Hello, my name is Papoe…this is my first post here ๐Ÿ™‚

I am taking over the Herptile Spotlight section from now on!! … eh? Whatโ€™s that sis? …ow, Kroten said she will never give this section to me, she said I am still lack of experience ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Well, anyway I am here to share about my own species ๐Ÿ™‚

My species is called Pink Belly Short Neck Turtle but some people also called me as Pink belly Side Neck Turtle because I donโ€™t put my head inside my shell, I only bend it side-way. My scientific name is Emydura Schultzei (or Elseya Schultzei), NOT to be mistaken with my cousin Euchelymys Subglobosa or Red Belly Short Neck Turtle. My cousin is more famous than me.

Based on Zipcodezoo.com, hereโ€™s my scientific tree:

Domain: Eukaryota
Kingdom: Animalia
Subkingdom: Bilateria
Branch: Deuterostomia
Infrakingdom: Chordonia
Phylum: Chordata
Subphylum: Vertebrata
Infraphylum: Gnathostomata
Superclass: Tetrapoda
Class: Reptilia
Subclass: Anapsida
Order: Testudines
Suborder: Pleurodira
Family: Chelidae
Subfamily: Chelinae
Genus: Emydura
Specific name: Schultzei

I am native to the tropical regions of Papua New Guinea and Australia, hence the name Papoe ๐Ÿ™‚

Ebooksread.com has a very good description of my species but it was written in a very difficult language and I am just a baby, I couldnโ€™t understand what it was saying (You can read the article> here), in short, my species has pink to red belly when baby but turns a paler shade of yellowish orange when becoming adult. My plastron has no pattern like my two RES sisters, my carapace also has way less pattern compared to them. I admit that my species doesnโ€™t have attractive pattern like RES…but that doesnโ€™t mean I am not cute ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here are a shot of an adult Elseya Schultzei (I think he is already dead). Please click on the photo to see larger image, those photos aren’t taken by Mommy.

I can reach the size of 25 cm to 30 cm when I grow up.

When Mommy bought me from a very good pet-shop, the owner is very kind and keeps us in a big aquarium with plenty of water to move around, she never realized how expensive I am. She did buy me more expensive than RES but not as expensive as the price in Turtle Sale. Comย 

After all those scientific thingy, the most important thing is my food ๐Ÿ™‚
Unfortunately I can only find recommendation for my cousin, The Red Belly one, but I believe it is still applicable for me.

Based on California Turtle and Tortoise Club:

Emydura subglobosa will eat almost anything: worms, lean beef, chicken livers/hearts, fish, Trout Chow, as well as the occasional piece of banana (banana will foul the water rather quickly), various greens such as Romaine lettuce, escarole, and slivers of zucchini squash. A calcium block, which you can make from plaster of Paris mixed with water and dried, should be in their water at all times.

Based on Austin Turtle’s Page:

In captivity, they do well on Mazuri and ReptoMin, Reptile/Pond 10, Cichlid Sticks, feeder fish, crickets, assorted insects and ghost shrimp.

Right now, Mommy is giving me blood-worm once a day (as breakfast) and pellets or veggie (also once a day as lunch). Mommy wants me not to dependent too much on worm but she also doesnโ€™t want me to stop eating because of a sudden change of food. When a baby stops eating, it was time for turtle parents to start worrying and she doesnโ€™t want that to happen.

Based on Velles – Russian Quarantine Center, here are my cousins: (all the photos belong to them)

Emydura albertisi

Emydura subglobosa

Elseya novaeguineae

I also found this cute photo of my species…isnโ€™t she cute? I am sure I will be that cute too ๐Ÿ˜‰

Photo belongs to Crystal Palace Reptiles

Last but not least….my photo ๐Ÿ™‚
I was admiring my own reflection ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Papoe

Hi...I am named Papoe (read: pa-poo) because my origin is from Papua New guinea :) I am a Pink belly short Necked Turtle. Mommy adopted me on March 11, 2012. I am struggling with my body size...maybe I am a midget

39 responses »

  1. raisingdaisy says:

    I love learning about your species, Papoe! You and your relatives are very cute and I just know you’re going to grow up big and strong with all the loving care your mommy is giving you. And all your blog friends will enjoy watching you grow and experience your new world! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Papoe says:

      Thank you Daisy ๐Ÿ™‚ Mommy said she is still learning at her best to try to figure out more about me because I am not exactly the same as my two sisters.

