It’s time for another  edition of Turtle Fact.

But…before I got down to it, I, on behalf of the three of  us, would love to give a big hug to our lovely Aunt Sara of Life With 4 Cats who has been so kind to share our picture in her wonderful blog, she called it For The Love of Turtles. She also gave tips to help  turtles cross a street (You’ll never see that in Jakarta). Once again,Thank you aunt Sara.

Now…let’s get back to some basic knowledge on my species

I bet you know we came from eggs, but not many people know that we can still lay eggs without having to this >>>

The drawing is made by Emily of Paroxysm of Outrageous Random News. Thank you for signing it, Emily 🙂

Basically…we don’t need  male to have eggs…but we do need male to have babies. Every female turtle has eggs inside the their body. Those eggs are infertile until a male comes along and make it fertile. At certain age, it is different to every turtles, females will lay their eggs. I around 3 when I laid my first eggs. Most female will lay eggs between 3-5 year old.

The symptoms are simple:

1. WE HATE FOOD. Turtles are greedy but at time like this, we often left the food untouched.

2. WE BECOME  RECKLESS. When I was having it, I climbed up my basking area and then jumped into the water, over  and over again.

3.  WE BECOME AN EXPLORER. When I was set free on the floor,I roamed around the house like a patrol police.

4. Most importantly…WE START DIGGING THE FLOOR. This video (that’s me in the video) will show you what I am talking about.


If a turtle does something like that, her mommy (or daddy) should check her tight to feel eggs underneath it. Be very careful because the eggs’ shell might break.

Since we cannot dig our house’ floor, we need to start digging the land outside  the house. so, all turtles’ mommy and daddy should take us outside and let us do our thing 😉  …or we can also do it in a set up tank with lots of sand and land.

And here is one of my eggs (shot in different angles)

Hope you enjoy this new fact about turtle (new to those who didn’t know about it before 😉 )

I will close this Turtle Fact with a picture of me in mommy’s hand

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

86 responses »

Comment navigation

  1. george says:

    Can a African. Sideneck and a mississippi map mate

  2. Ivy Zheng says:

    Hi my turtle has been graves for a pretty long time I’m scared if it’s egg bound can I let it out to lay it’s egg it’s a RES TURTLE. It last laid eggs into the water from the platform on January 30 and two weeks later it started acting up again so we assume it’s pregnant but I’m scared that it’s egg bound how do we know if it’s egg bound or the time when the eggs will calcify in its body ??? Plz help this is my first time dealing with my turtles laying eggs !!!!!

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Ivy,
      You just need to let her out to dig hole for her eggs. Make her comfortable and pray that she will lay her eggs…other than that there’s nothing much to do. Hope yours won’t be eggbound

  3. Angela says:

    I have 2 baby red eared slider turtles and the female is showing signs that she might have eggs how can I check

  4. Dylan Wood says:

    My turtle egg looks exactly like that

  5. Alejandra Salgado says:

    Hi, Today I’ve discovered that my turtle “Verde” (in english “Green”), put it first egg so it’s a girl….. omg it’s amazing but she doesn’t have a boyfriend :(, She is 20 years old and I love it.

  6. Kim says:

    How often to turtles lay eggs?

  7. Oranges says:

    I have two female RES’s. Both 10 years old and they have never laid eggs. Is that normal?

  8. Aisha Blackwood says:

    My turt has been laying for days now one or two at a time

Comment navigation

Thank you for commenting :)

