Not many people do this toward their turtles…but I always do this to both kame and kroten and somehow it creates a nice bond between us. As I have said in How To Train Your Turtle in point 8, I mentioned that I let them sleep next to my bed. I put them on a piece of old cloth and then cover them with another piece to keep them warm, like this picture below.

Usually, they will sleep nicely under the cloth till morning. If they wake up before me (usually on holiday), they will start making noises by walking around my bed… Trust me!! For animal that has no voice, they could be terribly noisy and annoying. If I wake up before them, they will start opening their eyes when I turn on the light. The best thing of having turtles sleep on the floor next to me rather than in their tank is how they like to follow me around my room. I love this morning activity so much.

But….having them following me around is not today’s topic!!

Last night, when I was typing for this blog about Kame and Kroten’s personality/behavior differences, I noticed something funny and decided to post it now instead of the differences .

My computer room is next to my bedroom, I have already put them to their ‘bed’ . I like to go back to my room just to check on them …and what I found last night was something that made me laugh.

I put Kroten next to kame…as always

My first visit to my room, see where Kroten was!!

She was already out of her blanket and enjoyed the warmness of Kame.

My second visit to room. Kroten had changed her position like this.

And…

The third time I visited my room, they look like this.

Shot from another angle

It seemed that both of them enjoyed the other company, kroten had shifted her position and Kame still asleep, When Kame shifted her position a bit, Kroten still fast asleep 😉

When i woke up this morning, Kroten was back on Kame’s side.

They’re getting closer each year 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

41 responses »

  1. Debbie Adams says:

    Kroten is so funny. I love they way Kroten slept on Kame like that….So adorable. They are getting a lot of bonding in.
    Deb xx

    • Novroz says:

      I don’t know what is it with Kroten, she really loves climbing on Kame’s back. Maybe because she knows she is smaller than Kame. Kame never protest anymore, she tends to let her climb now

  2. This is very interesting,sleepy turtles.
    You have such a unique blog.

  3. Bikram says:

    he he he he 🙂 the last three pictures made me smile 🙂

  4. Binky says:

    That is pretty funny, how they sleep under a blanket, and how Kroten sleeps on top of Kame.

    • Novroz says:

      Hehe turtles under a blanket might look crazy but they sure look funny, don’t they 😉
      They look more funny sleeping on the floor than on their basking area.

  5. kelly says:

    They are the cutest!!!

  6. didiwright says:

    Love the photos, Novroz, and the fact that you’re treating your girls as they’re proper pets, and not ‘just turtles’ forgotten in a tank. I think all turtle owners should be sent a link to your blog 🙂

    Sleeping under covers…Noise…Walking around your bed…There doesn’t seem to be much difference between your girls and George 😉

  7. Asop says:

    Astaga Mbak, saya gak nyangka kura2 bisa segitu akrabnya dengan manusia… 😳

  8. Caroline says:

    What a cute, cute post. This made my day.
    So sweet.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Caroline. You don’t know how happy I am that everyone here think they are cute. People around me rarely think they are cute and also think I am a little bit off in the head for treating them like I treat them.

  9. Jenn says:

    Oh my!! They look like they’re good at balancing!!

  10. Tony McGurk says:

    You guys look so cute. What a lovely little bed you have to sleep in. I didn’t know turtles have no voice. How do you ask for chocolate then???

    • Kame says:

      We are not allowed to eat chocolate uncle Tony 😦 that’s Winky’s department.
      When we want something,we give her our best begging eyes. She usually understand that we want something 😉

  11. danyelle :) says:

    i enjoy seeing pictures of your adorable turtles! it makes me smile so big. seeing the pictures of Kame and Kroten so snuggley was the highlight of my day its just so cute!!!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Dany 🙂
      they are the highlight of my life, it’s so good to wake up and see them still asleep next to my bed…and if I woke up late, they were already waiting for me to get up and give them a rub on the neck.

  12. Samuel says:

    I try to get my turtle to lay on a piece of blanket but he gets out of it and runs away i keep trying but it wont work.BTW my turtles name is Kronos.

    • Novroz says:

      for that trick, you have to be patient….and maybe it also depends on the turtle. Kroten loves climbing on anything, it was easy to teach him the trick.

      Kronos is a nice name, it’s like Greek Myth 🙂

      • Samuel says:

        Thanks my turtle loves to climb like Kroten. I have a big fluffy pillow so he will sit on it and watch TV with me. His name is from greek mythlolgy he was a warrior if you have read percy jackson #3 or 4 there job is to stop Kronos.

      • Novroz says:

        Sorry,I haven’t read the book yet 🙂
        Haha so Kronos is like Kroten 😉 I am going to write about how Kroten loves to climb,probably on January

  13. ashish says:

    hi, i have single res “scooter” 1and 1/2″ and whenever i keep her on bed she sleeps and for long , is this natural????

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Ashish
      What do you mean on bed? and for how long does he sleep?
      Kame and Kroten can sleep more than 8hours

      • ashish says:

        i mean on fabric and i cover scooter by cloth . but she doesn’t wake up untill i wake her up(atleast 15 hrs)…and also she only eats pellets and worms and not veggies …..
        how can i make her eat veggies?
        and thank you for reply

      • Novroz says:

        From what I have read, when turtle still has good appetite, that means the turtle is alright. Sleeping that long isn’t a big problem. She still eats properly, right?

        Ah…how old is your turtle? never eat veggie can result in pyramiding. You force her to eat veggie. My Kame didnt eat veggie too, I kept giving her nothing but veggie till she ate it. You have to be strong, d on’t let her begging eyes end up making you feed with pellet or other non-veggie food.

  14. ashish says:

    she is just 8 months old and she eats well….
    and on second part……. it’s hard but i will try to give her just veggies
    thanks a lot to you and your post “how to train your turtle” that really helped….tc

  15. niharika says:

    god bless kame and kroton

  16. Lol my turtle does this too. We just recently realised her always wanting to be under her blanket. Good to know other turtles do it.

  17. You can see her in my dp, under her blanket, she is still a baby.

    • Novroz says:

      Oh wow!!! You have a pink belly short neck turtle!!! Just like my little Papoe (third from the left on the header)

      I haven’t met anyone who owns the same species before ((hug))

Thank you for commenting :)

