Do you know what a male turtle does to flirt on a female turtle?

And…Do you know how two turtles determine their territory?

To do both things, we flutter our hand in front of other turtle’s face.

Make sure you don’t confuse which one is which.

When a male turtle sees a female he wants to have relationship more than just as friend, the male will flutter his hands in front of the female. The gesture is kinda like asking her to have his babies.

During the courtship, a male will attempt to get the female’s attention by swimming backwards in front of her (in a face to face position) with his front legs extended outwards. His long nails would then vibrate or shake (flutter) very quickly in her face. If she is willing, the male will be allowed to mount her and position his tail under hers. He will release his front legs and stabilize in a vertical position

Copied from Redearslider.com

However, the same gesture is also done by 2 turtles with the same gender.

When I first saw Kroten, I thought she was going to steal my tank and my space in the house. She was small and cute, I felt very threatened by her existence (Why does mommy have to have new turtle? Am I not enough? ).  To show her who’s the boss, I had to challenge her by fluttering my hands in front of her. Too bad that little yellow turtle wasn’t afraid and she fluttered me back. 

It has been 3 years, but we are still fluttering each other whenever we got a chance.

This is a video of me and Kroten after 1 year of living together

The fluttering is not only done toward other turtle. We also flutter on other things that we have never seen before. I can’t explain why, but I always flutter on Chopper (mommy’s cute key chain’s accessory from her favorite manga, One Piece)

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

11 responses »

  1. Watch out, Chopper! Kame either wants to have your babies or claim her territory! 😀

  2. TBM says:

    Loved the video and the music!

  3. Tony McGurk says:

    I always learn something new here. So will Chopper have babies??? Happy fluttering!!!

    • Kroten says:

      Since Chopper is a boy and Kame is a girl…Kame will have the babies 😉
      Hmm…that’ll make Kame as an aggressive girl for fluttering at a boy :D’ll make Kame as an aggressive girl for fluttering at a boy 😀

  4. Binky says:

    Well fluttering sounds like a lot better solution than fighting. Maybe humans could learn to flutter rather than fighting all the time.

  5. lifewith4cats says:

    Aw, I bet you take your fluttering very seriously. But as a human, I have to say that your fluttering is the cutest thing I have ever seen! The way you shoved your paws at kroten and she wasnt even doing anything to deseve it. Its just SO cute. I never knew you do that.

    But I know you were telling her how dangerous and long your claws are, and “not to mess with me”.

    • Kame says:

      Thank you aunt Sara. I never knew that human will find our fluttering is a cute thing.

      At first, I am fluttering at her because she was new and I was the boss…but then she is the one who often fluttered at me…as you know, she is an intimidator.

  6. […] On August, I have shared about an act that can be interpreted differently…depending on the turtle’s sex. The post is called Fluttering. […]

Thank you for commenting :)

