Last month, I let Papoe write about him being 5 months old…I am going to take over his progress from now on.

When I took Papoe home, I didn’t know how different his species to my previous two turtle babies is. My Kame and Kroten are Red Eared Slider (RES) and my Papoe is Pink Belly Short Necked Turtle (PBSNT … it’s a bit too long to write PBNST, so I am going to say E.Schultzei, it’s his scientific name).

Papoe has been with me for over 6 months now. What I have learned so far is that E.Schultzei has a very slow growth. He is still hasn’t reached 5 cm in both width and length…can you imagine a 6 month old turtle still less than 5 cm?

What I have just learned recently is he still has soft spot on his plastron. It amazed me so much that I needed to share this for other future E.Schultzei adopters.

First, look at this photo below. This is a photo taken on the first day he came to my house and my life.

His plastron was dented inward and very smooth. It also felt soft…just like all baby turtles. Baby turtles have soft shell and gradually become harder. He also has skinny tight.

Now look at the photo I took few days ago.

So many things have changed…for better or worse I can’t yet tell you…I sure hope for better.

Look at the blue circle! His plastron is no longer smooth. That part is a little rough and looks like a shrinkage shell. Maybe that part hardens too fast and created some bumpy areas.

Look at the red circles!! I had to stop him from eating his favorite food, the frozen blood worm. Instead of getting bigger on his shell size…he gets himself bigger on his tights. Chubby tights are the first clues to obesity. I couldn’t risk it and put him on vegetable diet. Fortunately he could eat the leaves as greedy as ate his worm.

Now…last but not least, look at the black circle!! That part is the oddest one of all these new progresses. That black part is his soft shell…6 months old and still has soft part is unbelievable…well for me it’s unbelievable. I can feel the softness of that part just like when you touch the head of a baby.

I wish there are more information on E.Schultzei out there…but I only find the ordinary. I hope this writing can help other E.Schultzei parents to be more careful when handling their E.Schultzei. E.Schultzei is really different to RES. My RES had hard shell less than 6 months. I have to be extra careful handling my little Papoe with his soft shell.

I plan to write a monthly post on Papoe’s progress (I hope I can do that) so that others who know nothing about E.Schultzei have a glimpse of knowledge on how different this species is.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

20 responses »

  1. raisingdaisy says:

    I never knew how much turtles change when we had them! Great post!

  2. Wazeau says:

    Chubby little legs! Very interesting post, thanks!

  3. catchatcaren says:

    I think it is great that you are posting this because it will help so many who might want to get the same type of turtle. His shell is getting harder I think…just at a slower rate

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Caren.
      I sure hope other turtle owner can learn from my mistakes.

      I just found out from Debbie (very kind of her to search it for me) that something might be wrong with Papoe…but I am still praying it was just a slow process of shell hardening.

  4. Deb says:

    Little Papoe is so cute, and I hope that the soft spot does not mean anything bad. When you said you couldn’t find anything online outside of the usual, I thought I’d try too. All I found was this.
    http://en.allexperts.com/q/Wild-Animals-705/Turtle-soft-belly.htm

    Love and hugs xo

    • Novroz says:

      oh….thank you so much Debbie!!!! it means a lot to me. Now, I am a bit worried with Papoe 😦

      I HAVE to do a major change to how I care from him. He didn’t eat his cuttlebone (calcium source) and I have to force him to eat it from now on…and will put him under the sun longer than what he had before.

      He looks so healthy and eats a lot…I thought nothing was wrong.

  5. Binky says:

    That’s quite interesting. I certainly hope that it doesn’t indicate anything wrong with Papoe. Hopefully he’s just a slow grower. Or maybe he needs something like calcium which Deb’s link indicates.

    • Novroz says:

      He won’t eat his calcium 😦
      I gave him Cuttlebone, occasionally, but it was always untouched. I am going to rely on the sun. I have put him under the sun for hours this morning.

      I hope so too, Peter 🙂

  6. Val says:

    Maybe contact an organisation that has looked after this type of turtle? Here’s a youtube of one of them and the name of the organisation is in the info area:

  7. Val says:

    PS. We humans are very slow growing too. 🙂 You can’t expect a baby or child to look like an adult for a very long time. So be patient with Papoe. 🙂

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you for the Video, val. That turtle looks so cute! … but I think my Papoe is cuter (motherly talk) 😉

      I have read the link that Debbie has given and now doing everything I can to make him eat his cuttlebone.

      I am being patience with him Val…he is a new species and might not act same like my previous two turtles. Thank you Val 🙂

  8. Donna says:

    I’m curious with the blue circle. Is that good or bad? Is the soft area supposed to be hard when they become adult?
    Well, at least he still grows, though the progress is slow. Better than not grow up at all, right? 😉

  9. Androgoth says:

    Your passion and love of these little turtles
    is something to be extremely proud of and
    I ca easilyn see that you truly love them all 🙂

    Andro xxx

  10. Amanda says:

    Novroz ur turtles are cute if my turtle grow big how big will they poop cause i am already tired to cleam my res poop they poop to much but atleast i also know their healthy even when i am not At home for maybe few hours on eating launch buy something for turtle and staff

Thank you for commenting :)

