Few days ago, I praised Oscar for his success in dieting. Oscar and his Mom didn’t believe that I am fat, they said:

Turtles struggle with their weight, too? I almost don’t believe it! You look like the right size to me, Kame.

So…here I am showing you my struggle with the word ‘DIET

November 2008

November 2008

August 2010 - Loss small amount of fat

June 2011 - The fat comes back

June 2011

Here are closer look to my fat around front and hind legs

Now…see the different area around my neck/front legs compare to Kroten’s. She looks much slimmer than me 😦

That’s all for now. Although I haven’t eaten anything delicious like shrimp and fish for 2 straight years…I only eat vegetables…but I am still fat 😦

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

25 responses »

  1. catchatcaren says:

    once again I have learned from your blog! I never, ever knew that turtles had to watch their weight!! This was so interesting!

    • Kame says:

      Nice to know my fat can give you more knowledge on turtles πŸ˜‰

      We have to watch out weight because obesity can cause internal failure and shorten our life 😦

      Mommy wishes she can have me for 30 years to come, to life that long I really need to watch my weight from now on.

  2. Binky says:

    I think you might need more exercise, Kame. Maybe a little turtle-sized treadmill would be good so you could do a few miles each day while mommy’s at work.

    • Kame says:

      Someone had proposed that idea too when mommy first showed that 1st picture…we are still looking for a manufacturer company that can build a turtle-sized treadmill….but we still have no luck yet.
      Do you know anyone who can make that for us, Binky?

  3. Bikram says:

    here we go again.. exercise timeeeeeeeee πŸ™‚

  4. Wow I didn’t know that turtles had to watch their figures!

    • Kame says:

      We have to watch our figure for our health…not because we want to be as skinny as photo model πŸ˜‰

      Hope you will never had diet program in your lfe

  5. Bailey says:

    Perhaps some kind of obstacle course?

    • Novroz says:

      I have already done that…she has to climb to her basking area to have her food and then stepping down to the water to eat it…she has to do that over and over again…but turtles has difficulty to lose their weighto the water to eat it…she has to do that over and over again…but turtles has difficulty to lose their weight

  6. catcalls says:

    I guess no one is exempt from the fat curse! Run, run, run Kame!

    • Kame says:

      It was mommy’s fault…she loves me so much but when I was baby she didn’t know what’s good or bad for me, she liked to feed me with chicken. That’s how I become fat.

      Run? too tiring, let’s just do a slow walk πŸ˜‰

  7. didiwright says:

    Fat or not, you are beautiful / No matter what they say / Words can’t bring you down…x

    • Kame says:

      Thank you for the song, Aunt Didi.

      It’s not words that bring me down…it’s the health issue. Mommy likes my chubbiness but obesity is dangerous.

  8. I see what you mean now, Kame! The pictures contrasting your physique with Kroten’s definitely shed some light on your battle with the bulge. I think a little chubbiness is cute, but I understand your mom’s concerns about your health. One of the huge reasons I started Oscar on his doggie boot camp is because I want him to be around for a long time. πŸ™‚

    • BTW, thanks for the mention and your sweet words about Oscar!

    • Kame says:

      I wish there is a turtle boot camp…I can (probably) lose my weight easier. At least I don’t become fatter than I am in 2008 πŸ˜‰

      I guess every pet-mommy wants her pet to live as long as possible…even though that means causing the pet to eat not so delicious food πŸ˜‰

      you’re more than welcome Oscar πŸ™‚ I have to slim again like you!

  9. colleenie says:

    I could look at these beautiful faces all day!

  10. Artswebshow says:

    Incredible animals these are.

  11. Tony McGurk says:

    Gosh fatty, er I mean Kame you really gotta stay outta McDonald’s & KFC. Do they have a series called “Biggest Loser Turtles”

    • Kame says:

      Hey!! It’s not my fault, it’s Mommy’s fault. She was the one who kept giving me chicken, shrimp and fish….tho I admit I kinda miss those food. Veggies are nice but not that delicious πŸ˜‰

      Well…Uncle Tony, if there was such show I would love to join πŸ˜‰

  12. BlueSkyShiningBright says:

    U are like wearing a ski hat when ur fat

Thank you for commenting :)

