Did you know that I have such delicate shell?

I think I have said it before that when Mommy brought me home, I had some rotten parts on my shell, both carapace and plastron. The picture on the left shows the souvenirs of my darkest days. You can see 2 dented marks where my rotten parts used to be.

My plastron was even worse than my carapace, the disease took small parts of my plastron. You can compare it with Kame’s healthy plastron. Look at how perfect her plastron curve is…then, look at mine. It doesn’t look as perfect as Kame’s. Mommy peeled off my rotten shell to stop it from spreading out. The peeled part hasn’t grown back again, I don’t know will it ever grow again. For now,  tho it isn’t in perfect shape, at least I have healthy plastron…and I can live with that.

Unfortunately, my shell’s problem hasn’t stopped yet 😦

I have to steal mommy’s time to tend me again (I believe Kame hates me for this, taking all mommy’s time just for me).

Few months ago, I had fungus on small part of my carapace (see the picture on the left), she used ointment for human to clean the fungus. Fortunately, it worked. But it didn’t work for long. Somehow, that fungus had returned.

Mommy used  Acriflavine Plus, a water medicine usually used for fish. It is said that Acriflavine can prevent fungus. She also used Acriflavine to tend my rotten shell. Acriflavine turned my water into yellowish.

Beyond her prediction, the fungus had spread everywhere.

She became panic. She asked around how to get rid the fungus. I was in the middle of my shedding process (my shedding is different compare to Kame),the fungus got under my scute. Redearslider.com advised her to use Silver Sulphadiazine. She couldn’t find it in any pet shop. Finally, someone told her to buy it under the name of Burnazin, it was sold in human’s drug store.

She bought it and put it on me. She put it on me at night because I had to stay dry while the ointment was on me. I had been sleeping outside my tank since I was brought home, so it wasn’t a hard thing to keep me on the floor throughout the night. She only applied the ointment on me few days in a week because she was afraid that the residue of the ointment could be dangerous for me. The result…my fungus stayed, neither increasing nor decreasing.

She stopped using it for 2 months. My fungus became worst than ever.

People said that silver sulphadiazine really worked. She decided to use it again…but this time she used it every night.

Less than 2 months ago, she has been putting the ointment on me every single night (with one free night every 5 days). She put it on me before she went to bed. Put me on my ‘bed’ (a piece of fabric). In the morning, she washed the ointment away with water and soap by using toothbrush. She did it till all the ointment has been washed clean. I often scratched her hand because I hate being brushed. She gave me free ointment day after 5 days of ointment treatment because she had no heart to see me always in agony whenever she brushed me.

Thank God the treatment works!!

You can see from the picture below, my fungus area has decreased so significantly.

She is still using the ointment till ALL my fungus disappeared.

Apart from Acriflavine and Burnazin, mommy always put me under the sun when she wasn’t working early in the morning. Sunlight also helps the healing process. I will close this post by sharing one of my sunbath moments.

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

27 responses »

  1. Hi Kroten, I’m glad to hear that you’re recovering very well from the fungus episode. Your mom sure cares a great deal about you! It’s always hard on the parent to see their little one going through a worrying health condition. Glad to see the sunshine is doing you good!

    P.s. Can fungus spread from turtle to turtle? If so, does that mean you’re being kept in quarantine from Kame?

    • Kroten says:

      Thank you, Maple’s mom. I hate being scrubbed every morning…but it’s for my own good after all, I have to hang in there…even though that means I am going to scrath her hand every morning.

      Fungus is easy to spread, Kame and I have different tanks (still in one room)…but even so, she still got small spot of fungus. Mommy cleared that up easily.

  2. catcalls says:

    Oh Kroten…I am so sorry you have had to endure all of this treatment. But at least it is working! I hope you last spot is gone and never returns. You make sure to find those little sun spots in your house and go right over there to sunbathe. You look beautiful in that last picture!

    • Kroten says:

      thank you Toey’s mom. I’ll hang there and try my best to cooperate with mommy.

      fortunately, I really enjoy my sunbathe 🙂 sometimes, I stayed outside under the sun for more than an hour. Mommy waited while reading, she won’t let me alone outside the house…tho I am a big girl now.

  3. Binky says:

    I’m glad to hear you’re getting better, Kroten, but I do worry about you. At least mommy is taking very good care of you, but infections can be bad. I wonder if there’s any turtle-safe things you could take (like a vitamin or supplement) that might help boost your immune system so your body could help fight off the fungus?

    • Kroten says:

      Acriflavine is good for preventing fungus. I believe we will keep using it even though all my fungus had disappear. We will stop the ointment.

