I bet you know who Popeye is, right?

And I bet you also know that Popeye become stronger after eating spinach.

However…

We, turtles, are not like Popeye, that spinach will hurt us instead of making us stronger.

Me with Popeye's hand

The main reason is because it contains Oxalic Acid. This substance can inhibit calcium absorption. Our shell needs A LOT of calcium and spinach will caused less calcium to be absorbed.

Actually, we can eat them at once a month interval…but , there are so many other good vegetables out there, why bother giving something that has bad factors on us? Right?

Spinach Oxalate content per 100 gram serving is 970miligrams. (this info comes from Chelonia.Org)

We decided to share this in Pet Blogger Hop

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

21 responses »

  1. Bikram says:

    not just turtle spinach is good for humankind tooo πŸ™‚

  2. I had no idea about turtles and spinach.

  3. catcalls says:

    Marking this fact – NO spinach for turtles! I never would have guessed! Stay healthy and strong and Beeeeautiful!

  4. lifewith4cats says:

    I had heard that it has the same effect on humans also. That spinach is not always as good for us as we might think.

    I LOVE your popeye arm turtle picture. I always like popeye because he reminds me of my dad in a way.

    • Kame says:

      We read that it also not good for female as it inhibit calcium absorption. But I guess human can still eat it once in a while. We better stay away from it.

      Is your dad look like Popeye, aunt Sara?

      • Yes Kame,
        To me I think my dad looks like popeye. He used to smoke a pipe when I was baby just like popeye too. But I have a good imagination for it. When we were kids we would sing the spinach song from popeye whenever my mom served spinach. πŸ™‚

      • Kame says:

        That must have been a good memory of your father.
        I remember the tune but not the lyric of that spinach song.

  5. Binky says:

    It does make you wonder, though, about the unknown effects of a lot of things we and our pets eat. It seems we’re always hearing about a new study that shows something else is good or bad for us. I guess you just have to try to keep up to date with the latest information.

    • Novroz says:

      So true!!
      Thank God for internet,otherwise I would have never known that Spinach is not good for Kame and Kroten. I always consult what best for them in a redearslider.com . I used to feed Kame whatever I like because I thought all food are okay for them…I was wrong and now I am trying to make up for all my mistakes.

  6. Asop says:

    Tapi kamu masih herbivora kan? πŸ˜€

  7. Im popeye the sailor man.
    Im popeye the sailor man!
    Im strong to the finnish
    cause I eats me spinach.
    Im popeye the sailor man.
    Toot, Toot

  8. Beth Ann says:

    I am now educated on Spinach and Turtles…good to know in case I ever run into a relative of yours!!!

  9. Pallavi says:

    Hey Novroz,

    What all can we give them to eat apart from the turtle food?? Please Suggest.

    – Pallavi πŸ™‚

  10. Novroz says:

    I am not sure if the suggestion works for your kind of turtle too…but let’s assume it’s same since yours also comes from sliders family.

    Babies need turtle’s pellets, or turtle food you can buy easily. Once they get bigger, they need more vegetable and calcium.
    Calcium can be found in cuttlebone (this reminds me that I am running out of cuttlebone)
    As for veggies and fruits, try lettuce, carrot, strawberry, apple peel, collard, and sawi (I forgot the English name for sawi…sorry) and some water plant.
    I will try to write all the food they need this Saturday πŸ™‚

  11. BlueSkyShiningBright says:

    Even im a human i still hate spinach im not much of vegetable eater
    I like brocolli most

Thank you for commenting :)

