It’s been 3 months ago since my last Herptile Spotlight. Sorry for keeping this long to spotlight our other cute (or not so cute) relatives. Some are often found as pets and some could never be pet, like our last spotlight, Komodo Dragon.ย 

Today I want to introduce you to Crocodylus Porosus, or mostly known as Buaya Muara in Indonesian.

picture taken from Satwa Langka

I have searched a bit and found out that in English this buaya (crocodile) is called as Salt-water crocodile. They don’t actually live in the sea eventhough they are called salt-water crocodile, they live in the river and the mouth of river the leads to the sea. They can be found in ALMOST all Indonesian rivers, mostly in Kalimantan and Sumatra. But,they don’t live only in Indonesia. You can find them in this area:

This crocodile can be as long as 12 meters from head to tail. Oneย  as long as that was once found in Sangatta, Kalimantan. Buaya Muara is known to be the biggest crocodile in the world, even bigger than Crocodylus niloticus (crocodile from the nil river, Egypt) and Alligator mississipiensis (from the river of Mississippi). their favorite habitats are Indonesian and Australian rivers.

Picture borrowed from Wikipedia.org

What’s interesting about this relative of ours is their ability to jump up from the river to attack their prey. This crocodile likes salt water,that’s why they often live near the sea but still in the river, we call this area as muara.

Buaya Muara also known as the most visious crocodile in the world.

But…….

Some people own them as pet ๐Ÿ™‚

Last year, mommy went to a reptile show and met someone with a buaya muara pet (please excuse my mom’s signature, we took these pictures from her deviantart account)

Isn't he a beauty?

ย Here is another shot of him. His eye is so scary

Cool eye!!

Mommy asked his daddy about him. His daddy told her that this 1,5 years old crocodile is very tame and never tried to bite anyone. the only time he bit someone was out of accident. He was opening his mouth (like most crocodile do when they are basking near the river bank) and then his daddy’s friend -out of curiosity- put his finger on his mouth. He was immediately closed his mouth because of reflect. His daddy’s friend was okay with some teeth marks on his finger.

The conclusion is: never put your finger inside the mouth of a tame crocodile ๐Ÿ˜‰

Mommy asked his daddy again, what will happen once he becomes too big. His daddy said that his friend onceย  had the same crocodile and once the crocodile reached 5 meters, he could no longer keep the crocodile and hadย  to give the crocodile to the zoo. Here is the shot from the Ragunan Zoo:

His daddy said he will keep him as long as he can. I hope he will never be sent to the zoo. I know mommy will never send me to the zoo ๐Ÿ˜‰

That’s all about our scary cousin. See you again in the next article of Herptile Spotlight (^^)/

You can read about other herptile> here

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

27 responses »

  1. Bikram says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for all that info

  2. Debbie Adams says:

    You have a scary cousin there. Some of your cousins live here is the USA too. Mostly in Florida and the Gulf, but may be found in other places to. I’m no expert on this.
    I hope he don’t have to go to the zoo.

    Aunt Deb xx

  3. As scary as they look, crocodiles are in a special way kind of cute with their toothy grins. Hmm, maybe a little too toothy for comfort. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. catcalls says:

    I once went to a reptile pet store in Columbus, Ohio. It was a very cool place and after wandering around a bit one of the owners came over and asked if I had seen their crocodile. She ‘lived’ there….just wandered around on the floor! He found her and let me hold her as she was very friendly. It was something I will always remember!

  5. didiwright says:

    Don’t ask me why, but I kind of like crocodiles, and one my nephews is completely obsessed with them! I’ll share the interesting information in your post with him, I’m sure he’ll be happy to learn new things about his favourite creatures. Thanks for the info, Novroz! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Novroz says:

      I like them only when they are young and cute. The big ones are scary.

      If your nephew likes crocodile, he probably already knows this info ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • edlaine says:

      So i can see that im not alone with my hobbyiest, i think the best word is obsessed too, lol. tell him to check youtube, he will love about the crocs as pets.

  6. Nekoneko says:

    That could be a scary pet!! We don’t have alligators in my part of the US… too darn cold in the winters for them, but if we did I would never go near rivers!! ๐Ÿ™‚ (Pssst!! Don’t crocodiles eat lil’ turtles? Be careful Kroten!!)

    I don’t think I would like having a pet that grew so big that I would have to sent him away someday… that would be just too sad. You are lucky Kame & Kroten… you will always be just the perfect size for your Mommy to keep with her forever. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Kroten says:

      You’re lucky they dont live near you Aunt Miyuki, be thankful this reptile couldn’t stand cold weather ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I know they could eat us, that’s why I dont want to be near them, but I once saw a picture of crocodile and RES basking together, the RES was on the crocodile head. amazing view, in my opinion.

      yes size matter a lot! Mommy wants to give us new brother or sister from tortoise family but she doesnt want one that can grow so big, we dont have enough space. We will never be more than 30cm, so we will always be with mommy

  7. kelly says:

    The look in his eyes makes me believe he knows more than he’s letting on ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Binky says:

    Crocodiles are certainly very interesting animals, but I don’t think they should be kept as pets. They aren’t domesticated, and I’m not sure how much they could be trained. The real problem is that they’re just so big and powerful and they could pose a real problem.

    • Kroten says:

      But Binky, we turtles and tortoises aren’t domesticated animals too just like crocs…but we turn out to be great pets like cats and dogs. Maybe the right person can train crocs and turn them into nice pets. Although I have read about how small crocodile’s brain is and it is quite impossible to train croc…but sometime people did amazing thing with their unusual pet.

      However, all three of us agree that the size going to be a major problem of having them as pets

      • Binky says:

        That’s what I meant. Not being domesticated is mostly only a problem if the animal is big, and or able to kill you. Crocodiles, very large snakes, lions, bears, elephants: all not a good idea as pets. Mammals are very smart and can be trained, but wild animals are still wild, and if it’s dangerous enough to kill you I don’t think you should have it for a pet.

      • Novroz says:

        You got a point there Bink!
        I have no plan to keep them as pet…ever!! Unless if there is a midget crocodile, one that never gets bigger. I don”t even want to own BIG tortoise let along big crocodile.

      • edlaine says:

        the crocs r smatter than turtles, is what i know fom my research. the snakes is the stupid ones. I just know because i love those rep. and i always want to know about it, im just a hobbyist, not a expert.

      • Kroten says:

        Based on what I read and seen in discovery ( I forgot which)…Turtles are said to be the smartest reptile, smarter than crocs..but Snake is indeed the stupidest one. But I could be wrong ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Tony McGurk says:

    I wouldn’t go anywhere near a Croc. All those teeth would bite me in half with ease.

Thank you for commenting :)

