I sometimes commented on my fellow pet bloggers that I went to a vet once, some of them asked what’s wrong with me. I guessed it’s better to share it here. I know it’s old news but I never want to make new news out this matter ever again….in other word, going to a vet was not fun at all.

In 2008, I had problem with my poop, it wasn’t solid like it was supposed to be. Mommy was confused but she didn’t think something was wrong. Probably something I ate she thought. However, the liquid poop (I have no idea how to call such poop in English, in Indonesian we called it as mencret) continued over a month…and that’s when mommy started to get worried.

She started asking around. Aunt Lara (remember her? She is our first guess author for Herptile spotlight) told her that liquid poop was a sign of either stress, nutrition problem or bacteria. Mommy thought that stress was not the case because I was acting just fine. She was worried about nutrition and bacteria.

My poop problem became worse, I was liquid pooping 4 – 6 times a day. Finally, she decided to take me to a vet. Everyone in our family against the decision because they thought I would only waste her money…but mommy loves me with all her heart, for her money is not a big issue when it comes to me.

Unfortunately most vets are only skillful with Cats and Dogs 😦 . She took me to Animal Hospital near the zoo…hoping the vets would know something about reptile. She also brought sample of my poop. I was put in a small container because she couldn’t find a bigger one. The second time I went to the vet, she found a better container 😉 See the photos below. On the left was the first container and on the right was the second container.

I was restless inside my container because I was never put inside such small container…Mommy often petted me while we were still on the bus  heading to the hospital, she said be patience okay!.

When we arrived at the hospital, you should see the look on the receptionists face!! They were a bit surprise to see a cheap turtle like me (baby RES is sold for $0,5 to $1 here) was taken to hospital. They probably think that it would be cheaper just to buy a new RES 😉

Because I was put inside the container for almost an hour, she straight away set me free from that small container. She put me on the chair, I was quite stress up at that time….I hate riding a bus!! After half an hour, I had my spirit back and started exploring the waiting room. And then the vet called my name.

Mommy thought the vet was quite cute which I really didn’t care. He examined my poop sample and asked about my symptoms. We were shocked when the vet told us that I had Coccidia, kinda like e.coli for human. The bacteria lived inside my intestine, if no action was taken, they will eat my intestine and eventually I would have blood in my poop…thank God, mommy took me to the vet before that horrible thing happened. The vet said that the cause most likely from water and mommy thought that the cause was the water  in our new home.

These pictures were taken with 1,3MP mobilephone camera, the quality was terrible

The vet gave me an antibiotic shot…which was very painful.  He pulled my leg and shot it between my butt and my thigh (on my second visit, I even bit mommy’s finger out of agony). He gave me a medicine that needed to be taken twice a day. I have to return for check up till my intestine freed from Coccidia. I went back 3 times.

To force the medicine, mommy had to use a syringe. Held my head like the photo  below and force the medicine through my mouth gap. To do that, she needed grandma to hold my shell. To do it alone was impossible because I refused to take that bitter medicine (I know it was for my own good…but I still hated the taste). I had to take that medicine for a week and visit the vet once in 3 or 4 days. On the third visit I was freed from Coccidia. Yokatta!!

After the third visit, mommy took me to her school because her students wanted to see me (the turtles she kept talking about to her students). We spent about 2 hours in the library. We borrowed the librarian camera and took several shots of me with mommy (the photo on the left) and one of her students, Alida (the photo on the right).

I liked the third visit a lot 😉 . 

So, have you been to a vet before? And did you like it?

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

24 responses »

  1. rtm says:

    Hi Nov, I just stop by to say hello to you and your cutie turtles… Nice to see your lovely picture there with your loved ones. You have such a beautiful smile! 🙂

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Ruth…your presence here always brings smile 🙂
      Thank you for the compliment…but I think Kame steal the spotlight of that picture 😉
      I don’t know if you realize it or not, the picture is my avatar but I edited it a little.

    • edlaine says:

      The same happend to me, but was low vita. D. I spend almost 500,00 cause i take to a hospital in Boston but they just charge me, gave my baby med and i didnt see him getting better. After that i took to the Angels hospital ( the best thing i did) and then they give him shots of vitamins and now hes doing great. He is a Southern Painted turtle, cost $60.00 and i hear that too,” just go and buy a new one”. I love my turtle so much and i cant replace him like this.

      • Novroz says:

        Poor thing…I hope he will never have to go to vet again 🙂
        Glad to know he is okay now.
        So true!! it’s easy to just buy another turtle but it’s not easy to make it as a replacement of the one we love. I love Papoe but he will never be able to replace Kame’s place in my heart.

