What do a turtle two turtles do when PLN (the name of company that supplies electricity) decided to turn off the electricity?

One thing for sure…we couldn’t have both our filter and lamp turn on 😦

Mommy usually takes us out of our tank and let us wonders in her room…though we end up sleeping or doing nothing….it is always dark, well dim, there is nothing much to do.

Mommy hates electrical shortage because she can’t watch movie, online or read a book…we don’t like it either because she won’t let us out of her room. We might get lost.

There is only one thing left to do, watch the candle light 😉

The candle is on our right side

And now we are looking at the candle, admiring the beauty of the flame

Me looking at the candle thinking ‘can I eat this?

Kame is trying to keep her eyes open but failing

I am still wide awake…enjoying the candle’s warmth

Mommy tries to wake Kame up by putting Kame on her foot….but she keeps on sleeping. Mommy edits the photo a bit and I think it looks much better.

The conclusion is, during electrical shortage we turtles are either sleeping or looking at the candle 😉

What do you do during electrical shortage my furry and human friends?

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

22 responses »

  1. Catcalls says:

    We don’t usually have shortages, but we have outages due to wind or snow storms. Then I cover my guinea pigs’ cages with a towel and put them all upstairs in the warmest room. I use candles, too. Sometimes I paint or read a little, but if it is 8 or 9 pm and no sign of recovering electricity, I go to sleep, too!

    • Kroten says:

      aaah…I think I have used the wrong translation 😉 I think outage is more proper to this situation…well, basically there is no electricity 😉

      I didn’t know Guinea pig has to stay warm. Poor little guy must be feeling awful during outage. Candle isn’t warm enough.

  2. Deb says:

    Same here…Outages. The only time I experienced a power outage since I’ve had Cici (my pup) was when we were in Cape Hatteras during and after Hurricane Irene. My landlord there had a generator to keep his house cool…I brought Cici over there to stay during the day when it was very hot.
    Kame and Kroten look very nice in candle light.
    Hugs, Deb xx

    • Kroten says:

      We rarely used generator here…only buildings and very rich people use generator, common people wait till PLN is ready to share the electricity again…that’s why outage/shortage is very boring.

      Poor Cici, fortunately blackout is a rare thing. Cici can always cool down by swimming 😉

      auw…thank you Aunt Deb. But mommy has to keep an eye on us, afraid we make the candle fall down.

  3. catchatcaren says:

    we don’t usually have electrical shortages either….we have power knocked out sometimes due to storms. I actually think your photos are rather romantic 🙂

    • Kroten says:

      Same here! when the rain is followed with thunder and wind, PLN will shut the electricity down.

      If I was with a boy-turtle, that would be really romantic….but I was with my sister…it made the candle less romantic 😉

  4. Binky says:

    There was a major North American blackout on the east coast a few years ago, and it was terrible for the 12 hours or so we didn’t have power. It’s hard to do anything without electricity! We have become so dependent on it, that if we ever lost power for a long time we would probably all go mad!

    • Novroz says:

      You are so 100% right Binky!!! We are too dependant with electricity. I had a 2 days blackout once…and I couldn’t go to work because there’s no water and how boring those two days were. I almost died of boredom.

      By the way, we still use soil water here. We need electricity to generate the pump…long blackout can cause lack of water here and that causes major problem

  5. Samuel says:

    I hope i dont have a black out. Its the middle of winter for me and Kronos we both would go mad.

  6. Nekoneko says:

    We lose electricity sometime too in the winter when it snows really hard so I understand how you feel. Then it gets really cold in my little apartment. That’s when it’s nice that I have both Ting-ting my kitty and Carolyn to snuggle with and stay warm and cozy while we read a book or something.

    Even so… it’s nice that such outages rarely last long for us. A couple of hours at the most.

    • Kame says:

      You are lucky to have a cat and human girlfriend Aunt Miyuki…our mommy has us,2 little cold blooded animals, hahaha we could never warm her,lucky Indonesia is not a cold country 😉

  7. Hey Guys,

    Sorry to hear about your problems with the electricity, though I agree I was thinking it looked pretty romantic – until you reminded us you were there with your sister! 🙂

    I’ve been lucky that I’ve never experienced an outage yet (I’m not quite 2 yet), but if we had one I’d probably snuggle next to Mum so I wasn’t scared and I could keep her warm with all my fur! 🙂

    I hope you get your power back soon,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Kroten says:

      Hmmm maybe we can call it as romantic sisters 😉

      Wow, you are already two but you never experience any electricity outage, that is envious. There is always an outage at least every two months, become more often when there is thunderous rain. You’re a lucky dog Snoopy.

  8. Tony McGurk says:

    We had a power outage from 1pm till 8pm a few weeks ago so we missed Heartbeat our favourite TV show. No computer aaarrrggghhhh!!! We had to go out for dinner because we couldn’t cook anything on the stove but we had an awesome meal at a Chinese restaurant that was outside of the power outage area. I’m glad yo enjoyed the candle so much. Was the power out for very long? We don’t realise how much we rely on electricity until it goes out.

    • Novroz says:

      1 to 8 is really long…boredom lasted for 7 hours…I know how not fun that is. No computer and no TV (tho I watch more DVD than TVshow lately) are sooooo boring. At least at daylight we can still read.
      Playing with candle is one of few alternatives to get rid of the boredom.
      The power is usually out at different period of time, sometimes very fast like only 30 minutes, sometimes few hours…and at special occasion, I have experienced a 2 days blackout 😦

  9. fitri says:

    blackout is not fun at all..i usually reduce water from my fish tank so they all still able to breath..kroten, i think you should call kame sleeping beauty

  10. Jenn says:

    Oh dear, I hope you had a nice candle lit dinner though =). Always good to take advantage of the situation!

    • Kame says:

      Unfortunately,we couldn’t have a candle light dinner aunt Jenn…we turtles have to eat in the water but candle can’t lit up in the water 😉

  11. Love the turtle! Candle light dinner is always a good idea if you have no electricity. But I need my computers on so I bought diesel generators in case this happens 🙂

  12. Amanda says:

    When theres a shortage just chit chat with my mom or my bro

Thank you for commenting :)

