It’s the end of March, which means that Papoe has been living with me and Kroten   for almost 3 weeks now. When Papoe first came, I only put her in small container because his new house hadn’t been prepared yet….and I am not sure how great he is in swimming. After seeing him swimming eagerly in Kroten’s tank (of course without Kroten swimming along, she might think that Papoe is her new food…Papoe is still really small), I decided to set him a new ‘swimming room’ for himself.

Kame’s tank is now used by Kroten because that tank has clearer plastic and I love seeing my turtles swimming here and there in the tank. I give Kroten’s old tank o Papoe.

See the picture on the right>>>
I only filled 1/5 part of the tank because, once again, Papoe is still very small. I rearranged Kroten’s old basking area into something shorter (see the original basking area>> here, Kroten’s old basking area was on the right) so that Papoe can easily climbs it.

I also adjusted Kroten’s old water filter to be the right height for Papoe’s water level. I only used half size of it and cover the bottom with hand-made lid.

Papoe turns out to be a great swimmer, just like most water turtle….but, Papoe’s small body is often carried away by the current created by the filter. It is so fun to see him swim so hard to reach the area with less current.

A week ago, Papoe was still very shy and only took a rest by hanging on the filter. (see the photo below)

Papoe and the Water Filter

He is still shy up to today. He still stays in water and never climbs onto his basking area. I had to lift him up and put him on the basking area by myself.

He is  really cute when posing on the basking area.

"Why am I here?"

Look at how adorably cute he is!!! And he also has cute piggy nose 😉

However…recently (about two days ago), papoe showed some improvement with his shyness. He had moved from the filter to the ramp or stair to the basking area 🙂

"I bet you can't see me" 😉

He has been doing this kind of resting for the past week. The ramp is not too steep, it would be very easy for him to climb.

I hope he will start climbing that blue stair and bask on his area.

To keep his shell dry, I often dry him in a small towel and then set him free to roam around the room…of course with my eyes eying like hawk. He can easily lost in all the furniture. Can’t wait to see Papoe becomes a bit bigger and less worrying 😉

Hope you enjoy your room Papoe 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

39 responses »

  1. catchatcaren says:

    you put so much love into the care of your turtles. I am sure that Papoe is going to grow out of his shyness. Can’t wait til he climbs up and uses the basking area on his own!

    • Novroz says:

      I hope so too Caren 🙂
      I can notice that he becomes less shy day by day…I can’t handle him too much yet because I don’t want to stress him up and this condition makes the bonding a bit difficult. I will do more handling once he at least becomes 3 month old.

  2. Nekoneko says:

    He is soooo tiny… like a little mouse!

    I can truly believe he would be easy to lose track of as he scurries about the room, I can see why you keep a close eye on him. Is that funny purple colored light to keep him warm….. (or is that just how it looks to the camera… 😉 )?

    • Novroz says:

      He is much smaller than a mouse 😉
      Only 3 cm, probably less than 2 inches.

      Tat purple light is UV lamp, I use it when I have no time to put him under the sun. Sun has better UV but in UV lamp is better than nothing….plus it gives good color for the photo 😉

  3. Binky says:

    I wonder why Papoe doesn’t like climbing the ramp? Maybe he’s intimidated by it? Maybe the scent of the other turtles?

    Could you maybe try a smaller floating platform? Something like a little raft that he could climb onto so he could get out of the water when he wanted to?

    • Novroz says:

      I have no idea why, maybe he is still not good with climbing…yet.
      I will see what happen in one week, if he still hasn’t tried to climb by that time…I will have to rethink what the shape of the basking area for him. Maybe a raft is a good thing. It is time for observation…although I hope he already climbs the ramp by then

  4. Deb says:

    You can do it, Papoe…don’t be afraid, my little sweetie. Mommy would only make some very safe for you. You can do it!
    Love and Hugs, Aunt Deb xx

    • Papoe says:

      I will do it one day Aunty Deb 🙂
      Thank you for cheering up for me. At least today I made her happy by eating the whole slice of carrot she left in my tank *proud smile*

  5. Cici says:

    Don’t be afraid Papoe. You maybe little, but it’s okay to be brave….like me!

