I don’t know whether you know or not that my mommy loves things Japanese…you can see  it in Kame’s name as Kame is turtle in Japanese. Mommy has been writing so many posts for Hello Japan! Mini Challenge because she loves things Japanese (I know, I have said it before…but she really loves it!!). The event is hosted by Aunt Nat of In Spring It Is Dawn.

This month, I asked her to let me do the challenge. I want to be apart of a challenge for once…especially an easy challenge like this.

August’s Task

This month’s task is to create some origami.
Try your hand at making your own paper cranes. Or origami bookmarks. Or anything you like. It doesn’t matter if you’ve done it before or not. You could also get your kids/friends/partner/etc. to make something. And don’t forget to take pictures to share with us what you’ve made.

I want to do a simple origami of our close cousin the sea turtle. As you know,i don’t have flexible fingers, I had to ask mommy to fold the paper…of course under MY strict supervision!! I don’t want her to  make any mistake 😉

So…without further introduction, this is how you make sea turtle origami.

kamekroten.wordpress.com

Fold the paper like this and do it at both sides

kamekrote.wordpress.com

And then fold like this but don't do it for both sides

kamekroten.wordpress.com

All the folding will create these lines

kamekroten.wordpress.com

Try to fold the lines you have created before into something like this

kamekroten.wordpress.com

Fold one side up and down

kamekroten.wordpress.com

The lines made from previous folding is folded into this shape and then do it for all 4 sides like the pictures shown below.

kamekroten.wordpress.com

kamekroten.wordpress.com

Here is the result

kamekroten.wordpress.com

Now, fold it like this

kamekroten.wordpress.com

Turn in like this

kamekroten.wordpress.com

Fold each corner into something like this, they will become the turtles's arms and legs

kamekroten.wordpress.com

To make the head, fold it like this

kamekroten.wordpress.com

It will look like this after you fold the head

kamekroten.wordpress.com

...and...voila!!

 Of course…I have to do my final check 😉

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

44 responses »

  1. didiwright says:

    That’s really beautiful…I’ll have to write this down as an activity suitable for a rainy autumn day. Thanks! 😉

  2. TBM says:

    I love it. Great teamwork!

  3. Asop says:

    Woow, Kame, you’re great! 😀

    *errrr are you Kame, or Kroten?*

  4. Wazeau says:

    Awesome origami! But not quite as handsome as the real thing…

  5. catcalls says:

    If that isn’t the cutest thing! Awesome job, Kroten!!

  6. Binky says:

    Very nice work, Kroten! And Mommy, too.

    Another good reason to like Japan is that they have more wombats in zoos than any other country other than Australia, and that includes the world’s oldest living wombat, Chewbacca.

  7. Tony McGurk says:

    For a turtle without fingers & an opposable thumb Kroten you sure fold well

  8. Deboshree says:

    Wow, hail the little creative darling! 😀
    This is so cute… I will remember this as the thing to do when its all wet and rainy outside. Thanks for showing us how in such detail. 🙂

  9. that is sooooooooooooo cute!!!!!!

    My mom wishes she could do something like that but sadly she is ALL PAWS!!

    Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  10. Bikram says:

    🙂 WOW I am impressede … wish i can do something like this …

  11. lifewith4cats says:

    Thats a really cool looking turtle. Good thing mommy has you to giver her direction and inspiration.

  12. Great post. I love the photos!

  13. Bellezza says:

    I love your sea turtle next to your real turtle! What a clever job, and I loved how you added the step by step directions accompanied with pictures. Last year I decorated my classroom with sea creatures hanging under paper waves: turtles, shrimp, sea breem, lobsters, whales, shark, you name it. They were so fun to make and create such a charming atmosphere.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Belleza 🙂

      Fortunately my turtle is a curious breed, she couldn’t keep her nose of the origami. It was easy to make these shots.

      Origami can always cheer up a class room.

  14. Gnoe says:

    Aw, love the pic of the final check! 🙂 Great job Kame!!! Aunty Nat will be amazed. 😉

  15. tanabata says:

    Excellent job, Kroten! I’m so glad you could join us in the Hello Japan! challenge this time. 🙂

  16. […] August 2011 Topic/Task – Origami August Links My Post: Sea Turtle Origami […]

  17. Karen says:

    I’m lost at getting from step 5 to 6 to 7. Would you provide some more detail? Thanks!

  18. Nicole says:

    Cute!
    What size of paper did you start out with?

Thank you for commenting :)

