Yeaaa…it’s another edition of Herptile Spotlight. I like writing this series because I got to learn something before sharing it 🙂

In the past 2 Herptile Spotlight, I have shared about our not so cute cousins, they are Komodo and Crocodile. Now,it’s time to share about the cutest reptile  in the world…that is, of course, TURTLES!!! 😉

Let me introduce you to the turtle Mommy wished to have once she has a bigger house. The Beautiful Diamondback Turtle

Photo belongs to Diamondbacks4Life

Isn’t she (assuming it’s a she)beautiful?

I half hope mommy never has bigger house because I am afraid she will love this turtle species more than our species.

The name come from the pattern on top of their shell (carapace), but the overall pattern and coloration vary greatly. The shell is usually wider at the back than in the front and from above its appears wedge shaped.

Photo belongs to Diamondbacks4Life

Its shell coloring can vary from browns to greys, and its body color can be grey, brown, yellow, or  white. All have a unique pattern of wiggly, black markings or spots on their body and head. The diamondback terrapin have large webbed feet. The males grow to approximately 5 inches (130 mm), while the females grow to an average of around 7.5 inches (190 mm), though they are capable of growing larger. The largest female on record was just over 9 inches (230 mm) in length. Specimens from regions that are consistently warmer in temperature tend to be larger than those from cooler, more northern areas.

This turtles can be found in the very narrow strip of coastal habitats on the Atlantic and Gulf coasts of the United States, from as far north as Cape Cod, Massachusetts to the southern tip of Florida and around the Gulf Coast to Texas.(fromwikipedia)

Our friend from Redearslider.com, Diamondbacks4Life, not only kind enough to let us use pictures of his turtles but he is also generous to share a bit information about our beautiful cousin.

Not much to say, really they are exactly like RES personality wise. Care is almost the same too.

Photo belongs to Diamondbacks4Life

Differences:
Diamondbacks are strickly carnivorous, in captivity they can eatsame plant/fruit as RES but its rare you will see them take to eating plants.

When housed in fresh water diamond are more prone to skin infections compared to when they are housed in brackish water.

Never get a wild diamondback. In captivity they almost never take to eating commercial turtle food and usually stressed the rest of their lives. Usually when a wild is then forced into living in fresh water they develop skin infections very quickly. Avoid a wild diamondback at all costs.

Scute shedding: Compared to res diamondback shed their scutes much slower. Females will shed about once to twice a year while a male will shed once every 3 years.

Sexing; Only tail can be used. Males longer, thicker tails. Females short. Males do not get long front claws like res.

Breeding: Res usually lay eggs at about 5-6inches, female diamondbacks will not lay eggs till they’re almost 7inches.

Thank you so much for sharing that bits about Diamondback Turtle. We learn more about our cousin now.

I enjoy learning about Diamondback Turtle, I hope you also have the same joy as me 🙂

Here are another cute photo of Diamondbacks4Lifes DBT. Thank you so much for allowing me to use this :hug:

And here are some cute baby photos belongs to Jaysea, thank you so much for allowing me to share it here :hug:

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

21 responses »

  1. I love this post, Kame! Thanks so much for introducing me to the Diamond Back. They are so cool looking (so are you and Kroten!). I love the baby one with the squiggles that look like they were drawn on. Kind of like and abstract painting. And of course, I love that! And then the photo with the large Diamondback swimming and then the other two on her/his back. 🙂 What a fun post. And great information and photos! Have a great weekend, Kame! Say hello to Kroten and your mommy for me. 🙂

    • Kroten says:

      I am the one who wrote this Aunt Katie 🙂
      I have just realized that,our new theme has no avatar to explain who is doing the writing 😦 (thinking of using the previous theme again)

      An abstract painting really suit them. The have nice pattern. The black polka-dot pattern is so different to our stripes pattern. Glad you like it Aunt Katie.

      • Sorry, Kroten! At first I thought it was you, but then for some reason, I assumed it was Kame. So sorry, Kroten. You know I adore you. 🙂 And you write so well.

        Ah, yes, an abstract painting would be so cool, eh? I’d love to come and take photos of you, Kroten. You are stunning girl. 🙂 And I could take abstract photos of your cool shell. Take care, Sweetie! Hope you’re staying warm. It’s really cold here.

      • Kroten says:

        It’s okay Aunt Katie 🙂 3authors in a blog is a bit confusing sometimes.

        aww…you’re making me blush. Make sure you visit us if you ever come to Indonesia and I will gladly pose for you 🙂

  2. Debbie says:

    Kroten, You mommy will never love another turtle more than you. She loves her children equally.
    Aunt Deb xx

  3. Binky says:

    The Diamondbacks are very nice looking turtles, but so are RESs, so I don’t think you have anything to worry about. The black markings on the Diamondback look almost as if a kid did it with a marker.

    • Novroz says:

      Kroten worries too much Binky. They would never be replaced by other turtles.They are always number one in my heart.

      hahaha…you’re right! it does look like a marker 😉

  4. Fitri says:

    Diamond back really excotic,but not narcist as you kroten,so youre still the winner..go kroten go

  5. Tony McGurk says:

    Diamond back turtles have such beautiful colours & markings. I really like the baby ones that are so cute. The 2nd last photo is just so gorgeous!!!

  6. I LOVE the Diamondback turtle! the shell and the head have the most interesting patterns that I have ever seen. It almost looks as if the pattern was painted on there! Beautiful!

  7. Kas says:

    Wow — beautiful!! Those markings are just striking.

  8. Jenn says:

    Holy, she’s a beauty for sure! I never knew turtles could look like that! almost as if someone took a paintbrush and painted her

  9. jgreerberube says:

    This is quite an old post, but it is amazing how beautiful these herps are… 🙂 I am definetely going to look into getting one once I got my herps settled in my home. 😀
    Omg…I still can’t believe how amazing they are…The white ones look amazing………. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  10. […] Here’s from A Diamondback Turtle (taken from our old post Herptile Spotlight #5: Diamondback Turtle) […]

Thank you for commenting :)

