You know they love you when they change the way they look at you

Few days ago, I realized that something had changed in my little Papoe…not entirely but there is a small change that I can see and feel from him. That change really makes me happy and becomes the idea for this post.

I have written how different the way Kame and Kroten looked at me, well I have the third turtle now and I think it is best to write similar post with a bit of different detail.

If you have pets, or once had pets, I believe there were times when you got pets that didn’t trust you at all. Little by little, though, with the love we showered them they began to trust us.

Apart from they way they acted, from avoiding touch to craving for touch…there is another way to see that they had slowly changed.

Look at their eyes!!!

Those eyes change…they really do!!

My sweet Kame came to me from my in law’s friend, she had had human before she met me. From the first day she came to me, she had already shown me eyes that trusted me completely. I didn’t have to do much work to see love on those bug eyes of her.

This bad quality photo showed that she had those eyes which looked at me with full trust. I wished I had proper camera back then so that you can see her eyes better.

As Kame grew, she showed more than trust. She would look at me with those eyes full of love and wanting to be touched every time. That’s why it was so easy to train Kame.

Things were a bit different with my second turtle, Kroten. As I have shared so many times, she came from a bad pet-shop. She had terrible life before I took her home.

She refused being touched, She looked at me in distrust and a bit scared. I thought she would never love me.

Thank God I was wrong πŸ™‚

Kroten, slowly changed her way of seeing me. As she grows bigger, her eyes become calmer and always look at me when I come into my room. I can see the wanting to be touched on her eyes. She has gentler eyes now, unlike her previous prejudice eyes.

How about Papoe?

He came from a good pet-shop but maybe I took him home a little too young. He was always running away from my touch. He would put all his tiny arms under his shell and turned his head sideways. He measured me with his tiny eyes.

You can see the distrust on his eyes as clear as daylight.

Now, here is a photo I took last night. See how they changed?

He no longer put his head sideways, he looked at me straight in the eyes πŸ™‚ The shine on his eyes were also different.

He still hasn’t completely trusted me yet…that much I know! He still tries to avoid my touch from time to time and his eyes still have a bit distrust on them…but it’s a nice progress seeing a tiny bit of trust on his eyes.

I will wait patiently till those tiny round eyes finally filled with love, trust and eagerness to be touched πŸ™‚

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

26 responses »

  1. catchatcaren says:

    I love how you point out things about turtles that I would never have thought of before. I am sure Papoe will be looking at you with love one day soon! xoxoxo

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Caren and Dakota πŸ™‚
      This is a nice progress and he often comes to me and hides under my legs when I am sitting on the floor.
      xoxoxo

  2. Red says:

    Too sweet. It is easy to see how you interact with them.
    Red.

  3. Hey Kroten, Hey Papoe, Jet here. Hi Miss Novroz.

    What a beautiful post. Mom experienced the same thing. Koko came from a loving home, I did NOT, JJ not exactly sure but sort of in the middle we think… Puffy and Fluffy did not, so, trust had to be built up for sure… and Mom said it felt incredible when the day came when the trust was there. πŸ™‚

  4. Nekoneko says:

    It is sweet to see the way he looks straight at you now. I think that it will not be long before he decides that he is a very lucky lil’ turtle to have someone to love him so completely and care for him the way you do Novia. πŸ™‚

  5. fitri says:

    agreee!duh jd brkaca2 pelupuk mata..saya dah buktikan kura2q si misel,yg dulu paling pnakut,skrg dah lumayan mau jalan2..mau dielus2..kalo d film marley n me berikan hatimu maka dia akan berikan hatinya..aah..mb nov..congrats..papoe truly a sweetheart..kroten tampangx sok imuuut deh,hehe

    • Novroz says:

      Makasih Fitri πŸ™‚
      Iya banget…kalo mau disayang maka kita juga harus menunjukkan kalo kita sayang. Papoe sih sekarang suka mendekat2 tapi pas mau dipengang masih malu2.

  6. Chancy and Mumsy says:

    I have learned more about turtles in the short time I have been reading your blog than I had learned in my lifetime. I am so enjoying learning about them and they sound like fun and terrific little things. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Chancy’s Mom.
      I am happy to know that my turtles help people to understand more about them as pets.
      I hope their life story will never bored you πŸ™‚
      xoxo

  7. Gorgeous pics. I so get what you are saying about the eyes. That’s when I knew Litchi would be fine – the eyes changed! Wonderful!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Susan πŸ™‚
      Non pet-owner probably doesn’t notice that we can see that animal’s eyes can change just like us human. And you are right, it’s wonderful to see the change.

  8. Tony McGurk says:

    Such sweet eyes. As the pirate said “Eye, eye Captain!!!”

  9. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    That is so sweet – I’m so happy they have such a wonderful Mum who they can trust πŸ™‚

    Have fun,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  10. Binky says:

    That’s very nice, Novroz. I’m glad Papoe is beginning to trust you more. I’m sure Papoe will continue to grow closer to you.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Peter πŸ™‚
      Maybe Papoe is like Kroten, takes longer time to trust…and maybe his tiny size matter, he is intimidated by the big me πŸ˜‰

  11. Donna says:

    Sweet eyes. I’m sure he’ll love you more

  12. Amanda says:

    Eee ur turtle are actracting me in their technique >.<

Thank you for commenting :)

