I am almost 4 month old now but my size still doesn’t change much. I am now reaching 4 cm but still TOO small to have freedom.

You know that Mommy lets all her turtles to roam around the house whenever she is at home. She always thinks of it as time for us to stretch our legs. She does her usual activities without minding us…well us here means Kame and Kroten. She tells me that Kame rarely disappeared because she was always at mommy’s eyes range. Kroten is still prefer to be around mommy wherever she goes.

Now…how about me? I still want to see the whole world house, I want to explore every corner of the house!

But, being a baby is sooooo difficult. She never lets her eyes off of me! She always stops me when I am too far from her sight.

The worst is….she makes this ‘little‘ play area for me when she has to leave her room.

She makes it with her hard cover books and an impraboard. She kindly provides me with a cloth to hide underneath and a little box to climb.

…but still…Where is my freedom??

I want to be free. I might hide under the bed or behind the cabinet or the computer…but I think that’s her job to search for me.

Come on Mommy!! When will you let me walk free like a man?

I share my protest at

Shared by

About Papoe

Hi...I am named Papoe (read: pa-poo) because my origin is from Papua New guinea :) I am a Pink belly short Necked Turtle. Mommy adopted me on March 11, 2012. I am struggling with my body size...maybe I am a midget

41 responses »

  1. Deb says:

    Oh little Papoe. You are still ever so tiny yet, and could get lost in the house making if very difficult for mommy to find you….I hope those books are stable.
    Much love, Aunt Deb xo

    • Papoe says:

      Mommy makes sure that the books are stable before she leaves me…she doesn’t want those book to fall on me πŸ˜‰

      …but still…I want to explore our big house…well at least big to me πŸ˜‰

    • edlaine says:

      My little turtle Oliver was the same thing, was a southern painted turtle and the size of a quarter, had the same problem than you, now he’s 3.0 inches(he supost to grown just to 4 inches max 5) and he didnt got hes totally freedom yeat, hes just one year old. So Papoe, sorry u got to wait to you grown and mommy feel more secure with you, like Oliver.

      • Papoe says:

        It’s glad to know that other turtles have same problem as I am πŸ˜‰
        At least Mommy still lets me wander off in her room when she is still in the room.
        Like right now, after I reply all my comment, I can go wherever I like as long as I am still in her room πŸ˜‰

      • edlaine says:

        Oliver walk in my room too, and now is summer i take him out, he like it, but he is a hyper turtle, and he doesnt sleep on his tank,he sleep in my bed and then wen he falls sleep i put him on his wood box because im afraid to step on him at night, did u start to do this with mommy Papoe? And i meet a guy that have 2 turtles and he told me that he doesnt take his turtles out of the aquarium, i feel so sad wen i hear that. And he told me that i spoiled Oliver, i just feel pround of myself wen i hear that. And ur mommy spoiled u Papoe and also Kroten too , lol. U got to be happy and pround of this, little spoiled turtle.

      • edlaine says:

        oh, and i forgot, eat more protein and ghost shrimp if mommy can by for you. But Protein for sure to grown fast.

      • Papoe says:

        We really love to see Oliver one of these days
        He sounds like another spoiled turtle. Just ignored the man who never let his turtles out…it is a fun activity and we enjoy it a lot. It gives the sense that we really belong with the human in the house.

        I eat a lot of Blood worm. But mommy also give me vegetable because too much protein can create Pyramiding. I guess my species is smaller than RES after all..

      • edlaine says:

        But Papoe, wen u r baby u need more protein. The protein is bad wen u over dose and wen u grown up. Oliver vet. told me that for him grown a litte faster give more live fish, ghost shrimp, blood worms too and a extra protein for now, she say that help to grown faster.I was concern because he was too small too, and didnt grown for like a months.

      • Novroz says:

        Oliver Vet gave good advice, Edlaine πŸ™‚
        But I had Kame once and she ate lots of food full of protein, hardly ever had vegetables…in the end I had hard time to force her to eat veggie.
        Because of that experience, I always give Papoe a slice of carrot of green leaf twice a week and the rest of the week are pellet and blood worm. I like seeing him eat vegetable from early age.

        As for live fish…I can’t find fish small enough for his small mouth πŸ˜‰ For now, the worm is his only choice for protein πŸ˜‰

      • edlaine says:

        novroz u r right, Oliver is a pain about veggies. If i dont stop too he will be like Kame. I still trying with the veggies but i dont have that much sucess like i do with the ghost shimp, dry shimp and pellets. He’s picky cause he always have ghost shrimp in his aquarium, over here i pay 0,40 cents in each ghost shrimp and i have blood worms too, but they comming frozen, so for me, is not that good wen is alive. so i still keep up with the GS and fishs, and the fishes is a dollar and is hard for him to get one, they r fast. I lovvveee so much your blog, i read over and over and over….. Is so amazing how u doing this work, i never could do some like yours.So, please keep it up. Kisses with love in Kroten and Papoe.

