago…our eyes had  beautiful pattern. I decided to share the eye again, but I chose to share Kame’s eye.

Well, that’s all folks!  Hope you enjoy this little knowledge on turtle:)

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

25 responses »

  1. Bikram says:

    You know each time i come to your blog i learn something new and its amazing how I did not have a clue about the eyes and the ears …

    Thank you

    • Kame says:

      Yeaaa….we are happy to hear that 🙂
      it’s nice to know that our blog can give new information to anyone who read it.
      Thank you for always visiting, Bikram *hug*

  2. Sara says:

    I loved all these pictures. I never new about that line I bet you must have an amazing and strange way to listen with your ears that humans can only imagine about. You guys are such amazing creations. The stripes are so detailed. Do you girls enjoy getting petted on your necks?

    • Kame says:

      *dancing* People rarely told us that we are amazing creation, it makes our heart dance hearing that.

      WE LOVE GETTING PETTED!! As for me (Kroten is still a bit shy), I love hanging on mommy’s shoulder every morning. Of course she has to hold me because I am not a cat that can wrap my hands around her.

  3. The Sprollies 'n' Border Collies says:

    That is very interesting! I enjoyed reading it 😀

    Who knew turtle’s heads were so different?

  4. Dakota says:

    I was gonna say something very similar to what Bikram said. I learn soooo much from your blog because I really knew nothing about turtles before! Thank you!

    • Kame says:

      You are welcome Dakota 🙂
      When we made this blog, we thought no one was going to be interested with turtle. We are so happy that all of you regular readers enjoy our posts

  5. lifewith4cats says:

    When I first saw your title? I thought it was gonna be a funny post of pictures of different ‘things’ on the turtles head. Because there is a funny photo book I have seen called, ‘Things on my cat’ and it really is just things on the cat, like remote controls and pen caps etc.

  6. lifewith4cats says:

    That would be a fantastic book to teach little ones vocabulary. Whats on the turtles head?

    • Kroten says:

      That’s a great idea, Aunt Sara. Mommy had some pictures with thing on our shell…but mostly on Kame. I’ll ask her take some pictures of me and then share it here.

      Thank you for the idea *hug*

  7. Caroline says:

    Fascinating post. Too fat, eh? Poor Kame. No girl likes it when there’s a bad picture to be seen for everybody but it sure shows they eye lids nicely.

    • Kame says:

      Hiks…I am so fat. I have been dieting for the past 2 years, but we turtles can’t lose weight as fast as human.
      For the good of this blog, I finally let Kroten used it.

  8. catcalls says:

    You turtles are just so interesting! You are more beautiful the more I learn!

    • Kroten says:

      Yeaaa…. always nice to hear/read someone saying that we are beautiful. My mommy’s in law thinks we are creepy. She never want to touch us 😦

  9. Binky says:

    It’s nice to come here and learn new things about turtles. I never knew that turtle’s ears were a line like that. Is that round disc the ear, or is the entire line part of their ears?

    • Novroz says:

      Actually, it was half circle disc. The rest of the line is just a line, kinda like accessory.
      Their ears are like snake and other reptile,only a little slit

  10. Tony McGurk says:

    You both have lovely colours & markings. Fascinating photos

  11. […] Ps. that read line is NOT their ears. See turtle’s ear here. […]

  12. BlueSkyShiningBright says:

    Kame ur ear is so small and cute to my mom my mom thought its scars
    So turtle ‘s ear is like that no one the my big turtle have does mark to
    I thought it was scars to
    Kroten and kame all ur pictures are cute
    Without novroz blog my own turtles will die already
    Without Novroz ‘s turtles there will be no blog for all of us
    Thanks for the blog Novroz
    Ur turtle is cute nvroz

  13. BlueSkyShiningBright says:

    Is the two hole at the turtles face nose?

  14. […] hard to see, but its still there, and we can hear you! You can see our eyes more clearer as posted here by […]

Thank you for commenting :)

