I have never thought that Kame and Kroten would have many wonderful friends. I felt honored  with everyone who keeps coming back to  their blog. I guess I am now ready to do this important post, a  post where I differentiate my two girls 🙂

At first,  I wanted  to make 2 posts, one about their physic and another one about their behaviour…but there are so many pictures involved and I finally decided to do 3 (or maybe 4) posts.

This first part will cover differences in their shell and heads. Other body parts will be in part 2.

Now take a look at these two pictures first! Kame and Kroten used these pictures in their ‘about’ page.

From those two pictures, you can clearly see their differences, Kame has darker color and Kroten has lighter color. Now I am going to show you a more detail differences

Kame’s picture is always on the left while Kroten’s is always on the right.

1. When they were babies

When they were babies, Kame’s shell color was dark green and looked really strong. Kroten has a lighter green color and looked weak. I thought she was having malnutrition or something that changed her shell color (Thank God I was wrong).

2. Shell’s color as they grow up

Before Kame had all her scute shed off (see the differences of her shell before and after shedding here) the color of her shell was totally different to Kroten, however after the shedding they almost look the same now. Kame has lighter color now, while Kroten has darker color because she is preparing to shed. I can see beautiful pattern underneath her  old scutes…I am sooo eager to see her new scutes,but it will months before she starts shedding the old ones off.

Ps: for this picture, kame is on the right side

3. Head Shape

You can see it clearly that Kame  has rounder head than Kroten. Kroten’s head becomes smaller as it gets to her nose tip, it looks kinda like the corner of human’s eye.

4. Eyes

Kame has protruding eyes. Someone once asked me if she was alright, and I said yes because she had have those eyes since baby. You can see how protuding her eyes are from this picture. Kroten’s eyes are flat, meaning they don’t protrude from her head.

5. Red Eared

People call this kind of turtle as Red Eared Slider because of thered line on their head. Kame and Kroten have different shape of red line.

I don’t know how to describe it,just see the difference 😉
I like Kame’s red line better because it has that cute twist on the edge near her eyes. Kroten has bigger line with no twist.

Ps. that read line is NOT their ears. See turtle’s ear here.

6. Neck’s Pattern

Kroten’s lighter color is not only on her shell, but also on her skin. Their neck can show you how different their colors are. Kame’s pattern is so clearly visible while Kroten’s is almost patternless. We have to focus closely to see her pattern. This light pattern happens  allover Kroten’s skin. You’ll see more of it later.

*************

That’s all for now 🙂
See you again in Part 2 of their physical appearance.

I  hope you enjoy this post, I close this post with Kame and Kroten’s picture when they are behaving nicely toward each other.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

31 responses »

  1. Beth Ann says:

    I LOVE the pictures and now maybe I can tell the two of them apart without you telling me!!! They are quite wonderful models, aren’t they??? The picture at the end is adorable—“sisterly love” ????
    Thanks for sharing!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Beth. Yeah good thing about them is they are such obedient turtles, I have no problem taking their pictures. The next part will show more how they agreed doing everything I want from them.

      That picture is one of my favorites. They looked so sweet in that picture.

  2. Wazeau says:

    Their coloration is very detailed, isn’t it! Beautiful!

  3. kelly says:

    They’re both just gorgeous!!! Great post Nov 😀

  4. Deboshree says:

    I loved the baby pictures! Both the dearies are so very cute. How is it that they have such shiny colours? Momma takes very good care of them I can see. 😀

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Deboshree. Baby turtles are the cutest…much much cuter than the big ones (sorry Kame & Kroten).

      Well, I always brush their shell at least once a week because I don’t want it to have moss. A lot of turtle’s owners, mostly they are who think that turtles aren’t any different with fish, let their turtles untouched and moss grows on their shells. Poor turtles.

  5. Bikram says:

    Wow.. so much info.. I would never be able to differentiate But now i jsut might …

    Lovely pictures …

  6. Binky says:

    It’s quite interesting how different Kame and Kroten are. They are both Red Ear Sliders, but I wonder if they come from different areas or something.

    • Novroz says:

      I am never going to find out their true origin because both came from petshop, Kame is bought by my in law’s friend and she gave her to me while Kroten I bought her myself.

      The differences in skin and shell colors is because Kroten is a morph…even if she isn’t a morph, I think turtles just like human and other animals are always different one another. Each individual has their own characteristic

  7. Tony McGurk says:

    Interesting to see how their shell colours changed as they grew up. I always enjoy visiting here & seeing pacts & photos of them.

    • Novroz says:

      I was also surprising seeing how their shell becomes darker as they grows but back to lighter one once the scute peeled off. It is a fun experience watching them change from time to time.

      Thank you for enjoying our blog Tony, that means a lot.

  8. lifewith4cats says:

    Those eys are so different form each other. I never noticed it was so big a difference. But both are beautiful.

  9. Jenn says:

    I LOVE YOUR BLOG!!! It’s so refreshing and unexpected to see a blog on a pair of turtles!! =D
    Can’t wait to see more posts =)
    Jenn

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Jenn 🙂
      First of all, thank you for visiting and saying those nice things. I hope you can enjoy my craziness as you’ll soon find out that most of the post is ‘written by’ by my turtles 😉

  10. didiwright says:

    This is a very interesting post, Novroz. There are definitely a lot of physical differences between your girls, but they’re both beautiful nonetheless. x

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Didi…welcome back 🙂
      This is only half of it, lucky I have a morph so we can see a lot of difference. If Kroten isn’t a morph I don’t think the differences will be this much

  11. Debbie Adams says:

    Thank you for sharing these photo of them. There are so many interesting differences between the two of them. Now I feel I know them a little better.

  12. […] have shared the easiest way to differentiate my two girls from their physical look (Part 1 and Part 2). Anyone who sees them directly can easily differentiate one another as they have […]

  13. ivory1226 says:

    Reblogged this on ivory1226 and commented:
    Hi Im Asmar Annd i have turtle name ivory and im a very very bigg fan of kame and kroten sorry for your lost but can i ask a coupleo f question how do tyou get oyur turtle to listen to you

  14. ivory1226 says:

    Uhmm HOW DO YOU GET YOUR VIDEOS FROM YOUTUBE TO WORDPRESS

  15. Lexi says:

    I’m enjoying your blog! I have two male red eared sliders who are very wild boys and are rather ornery. I’m sure they would love to meet your girls 😛
    I also have purchased recently a baby rio grande red eared slider, which is about the size of a silver dollar right now. I’m trying to train it like yours are trained, and I’ve been using your advice! Hopefully when it grows up, it will know me.

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Lexi 🙂
      I am happy to know that my training post can help you…I sure hope it’ll work with your turtles too. Don’t forget to keep them healthy 🙂

Thank you for commenting :)