  2. Health is priority #1! I’m glad your mommy decided to make an appointment with the vet in order to get to the bottom (no pun intended) of your poopy issue. Fortunately, the Coccidia was discovered early and now you have the necessary medication to treat it. I don’t like getting injections, either, so I think you were very brave to have endured yours. Here’s wishing you a speedy recovery, Kame 😀

    P.s. Will this ‘cute’ vet be your permanent vet from now on? 😉

    • Kame says:

      I guessed you’re right Maple ma…It might not be fun as I don’t like travelling and hate those injections…but at least I am pooping normally.
      The coccidia had dissapeared in less than 2 weeks…Thank God for that because I didn’t have to visit the vet anymore.

      To answer your ps, I think that is mommy’s job 😉 although I prefer never to go to any vet anymore and stay healthy for the rest of my 30 years.

  3. Bikram says:

    I hope you are doing excellent and good to visit the vet .. mommy is doing goood …

    needles ouch no no for me tooo

  4. kelly says:

    Oh you poor thing 😦 I’m glad Mommy was able to get you the meds you needed, (even though the shot was no fun) I know dogs can acquire Coccidia as well, especially in warmer climates in the US.Your Mommy is really on the ball…and very beautiful BTW 😉

    • Kame says:

      Thank you for the concern Aunt Kelly. We were (and are) glad the treatment work well and I haven’t got coccidia again ever since.
      Yup, the vet told us that coccidia is very comment with other animals and the cause is mostly bad water.

      Mommy said thank you for the commend 🙂

  5. Hi Nov! This is Dakota’s brother, Cody. WOW! I am so impressed that your BEAUTIFUL Mommy took you to the vet but I am so sorry that they hurt you 😦
    They only hurt you out of love, they were trying to make you feel better and it appears that they did.
    My Mommy and I are so impressed that your Mommy loves you so much that she took you to the vet in spite of everyone laughing at her.
    I go to the vet a few times a year and I go when something is wrong with my allergies (I was just there a few weeks ago and I am on medicine too)
    My brother Dakota goes more than me cause doggies have more that they need done than cats do but we both go quite a bit.
    My Mom says we are both very good boys at the vet. The part we hate the most is shots, next would be getting weighed!
    Your pal, Cody

    • Kame says:

      Hi Cody, welcome to our blog 🙂 It’s nice to have you here…the whole gank (you, Dakota and your mommy) are always welcome here.

      Yeah…that fact is true. EVen though I hated the shot and the trip..at least I was cured.

      Hehehe poor mommy, when it comes to tending us, people often looked her as something odd…even her own family used to look at her as if she was crazy. But they understood now how much she loves us. Non-family members still think she is odd tho. Well, she said who cares.

      Wow…I didn’t know cat has allergy too…I thought cat is the one that caused allergy. Hope you’re feeling better soon, Cody.

      Ah yes!! The shots…I understand now why some human hates getting shots, eventhough it is only a small needle but it causes so much pain

  6. didiwright says:

    First of all, well done to your mummy for taking you to the doctors. Turtles might be cheap to buy in the shops, but you two girls are priceless to your mum…Glad to hear the problem was solved with such success!
    So far, George has only been to the vets once a year, for his vaccine/booster and general checkup. Hopefully, we’ll keep it this way. He doesn’t love it there, but I don’t think he hates it either. Normally, he lets the vet do his job so that he can get out of there quickly.

    • Kame says:

      Thank you Aunt Didi 🙂
      It’s true…she said we are priceless and having new turtles will never trully replace us because we have personality. I am also glad I was cured so fast…couldn’t imagine going back and forth to the hospital more than 3 times.

      Lucky for George, he seems to enjoy going everywhere. Be patience George, you have to endure getting shot once a year (Thank God we don’t have to do that)

  7. Deboshree says:

    Your Mommy knows best as far as your health care is concerned. Now that you know how much fun going to a vet is, I am sure you will be eager the next time. 😀

    • Kame says:

      Noooo….it wasn’t fun at all!! I got stress up because on long journey (long in turtle’s time)…and that doctor pulled my leg so that he could inject me…ooo the horror!

      But it is unavoidable, I know I will have to go to the vet again if something happens to me again. Hope I’ll be healthy all the time 😉

  8. Binky says:

    I’m glad mommy was able to take you to a vet that was able to find out what was wrong with you. Visiting the doctor’s or vet’s is often not very pleasant, but sometimes we have to experience some bad things to get well again. I hope you don’t have to go back, though.

  9. Beth says:

    This was too cute to read 🙂 Love the photos too!

  10. Joel Burman says:

    Great reenactment Novia is such a role model to pet owners out there.

  11. Tony McGurk says:

    I hate needles too Kame so you were very brave to endure the torture

Thank you for commenting :)