      Turtles aren’t popular here 😦 it’s so hard to find vitamin for turtles. Almost all petshop don’t sell turtle’s stuff.

  4. Kas says:

    Stopped by your blog after seeing it on so many doggie blogs! I must say, I am really enjoying what I have been reading so far. Who knew that turtles had so much personality? Kame and Kroten are adorable, beautiful creatures and I look forward to following your blog 🙂

    • Kas says:

      Oops – meant to put the post on your “about page”! Hope you feel better, Kroten! Being under the weather is no fun. Swift and full recovery to you, little guy!

      • Kroten says:

        That’s okay Kas 🙂 you may say anything in this post or the about page.
        Hehehe…we have so many furry friends (both doggies and kitties) We couldn’t find active turtle’s blog but we really enjoy our furry-pet friends.
        Glad you’re enjoying our blog 🙂 your blog also interesting. Will definitely put you on our blog list.

        I do hope I can be fully cured within the next month.

  5. midaevalmaiden says:

    Im glad your being taken care of so well Kroten. Your shell is so important. Im glad you got recued from the bad pet store and that the fungis was the only bad thing that happened. Get better soon and don’t scratch mommy.

    • Kroten says:

      The petshop gave me rotten shell 😦 a much bigger problem than fungus.
      I got my fungus at home 😦 I guess it is because the weather was so cold lately.
      I try not to do that, but that toothbrush really annoying.

  6. Deboshree says:

    I am glad things are better now and the treatment is working finally. Get well soon and be good! 😀

    • Kroten says:

      Thank you aunt Deboshree 🙂
      We hope so too. I really want to get that fungus away as soon as possible so that that smelly ointment will never be put on me ever again

  7. I’ll admit, seeing Kroten’s shell covered in spots of fungus gave me the chills, but I’m so glad his shell’s healing. 🙂

    Out of curiosity, does the fungus affect his personality or diet in any way or is it strictly a shell maintenance situation?

    • Novroz says:

      it also gave me a chill. Thank God it’s decresing.

      It was only shell maintanance, it didn’t change her personality or behaviour at all…even so, that fungus isn’t pretty and has to go.

      by the way, Kroten is a she 🙂
      both my turtles are female.

  8. Tony McGurk says:

    It was really bad but I’m glad it has improved a lot. The photo of you relaxing in the sun is a beautiful one.
    P.S. Tell your Mummy that I thought about her “What happened to the Femur?” question & Tuesday’s comic strip will have the answer.

    • Kroten says:

      we are also glad it has disappear little by little, that fungus really looks bad on me. Thank you, uncle Tony.

      yeaaa, we will read the comic together on either Tuesday or Wednesday. We really like your comic and Binky’s too

  9. Bikram says:

    Well mothers are a blessing are they not 🙂

    Hope you say thank you to her once you are fully recovered 🙂

    • Kroten says:

      yes they are 🙂 and I also am glad she was the one who adopted me, she is trying hard to be a good mom.

      I Will say thank you by showing her all the cuteness I have inside.

  10. levian says:

    wow, fortunately the fungus reduced greatly after your treatment!
    you are such a loving owner. 🙂

  11. Gnoe says:

    My cat Ringo told me to say: You POOR Kroten!

    We’re glad you’re better now and we bet Kame doesn’t mind the extra attention you’re getting ’cause who wants FUNGHI? 😦

    Ringo knows. He has funghi too and he had to endure — BLEGH — BATHING!!! Now for a turtle (uh-oh we forgot: are you turtle or tortoise?) that might not sound too bad… But for a cát! That’s probably one of the worse things that can happen! And then it didn’t even help! 😦

    Now we’re going to try out some oral potion. Hope it helps because his bold spots are getting bigger and bigger and the poor guy already looked skinny with his fur coat on!

    • Kroten says:

      Hahaha…Ringo,we are on the same spot here 😉

      Well, Kame didn’t mind because I gave her some of my funghi 😉 …but she has been cured now because it was just a small spot.

      We are a turtle, hmm…we should write about the different of turtle and tortoise (will definitely find time to do that next month).

      Owww…poor Ringo, hope the oral medicine won’t hurt his liver. Hanging there Ringo!! Gambare!!

  12. BlueSkyShiningBright says:

    Mommy must be worry for u

  13. […] showing shell rot. As she grows up, she started having fungus which I finally able to get rid off ( Tending my fungus )…but this annoying fungus somehow came back with a vengeance, it came back UNDER […]

  14. Savannah Hung says:

    Two of my turtle have 9 fungus in the hand and hongkong have no vet what I should do.

Thank you for commenting :)