  6. Cassie says:

    I’m rooting for you, Papoe. I know what it is like to be afraid, but now I have a really nice mommy and daddy that won’t let nothing bad happen to me. And neither would your mommy. It’s safe Papoe….climb baby!

    • Papoe says:

      That is one great encouraging advice Cassie…thank you 🙂
      I promise I will climb that ramp soon…I will do it little by little. As I grow older I will be stronger

  7. Dink says:

    Papoe, there might be some chocolate up there. If you climb up to see just for me, then maybe mommy will give you a worm when she says it’s okay.

  8. Tink says:

    Don’t mind Dink, he has chocolate on his mind 24/7. You can do it, Papoe. I know you can. Mommy will keep you safe even when she is not looking.

  9. hi thiss is my new page because the the other i had altercation and problems and good news i got two new turtle yesterday and now i have 3 turtle ivory the frist on i had (then ice and indigo i love them ) bhut i wonder how do you add an account to your authors and one more question how do you make your baskin area’s ! ! !!!!

    • Novroz says:

      I have added your link on my widget as turtle friends 🙂

      You need to create new email for each turtle, then create wordpress account for them without creating blogs for them, and then from your main blog you invite them as your authors.

  10. And thiss is asmar the boy

  11. Donna says:

    Aww.. I really want to touch his nose.
    He’ll be okay as the time goes by. Maybe he climbs everytime you didn’t see him. Or maybe he need smaller tank.

    • Novroz says:

      Cute nose, heh! 😉
      I don’t think smaller tank is required…he loves to swim and turtles need lots of water to swim. He probably hasn’t got used with climbing yet.

  12. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Papoes new home looks great!! You are so knowledgable – we wouldn’t have a clue where to start 🙂

    I hope you’re all having a fun weekend,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Snoopy 🙂
      I keep learning from my mistakes…so I hope Papoe will always have the best in his life because he has 2 sisters before him, his sisters taught me how to handle turtles.

      Hope you have good week too Snoopy 🙂

  13. TBM says:

    Oh he is so adorable…and I love that he is starting to be less shy.

  14. raisingdaisy says:

    I just love turtles, and Papoe is REALLY cute! You take such good care of them, they’re so lucky to be in such a loving home.

  15. Tony McGurk says:

    You sure are a cutsie pie Papoe. Hope you get used to your basking area so you can get out of the water to relax.

  16. I’d love to see a video of Papoe swimming!!!!

  17. Deboshree says:

    Be good dear Papoe. See how carefully Novroz has prepared your room and basking area… now you be a nice little turtle and live life king size. 🙂

  18. Elsandra says:

    Hi sister!
    Can I ask you something? About turtles of course, its still in this topic :D..

    I’m planning on having turtles (RES or chinemys I hope) and it turns out that I’m still confused in lots of things even though I’ve search some information from the internet…

    First I wanna ask what kind of filters do you use? And what kind of lamps do you use? I don’t know, I just need some guidance about keeping turtles… And also the brand of your turtle pellets please 😀 .. Thanks it’ll help me a lot to learn from someone who’s already is an expert in turtles world.. If you don’t mind please send the answer to my email .. Its chiqihogo at yahoo dot com.. Thanks a lot!! And by the way I’m also indonesian 😀 … I will wait for your answers! 😀

    • Novroz says:

      To be quite Honest, it’s better to ask around here than through email because I rarely check my mail 😉
      You can ask anything you want about turtles here> https://kamekroten.wordpress.com/q-a/ and if know the answer I will tell you 🙂

      I don’t know the name of the filter…it’s round with the machine on top. I only use lamp for fish and put them under the sun every time I am not working so that they can have the healthy sunlight. I use many brands but mostly they eat vegetables.

  19. turtrox says:

    Where did you buy the blue mat thing from?

Thank you for commenting :)