      • Novroz says:

        Good luck with Oliver Edlaine πŸ™‚
        Try feeding him vegetables because we don’t want him to have pyramiding.

        Thank you for reading my blog :hug:
        Kroten and Papoe give you big hug too…and for Oliver too πŸ™‚

  2. raisingdaisy says:

    Oh dear, sweet Papoe, you’re just so CUTE! You’ll have plenty of time to be big – enjoy your littleness while you can. πŸ˜€ I love your special play area!

    You’ll enjoy the mischief post I just put up – it’s all about turtles!

    • Papoe says:

      I guess I don’t have anything else to do but enjoy my littleness *not sure whether to put happy or sad face*

      Oh yes!! we really enjoy the videos…maybe I should do the same to cats when I am bigger πŸ˜‰

  3. Wazeau says:

    You will have plenty of opportunity to explore when you are big enough to not vanish!

  4. catchatcaren says:

    Papoe you can’t walk free like a man because you aren’t a man yet! You are a baby! You must be patient, your Mommy knows what is best for you!

    • Papoe says:

      I am a man…well small man…maybe…arrrgh I am still not sure about my gender yet, but the point is I demand more trust and freedom!

      …although, you might be right Aunty Caren, maybe Mommy is only thinking of my best

  5. Donna says:

    When my Kicky was a baby turtle, I used to be like your mom too. I made origami garbage bin and put her inside.
    Hmm.. 4 cm for 4 months turtle is too small. Or is it because you’re not RES?

    • Papoe says:

      hmmm…so it seems that all turtle’s moms are like that toward their baby turtles πŸ˜‰

      ah yes, mommy read somewhere that my species is smaller than RES … she was wondering why I don’t change much

  6. pael,leo,misel,donat says:

    papoe,saatmu akan tiba klo udah waktunya,sabar ya..enjoy the unique playground..mommy pecinta buku sih,jd y taman brmain nya dr buku..have fun papoe

  7. pael,leo,misel,donat says:

    buat mb nov,dibikinin playground dr kardus bekas ja mb,dikasi lorong2,jd kyk maket KW gtu..pngalaman pribadi sih,hehe

  8. tell tell Mommy.. Let him out or make it a bigger area πŸ™‚

  9. Haha Papoe! You won’t believe it, i was trying so hard to find you in the photos!!! That goes to show how tiny you are Papoe!! Mom just loooves you and wants you to be safe πŸ™‚ Hugs! You’ll get your freedom soon! Eat more vegetables okay? πŸ˜‰ Love, Popcorn :}

    • Papoe says:

      eh?? you really can’t find me easily? …aahh, I guess Mommy was right after all. I have to wait them.

      thank you Poppy, i will eat a lot so that I can be bigger than now πŸ˜‰

  10. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Papoe,

    Have you thought about climbing the books buddy? Just wondering? That would be good Mischief!! But you don’t really want to get lost, right?! πŸ™‚

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • Papoe says:

      Ow My God!! that’s a good idea Snoopy!!! I will try to do that when I am back in that book-area again πŸ˜‰

      Thank you for the idea Snoopy…you really are the master of mischief πŸ˜‰

  11. Rama's Mama says:

    Oh my goodness, so cute.

  12. Bassetmomma says:

    Poor Papoe! You’ll have lots of time to be free when you get older. Right now your Momma is just protecting her little baby!

    • Papoe says:

      Being little sure has lots of limitation…I want to grow as fast as possible πŸ˜‰
      Thank you for the encouraging words basset Momma

  13. Binky says:

    Poor Papoe! But there are a lot of dangers around, especially when you’re so small and could easily get lost or slip out through a small space. And the big world out there can be pretty dangerous for such a little one like you. Try to grow, Paope, that will gain you the freedom you seek!

    • Papoe says:

      A very wise advice my friend πŸ™‚
      I should think it over seriously. Try to grow up is a bit difficult, I eat a lot but I am still this small, maybe I should start making protest on my food ratio.

  14. Hey Papoe, Jet here.

    Ah, young Papoe, Mom’s taking the bestest care of you! You have a playground and everything! Not to worry, as you get older, you’ll explore further.

  15. Tony McGurk says:

    Oh Papoe I stil can’t believe how tiny yo are. Your book enclosure will keep you safe so you don’t get trodden on. The world must look so huge to you from your viewpoint. You must feel like you’re stuck in the Land Of The Giants.

    • Papoe says:

      That is so true Uncle T!!
      I saw everyone and everything so big!! I sure hope I can get used to all these giant things and people soon. I see my sister, Kroten, so confident walking aroud making me jealous

  16. Deboshree says:

    Aww baby, there will be a day when you will see every nook and corner of your world. Just trust Mom takes the best care of you… love you Papoe. πŸ™‚

Thank you for commenting :)