      It’s fun to show my baby steps in this blog, I hope no one gets bored with me ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh, Papoe, so nice to meet you! You have no idea how lucky you are to become part of your family (and I’m so glad you had good care at the pet shop!).

    You’ll have the best care and the best life that any turtle could ask for. And you have some big shoes to fill. Your mommy’s heart is still hurting after losing her beloved Kame (rest in peace, my beloved friend). No pressure though, dear, Papoe, you just have to be yourself, and that will help the heal your mommy’s heart.

    Smooches, Papoe! Oh, and you are just so cute!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Papoe says:

      Hi Aunt Katie. yeah I was more fortunate than my sister, Kroten, I was taken care nicely by the oldman who owned the shop.

      Ah yes, mommy is still missing the one sister I never met, she was after all the one who changed mommy’s perspective on turtles. I wish I met her.

      I am still a bit shy and often runs away from her touch, but I know I will change little by little ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thank you Aunt Katie *blush*

      • Ah, Papoe, it is so very nice to meet you, you gorgeous little cutie turtle. ๐Ÿ™‚

        I’m sure being new is being a bit shy. I was like that as a kid too, but it will change, I’m sure.

        Please say hi to your sister, Kroten for me, and ask her to be a very good big sister to you. You have a lot to learn and so much to do too in your life!

        Here’s to hearing much more from you, Papoe, I know I’ll feel the same about you (I already do!) as I did about Kame and and I do about Kroten. I love you little turtles! All my best, Sweetie!

  3. timchildress1 says:

    Nice to meet you!! I learned alot about yout his morning!! I will have to check back for more information!!

  4. TBM says:

    You are such a cutie! I hope you enjoy your new home…and share your food with Kroten.

  5. catchatcaren says:

    Papoe you are such an adorable little turtle! I am glad that I got to meet you while you are still a baby!

    I love the pink tinge that you showed in the photo.

    I didn’t know that turtles can eat bananas!!! lol

    Be sure to eat! I don’t want you to make your Mommy worry about you!
    Looking forward to watching you grow up to be big and strong!
    xoxoxo

    • Papoe says:

      Aw…thank you Dakota and Aunt Caren *blush* that is so sweet of you.

      Hehe I am looking forward to taste a banana one day, mommy said that Kame liked it a lot, as for Kroten she eats everything!! I hope I will be like Kroten…eat everything ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Yosh…I try to grow strong so that I can keep seeing you guys and the world.

  6. Nekoneko says:

    There is so much to know about you Papoe!

    It is a good thing your mommy has spent so much time learning how to treat you well. I never realized that caring for turtles could be so hard. Grow big and strong for your mommy and show her and sister Kroten what an amazing turtle you are!!

    • Papoe says:

      I will Aunt Miyuki ๐Ÿ™‚

      We, turtles, when baby is really fragile. I am glad mommy tries everything to keep me healthy and that includes less handling. She is afraid I might get strees because of too much touch. I am eating well everyday and that keeps her out of worry for a while ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Binky says:

    That’s interesting how you can’t pull your head or limbs into your shell like most other turtles. There are a lot of scientific names there in your family tree for such a little turtle!

    • Papoe says:

      It’s interesting but also dangerous, I wonder how my relatives protect themselves from being eaten by the predators!! I am glad I dont have to worry about predators ๐Ÿ™‚

      Hehe try finding scientific names from the wombies ๐Ÿ˜‰ Kame and Kroten also have that same long list, we start to differ at our Genus.

      • Binky says:

        Perhaps where they live in the wild, they aren’t as threatened by predators as most other turtles? It is rather curious as to why they can’t pull in their head & limbs like most other turtles.

