I have been planning to elaborate my How To Train Your Turtle article into a more specific article since few months ago…but I wasn’t sure how to begin because almost everything my turtles did is not by training but more because they did it by themselves.

I finally came to a decision to write about how home-loving my turtles are.

I have read or heard stories about how someone lost their turtle because their turtle ran away from home. Honestly, at first I thought turtle has no sense of belonging, they would just run away when they feel like it…but I have changed my thought after Kame and Kroten show me that they prefer to stay inside our home than running away from home.

I often take my baby turtles out of their tanks and let them roam around the house because I want them to feel that the house also belongs to them,  not only the tanks. I have never thought that my letting them play in the house will turn them into such homey turtles.

When I set them outside the house to catch the sun or just to let them stretch their tiny legs in the open air, I always sit in front of the door to make sure they are okay. This act makes them recognize their home easily. I will lead them home when I feel like they have already been out too long.

One day, I was still in my old house (I moved to my current house 3 years ago) and Kame was about 2 at that time, I was letting Kame to have her morning sun…and  suddenly she walked back to the house without me calling her to go home. After that day, Kame loves spending her time inside the house rather than outside.

 I have to close the door if I want her to stay under the sun.

Kame always anxious to go back home

Kame’s home-loving attitude is worse than Kroten. Kroten will stay still under the sun for more than an hour, I am the one who have to carry her inside. But Kroten never step outside the front porch, she will stay still under the protection of her house.

Both Kame and Kroten know their house perfectly. Here is a video that shows how homey my turtles are.

How trustful am I with my turtle?

Kame

Although they are not as obedient as dogs, but I really trust my turtle. I know they will never run away from me because they love their home 🙂

I did a little research of what they did when they disobeyed me…it turned out that they were only sitting on the front porch or circling the tree outside. They never stepped too far away from our home sweet home.

Kroten often does something that touches my heart. You know how she loves sunlight, right? Well, the front door often shined by the sun. Kroten would walk toward the light and when I told her to stay in front of the door, believe it or not…she stayed!! And I would continue my house chores. She would stay put till the light has shifted.

Her act often makes my father shakes his head in disbelieve.

I will close this post with a picture of Kroten waiting in front of the door 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

29 responses »

  1. Asop says:

    Itu kepala kura-kura di banner pertama mirip kayak jari. 😆
    Jadinya kayak pilem E.T. 😆

  2. Deboshree says:

    Whoa, the page looks so animated now! I like the whole all-encompassing look a lot. 😀
    Your turtles seem to be very domesticated… 😀 there’s nothing and nowhere like home after all.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you, Deboshree.
      Yes…they really defy the definition of Domesticated Turtles 😉
      If there is a law saying all turtle pets must be returned to the wild…I am sure my turtles won’t survive. They are too attached with our house and afraid of nothing.

  3. catcalls says:

    You have the most incredible turtles I have ever heard of! I loved this!

  4. Tony McGurk says:

    They like to go inside because they know that’s where their Mummy lives. Kame looks so cute in the video climbing over the step at the door. I really like the photo of her at the door with her legs hanging down the back, it looks so cute. So I guess they are homing turtles

    • Novroz says:

      Yeah maybe that’s the reason. She knows where she can stay safe…mommy’s there….or maybe because turtles have special way of marking their area.

      Ah the one with hanging legs is Kroten 🙂

  5. Tony McGurk says:

    O I forgot to say the ET cover looks so cool

    • Novroz says:

      Hehehe why do people think of ET when seeing that poster…you’re the second.

      It was actually from a movie called How To Train Your Dragon. All I did was covering the head of the dragon and changed it with Kroten’s head. And edited the color a bit.

      Hmmm I haven’t done this kind of photoshop for a while, maybe I should make a new one soon 😉

  6. Joel Burman says:

    Great post as usual! They are so fast too. I can totally see them roaming in your apartment. I’m really impressed of how high they can climb too…

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you, Joel 🙂
      They can be fast when they want to…you should see them runing when something surprise them.

      Turtles are actually good climber. Well, they have to since they live in both water and land, you should see them runing when something surprise them.

  7. Binky says:

    I never thought about it, but how good is a turtle’s eyesight? Can they tell your house from the others? Or maybe they go by smell?
    Maybe when Kame is outside, he feels vulnerable to other animals, but knows he is safe in your house.

    • Novroz says:

      From my observation, they have good eyesight…I have a video showing Kame following a remote control movement acurately. But I don’t know how good her memory is. In my previous house, there were 5 houses in total and they all looked the same…Kame can return to our home without entering the wrong house. Inside the house, both Kame and Kroten can tell which is my room and which is not. When they are already tired of walking around the house, they go straight to my room and wait for me to pick them up and put them back inside the house.

      Well … actually, they showed no fear or whatsoever toward bigger animals. Kame and Kroten never put their heads inside when seeing cats come walking toward them…I think the reason is because they are too domisticated.

      Ps. Kame told me to remind you that she is a girl 😉

  8. Bikram says:

    wow.. and then maybe a movie tooo .. about how to train who knows it may be a hit one 🙂

  9. Kame and Kroten sound like my kind of turtles—I’m quite the homebody, too! Maple loves her outdoor walks, but at the same time she can’t wait to return home afterwards. It’s comforting to know that our little ones treat our homes like their sanctuaries.

    • Novroz says:

      Me,Kroten and Kame can be considered as like pets like owner 😉
      I also love being at home.
      You’re right…it is so comforting to know that they think my home is also their home, by that I know they enjoy living with me

  10. Caroline says:

    I love this post. All of it, the text, the photos and that video. So, so cute.

  11. lifewith4cats says:

    I loved this, I know just how kame feels, She was in such a hurry she didnt even bother to use the front door ramp.I too would always stay at home if I could get away with it. Kroten has a fast walk.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank You, Sara.
      Hahaha I don’t think she cares about the ramp 😉
      I think like any animal..she has develop a sense of belonging to my house (our house now).
      Ha…you should see how fast she is when she is chasing food in front of her nose 😉

  12. Stefina says:

    Aku pengen punya kura2 kyk kame ^^ good luck

    • Novroz says:

      Stefina pasti bisa juga kok ‘menciptakan’ kame Stefina sendiri…cukup dgn sgt menyanyangi kura2 kamu :)Stefina pasti bisa juga kok ‘menciptakan’ kame Stefina sendiri…cukup dgn sgt menyanyangi kura2 kamu 🙂

  13. Addy says:

    Do you think a long neck turtle would stay inside?

  14. Tanvi kurade says:

    Hello ! I need some advise… I have 2 turtles and they have been living with me for 2-3 months. I just want them to know i love them so much. In a result they just ignore me or try to bite me. They are better now but they still think im a stranger. Im trying so hard to make them like me. Btw my turtles are RES like kroten and kame.

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Tanvi, 2-3 months is a very short time. Dealing with them need patience.

      Kame can easily be tamed, Kroten needed 4 years to start climbing my hand, Papoe has not yet climb my hand even after her fourth year with me, Kurome is like Kame. Some turtles can easily be attached to the owner while others take longer time

Thank you for commenting :)

