In respond to Aunt Deb’s question:

You did? Both of you changed color?….Hmmm. We will have to see what the winter time brings to me for time. Is your mommy going to post new pictures of you with your new colors?

Aunt Deb xx

I asked Kame to let me write this Turtle Fact, you might not notice that this is Kame’s department…my department is Herptile Spotlight…but, for once I want to do this because Aunt Deb asked the question to me not to Kame 😉

We, red eared slider, look so green when we were baby. Everyone thinks that baby RES is the cutest, so green and so tiny. Almost all baby RES look as green as this picture below: (it is the picture of our long cousin named Ipin, she/he lived in Padang with Mommy’s cousin)

 

However, that green color will not stay forever. As we grow older, our color changes to a darker color. It can be dark green, dark brown or yellow in my case. But the color will change again once we shed our scute.

Now, I will show you our changes.

We go to Kame first because she had a dramatic color change:

This photo showed when she was still green. Please excuse the quality, mommy didn’t have a proper camera at that time

And this is her when she was around two years old

Last…check out her shell color after shedding😉

Mommy shot this one before she framed her old shell so that you can see the difference.

As for myself…I am a little bit different. I am a morph, an animal with unusual color but not albino.

Here is when I was still baby (of course not as baby as Kame). I have green yellowish color that almost looked like a sick turtle.

I grow to be a yellow turtle … looking so beautiful. Someone once asked mommy to sell me to him, of course she said I am not for sell🙂

But, now I am in the middle of shedding my scute (my shedding isn’t like Kame, I shed little by little) my color becomes a bit darker…it’s sort of dark yellow almost brown. Mommy keeps wondering when I will finish my shedding because she is curious with my next new color.

That’s all for my first turtle fact🙂 … don’t be disappointed when your RES is not as pretty green as it was when it was still a baby

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

48 responses »

  1. Debbie Adams says:

    You are both have grown up into some beautiful colors. I like the colors changes you go through…:-)
    Love you both,
    Aunt Deb xx

    • Kroten says:

      Thank you Aunt Ded, you have inspired this post🙂

      a lot of people like us to stay green. Well, some of us in the wild stay green because of most lol

  2. Fitri says:

    Kroten,with that awesome yellow shell,there is a chance for you to be the icon for one of politic party in our country😛

  3. catchatcaren says:

    I loved this post and I think I figured out why the shells change color.

    When turtles lay eggs do the mothers lay them in the grass? If so, the shell would be camouflage so that predators couldn’t eat the babies.

    As turtles grow, don’t they spend more time in dirt, sand, etc? That would explain their shells turning brown.

    Am I right or completely wrong?

    • Kroten says:

      That’s an interesting idea Aunt Caren. I honestly have no ide why our shells change. Your second theory might be right but the first one is wrong.

      our biologycal mother laid eggs inside moist land or sand…kinda like the way crocodiles lay their egg. She dug the ground first and then hid the eggs. It would be difficult to dig and close the hole again if the it had too may grass

  4. Fitri says:

    And for kame,everytime i see your shell i feel that i see a turtle wear batik cloth..so charming of you

  5. Binky says:

    That was interesting to see all the color changes you two have gone through. I think you look very nice no matter what the color. The patterns and colors on your shell and skin are quite beautiful.

  6. TBM says:

    Very cool colors! Thanks for the info

  7. Deboshree says:

    Aha! Magic shell. You guys lead very colourful lives.😉

  8. What a great post. Kroten. I had no idea that you guys shed your shell. How very cool you are! I love the change in colors. I’ve noticed my puppies change color too, which is so fun. And I know my hair color changed a few times as I got older, so you can tell we’re all related! Smooches to you and Kame, Kroten! Say hi to your mommy for me.🙂

  9. Tony McGurk says:

    Really nice colours in all the photos. I can change colours too. I go blue when I’m cold, green when I feel sick, red when I get sunburn & my hair is getting more grey every week

  10. Donna says:

    Kroten, you are really …. beautiful. I’d buy you if your mommy sold you to me… Heheh (just kidding)
    And how many times you guys shedding? It has been six years since we met our mommy, But we never shedding. We’re even surprised to know that we can shed after we read this article.

  11. […] We shed our scutes, and change our shell colours, not only after shedding but also when we grow up. (scutes are abit like the scales of a turtle’s shell. More about changing colour here. […]

  12. natalie says:

    Thank
    But can the turtles shell change color to red?

  13. Chad nillen says:

    My turtles name is doodle!!!!!!!!😃💚💘💕🎀🐢

  14. TBH says:

    How old then my res will start shedding. It is already 2 and it did not shed yet

  15. pamea says:

    Reblogged this on Pamea's Blog and commented:
    Color my world.

  16. sm says:

    My red ear slider turtle’s shell is greenish for most parts of the shell but recently the sides of it’s shell turn redish/copperish, is this normal or is my turtle sick?

    By the way it’s male ( i guess since it has long claws, never seen it’s *cough* penis though). No idea how old it is but my guess it’s with my family for more than 3-5 years???
    Surprisingly it’s smaller than yours i wonder why?

  17. Lorilyn says:

    Hi, I have a baby res ear slider. Before leaving her for 1 night, her shell is clean and green. But when I got back and saw her when I arrived, there are these little dirts on her shell. Is that normal?

  18. Adam says:

    What kind of turtle is that?

  19. Eric says:

    If the turtle is greenish yellowish it is sick?
    My baby res turtle’s she’ll is green and yellow.

    • Novroz says:

      I don’t think so. The shell’s color doesn’t determine sickness…if the shell is soft and smelly, it might be rotten and that’s a problem

  20. Alberto says:

    I have had my turtle for two years and feed it baby turtle pellets and now refuses to eat ice burg lettuce what is the healthyest fodd for a turtle

  21. kristiani92 says:

    Kak Novroz, aku punya kura2 brazil masih baby ukuran sekitar 4cm..
    Nah barusan aku lihat di kulitnya kayak ada bulu2 halus , yg di bagian muka bulu halusnya warna putih.. sedangkan di kaki,tangan,dan ekornya bulu halusnya warna kecoklatan..
    Itu shedding atau kena jamur ya kak?
    Tapi kura2ku makannya masih lahap banget.. dikasih nyamuk dan pelet habis smua dimakan..
    Terus tiap pagi selalu dijemur dan air di kolamnya aku ganti tiap hari..
    Gimana cara bedain shedding dan jamuran ya kak? Tolong banget dijawab ya kak, aku kuatir banget sm kuraku😦

  22. Erin says:

    Baby Hatchlings need to be fed daily, but how many times per day?

  23. dani says:

    I like the yellow turtle hes so pretty.

  24. Natalie says:

    Hi, I was wondering is it okay for a one and a half year old red-eared slider to have a greenish-yellowish colored shell? I know as they get older, they should be darker, but this is not the case for my turtle. Is there anything wrong?

    • Novroz says:

      If he is eating well and nothing’s wrong with him…I think he is fine.

      My Papoe is also getting paler by the age whereas her species usually getting darker

Thank you for commenting :)