        As to our Wombie lineage, it is as follows:

        KINGDOM: Animalia
        PHYLUM: Chordata
        SUBPHYLUM: Gnathostomata
        CLASS: Mammalia
        SUBCLASS: Marsupialia
        ORDER: Diprotodontia
        FAMILY: Vombatidae.

        And then it diverges:
        Binky (Vombatus Francus Rocketus)
        Winky (Vombatus Francus Voracious)
        Twink (Vombatus Francus Artisticus)
        Fraz (Vombatus Francus Energeticus)

        The “Francus” is because we’re named after the legendary Dr. Franco, the semi-mad scientist who made us Wombies.

      • Papoe says:

        I can’t answer it correctly because I am still a baby…maybe because there’s not enough room inside our limb to put legs and head ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Whoa!!! cool species names!! i wish I had that cool name too.
        By the way, I made mistake…Kroten and I differ in Family…I think that’s quite far, I though only the genus is different.

        I think Kroten has a subspecies name similar with Winky, voracious ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Donna says:

    Wow 89$$. Mommy got lucky to got you cheaper.
    Need no worry. You still cute even though you not as popular as your cousin ;D

    • Papoe says:

      Indeed!! She was really lucky to get me below $15. Maybe because that site is in US so the price becomes very expensive!
      I am not worry Aunty Donna…I feel special, I am a rarity ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Jenn says:

    Welcome Papoe! You’re one cute little turtle, I can’t wait to see you grow

  10. Caroline says:

    Looking at himself. ๐Ÿ™‚ Cute.

  11. Kas says:

    So nice to meet you, Papoe! You are a beautiful creature ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Deb says:

    You are a most beautiful turtle and I am so happy you have a home her with your mommy and Kroten!
    Hugs, Aunt Deb xx

    • Papoe says:

      Thank you Aunt Deb ((hug)) It’s nice to be here and I hope I can be less shy day by day so that I can play with Kroten and Mommy more

      • Deb says:

        You’ll get there little Papoe…it just takes time to grow up to be stronger. You just work at growing up to be strong and healthy for your Aunt Deb
        Hugs, xx

      • Papoe says:

        I will Aunty Deb ๐Ÿ™‚
        For now, I’ll make mommy happy just by eating everything and becomes stronger

  13. Tony McGurk says:

    Great 1st post Papoe. Despite your inexperience at blogging you did a good job. Interesting to learn about your species.

  14. Deboshree says:

    Oh you’ll surely be as cute or even cuter! You are already such a darling. A very good first post and with time, I am sure you will learn a lot from your big sis and Mommy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Papoe says:

      Thank you Aunty Debo…I sure hope I can be as cute as my older sisters…I have hard competition but I am confident I can be as cute as they are ๐Ÿ™‚
      I had a lot of help from Mommy, this is a very difficult post for me.

  15. […] found new lovely turtlesโ€ฆI adopted my little Papoe as a way to get over the grief of losing Kame. And then months later, I feel in love with a cute […]

  16. […] different species, Kurome is a Chinese Three-keeled Pond Turtle (or Reeves Turtle) while Papoe is a Pink Belly Short Necked Turtle (or Emydura Schultzei)…That fact leads to so many differences in their physical […]

  17. […] (If your mom has any information/links to share about the type of turtle you are that would be wonderful, if not I can look it up and add to the article) I am a Pink Belly Short/Side Necked Turtle or Emydura Schultzei. I have shared about my species here>ย https://kamekroten.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/herptile-spotlight-6-pink-belly-shortside-neck-turtle/ […]

  18. […] (If your mom has any information/links to share about the type of turtle you are that would be wonderful, if not I can look it up and add to the article) I am a Pink Belly Short/Side Necked Turtle or Emydura Schultzei. I have shared about my species here>ย https://kamekroten.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/herptile-spotlight-6-pink-belly-shortside-neck-turtle/ […]

  19. Alexis says:

    Woah! I think Tuesday is just a pale red belly :P. Backwaterreptiles.com said that she was an adult pink belly. Oh well… SHE IS STILL ADORABLE! Or he ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you for commenting :)

