It’s been ages since I last my Herptile Spotlight, last March Papoe did this special section of our blog because he wanted to share about his species…which reminds me I haven’t done my own species here 😉 …maybe one day.

Today I want to share about Argentine Black and White Tegu. I have been meaning to introduce this beautiful BIG lizard since the first time mommy saw it…but both Mommy and I didn’t know what it’s called. We did a little google search to finally come up with this post 🙂

Mommy had two photo2 of ABWT (Argentine Black and White Tegu), I share both of them here and the rest are from internet…I give full credit to the original owner…I merely sharing them here, I do not own them.

Based on Wikipedia, ABWT can be found in tropical rain forests of east and central South America. Some people believe that ABWT sometimes seek from human attention like other pet…I guess that’s why they sell them as pet. See the picture above!!
He is being sold as pet in Last year’s Reptile Show, he is really expensive. Mommy can only took a picture of him (Well, not that Mommy wants to make him our brother…he is too big for out little house) .

Did I mention BIG?

Yes!! He is really big for a lizard!! Adult males can reach 4 – 4.5 feet (around  122 – 137 cm) while the females can reach 2 – 3 feet (around 61 – 91 cm ) from nose to tail.

In the wild, they can live till 15 to 20 years and longer in captivity. They make great active loving pets, as they have a tendency to become attached to their owners like no other lizard and are docile and gentle.

We found this photo in Reptile Forum UK. He looks adorable on his Mom’s lap, but she was going to sell him for £250

Photo belongs to gothangel34

Hope he had found a good home 🙂

Talking about them as pet, we found this amazing blog called Cute Home Pet, the site also shared about Tegu 🙂

Here’s a quote from the site

If you fancy the job of a crocodile hunter but want to eliminate the danger to almost none, the tegu lizard is perfect for you. These exotic pet lizards “almost” resemble crocodiles but can be as docile and loyal as a dog, if properly socialized. Since tegus are exotic animals, taking care of them as pets need proper skills and serious commitment—and a comprehensive exotic pet insurance. Here are some things you have to know about taking care of exotic pet tegu lizard:

Go see the full article at Exotic Pet Tegu Lizard

Out of all the site’s photos, this is my favorite 😉

Photo belongs to Cute Home Pet

The site shares about Pet Tegu Species and Description, Tegu Lizards as Exotic Pet, Housing Pet Tegu, Feeding Exotic Pet Tegu, Taming Juvenile Tegus,  and Determining the Sex of a Tegu.

However…the site is not as complete as Care-Sheet.com (If you only want to know about ABWT you can easily read it at Cute Home Pet but if you want to adopt one, do visit Care-Sheet.com)

Quote from the site

A hatchling can comfortably be reared in a terrarium that is around 75x30cm in size (20 gallon long aquarium) until around 6 months old. From then on increase the size of the enclosure as your tegu outgrows it. An adult tegu should be kept in an enclosure no smaller than 1m², such as a 180x60x60cm enclosure; although more, if not double is recommended.

It is important to remember that this species is terrestrial, and so height is not necessarily important.

It is important to provide a basking spot, as well as an ambient temperature throughout the enclosure. An ambient temperature of 28-30°C (82-86°F) is advised with a basking spot of 38-46°C (100-115°F) to aid with digestion. The basking temperature should be moderated for your tegu by reducing it if it’s too hot or increasing it if food remains undigested.

Based on Zipcodezoo.com, their taxonomy is like this:

Domain: Eukaryota
Kingdom: Animalia
Subkingdom: Bilateria
Branch: Deuterostomia
Infrakingdom: Chordonia
Phylum: Chordata
Subphylum: Vertebrata
Infraphylum: Gnathostomata
Superclass: Tetrapoda
Subclass: Diapsida
Infraclass: Lepidosauromorpha
Superorder: Lepidosauria
Order: Squamata
Suborder: Lacertilia
Infraorder: Scincomorpha
Family: Teiidae
Genus: Tupinambis
Specific name: merianae
Scientific name: Tupinambis merianae

That’s all I can share about Argetine White and Black Tegu or Tupinambis merianae 🙂

See on my next Herptile Spotlight, I will close this post with a photo by my Mommy (she had shared it at he abandoned deviantart account, that’s why it still has her signature.)

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

11 responses »

  1. raisingdaisy says:

    I’ve never seen these lizards before – they’re beautiful! I never knew a lizard could become attached to human owners. Hehe I’d love to see the looks on my neighbors’ faces if they saw me out walking a Tegu! LOL! 😀

    • Kroten says:

      If we can attached to our human mother, I bet other reptiles can also do it 😉

      Wait till you see our late cousin, Toga. We will re-upload her video on August 1 for her memory.

      Hehehe, Daisy Mom suddenly walking with Tegu instead of with Daisy, people will think that the Tegu has eaten Daisy…he can be bigger than her 😉

  2. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    In the first picture I wondered if that was a Snake next to the Lizard and then I realized it was his tail!! Wow!! He’s BIG!!

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Kroten says:

      Compared to Papoe and me, he is giant!! you can see him with a dog there.

      Thank you Snoopy, we were being nice all through the week 🙂

  3. Deb says:

    I’ve never seen lizards like that before either! They’re amazing! 🙂
    Hugs xx

  4. Chancy and Mumsy says:

    Wow, he/she looks like a fine piece of art. Beautiful black and white designs.

  5. Binky says:

    My brother had one many years ago. It was about a meter long or so and was fairly docile. It lived quite long, maybe 10 years.

    • Novroz says:

      I didn’t know your family have a thing for reptiles too…good to know that 🙂

      Do you have a picture of him, Peter? I would love to share it here.

  6. Whoa!!! He’s Huge!!! O.O What a beauty!

Thank you for commenting :)

