Usually, I would share about Kame on the last day of every month…however, today is a special day. I have new turtle 🙂

It was love at first sight.

I have no plan to add new turtle, I am always content with only 2 turtles in my live. There used to be Kame and Kroten, and then Kroten and Papoe. Last Thursday, I saw a plant and animal bazaar near Carrefour at Tamini Plaza (or is it Tamini Mall…I’m not quite sure which one). I was looking around out of curiosity, this kind of bazaar rarely sell turtles other than RES.

To my surprise, one of them sold reptiles. There were some species of turtles. I was so happy seeing them. I asked them whether they would me looking at a Mississippi turtle, but then my eyes drifted to a black turtle and asked then to take him instead.

…and he stole my heart. Look at this photo below, he is such a heart thief!!

I promised to be back on Saturday to take him home.

I went back and no one had bought him, so I bought him (a bit TOO expensive, I think…but love is blind). I know that I am not a good buyer when it comes to turtle. People told me that when buying pets, make sure they are perfect…well, Kroten was in bad condition when I brought her home…and Kurome is also not perfect.

His tail was cut off. Maybe other turtle bit it off.

He has marks of previous rotten shell. At least he is cured now…unlike when I bought Kroten.

He lost one nail on his right hand (see the first photo above)

Nevertheless…I had fallen in love and brought him home.

From a turtle forum in facebook, I found out that he is a Chinemys Reevesii. From googling I saw that this species has yellow lines…but Kurome is full black with no lines. See the image of normal Chinemys here. Even his eyes are black (no white part)

He has dark brown carapace.

He is crazy active!! He won’t stay still!! When I let him loose in my room, he keeps on walking around the room NONSTOP. I am the one who gets tired of seeing him…it’s like he never gets tired.

How do I know I finally have a male turtle? His cloaca is far from his plastron 🙂 (if his tail hasn’t been cut, he would have long tail too)

Naming him

I had hard time naming him. From his species name, Reevesii… I was thinking of naming him Keanu because of their similar last name 😉 …but his personality is more like a storm than a breeze (Keanu).

Then I thought of naming him Stitch because I think he looks like Stitch in Lilo and Stitch. He also can’t stay still like Stitch.

Finally, I go with Kurome because I have lost my Japanese named turtle, Kame, and the fact that Chinemys Reevesii is found in China, Taiwan and JAPAN. Kurome is shorten version of 黒亀 (kurogame – I deleted ga), meaning Black Turtle.

Welcome to our little family, Kurome 🙂

I hope you’ll like me and your older sister, Kroten and little brother, Papoe.

Note: I will change the header when I finally got a good photo of him 🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

67 responses »

  1. Nekoneko says:

    My goodness!! 🙂

    Isn’t that always the way it works? Love just sort of sneaks up on you when you least expect it. How do Kroten and Papoe seem to like him? Is everything all harmonious? I know that kitties are not always pleased to have someone new show up at the house to steal away some of Mommy’s love and attention so I wonder if turtles are the same….

    That is why I always try only to have one kitty at a time…. so I can focus all my self on them and make them feel at home.

    • Novroz says:

      Fortunately, turtles aren’t like cats…at least when they are on land. I put them on separate tanks because I am not sure how Kroten or Papoe react toward new comer in their tank. I have 3 plastic tanks now…I will put Papoe and Kurome together later.

      Sometimes…love is troublesome 😉

  2. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Kurome,

    It’s great to meet you buddy – you’ve got a great forever family there – I’m sure you’ll all have lottsa fun and Mischief!! Tee Hee

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  3. Hey Kroten, Hey Papoe, Hey Kurome, Jet here.

    Welcome to the family Kurome. You are most handsome and elegant and have found a fabulous forever home. YIPPEE! 🙂

    Thank you for sharing such special info on Kurome Miss Novroz, we love learning about turtles from you.

    • Kurome says:

      Hi Jet 🙂

      Thank you Jet…I hope mommy won’t get tired of my activeness. She never have a turtle that can’t stay still before 😉

  4. Kurome is a fine turtle indeed and WELCOME!!! I LOVE the story of how you adopted him and in a sense you RESCUED him! You adopted a “less-than-perfect” turtle but to ME he looks perfect and to YOU he does and that is all that matters!! Sooo happy for you! Give him a kiss from us please!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Caren 🙂
      Rescue is a nice word…I like that. Although I think Kurome used to belong to someone and that person sold him to the petstore (I wonder how can someone sell such cute turtle). You are so RIGHT!!! He is perfect in my eyes 😉

      I sure hope he will like me 🙂

  5. Binky says:

    Well that’s nice. And a bit of a surprise! I didn’t think you’d be getting another turtle.

    Welcome Kurome! (I like that name. It reminds me of chrome!) You look like a very interesting turtle. Maybe one day you can tell us some of your stories.

  6. Wan Azuhairi says:

    It’s really cool how Kurome is a stripeless Chinese Pond Turtle xD Ah welcome indeed , Kurome, you’ve got an awesome family there 🙂

  7. Donna says:

    Actually, my Kicky lost a nail too.
    His condition …. Almost same with my Koggy when she came.
    However he’s still cute… love his innocent eyes.

  8. Wan Azuhairi says:

    Hey Novroz i did a little research; and it turns out that Kurome is a Reeves Turtle. because they really look similar to the chinese pond turtle, some people even said they’re both the same, when they’re not. oh and the bad news is the grown males are more likely to be 5-6″ and grown females will be around 6-8″.

    • Novroz says:

      Kuro is indeed a reeves…I have said it above that he is a Chinemys Reevesii. I haven’t done full research yet, but from little research I found out that there are special reeves that have no stripes and all black even their eyes.

      The male will only reach 12cm and they can’t swim well like RES.

  9. 2browndawgs says:

    Hoping over from the blog hop. Wow you have quite a turtle family. 🙂

  10. raisingdaisy says:

    Welcome home Kurome! He’s so handsome – I’d have fallen in love with him too. I’m so happy that he got a good loving home after his apparent hardships. I love the photo of the three siblings together – what a beautiful turtle family you have! 😀

    • Novroz says:

      I couldn’t agree more!! his handsome face made me brought him home with me. I hope they will all bond like real simblings and feels happy here.
      Thank you Daisy and Mom :hug:

  11. Deb says:

    Hi Kurome, I’m your Auntie Deb and want to welcome you to the family. You will be very happy in your new home. You new mommy will take very good care of you, and now you have a wonderful sister and brother. You’ll also get to be part of so many wonderful things here too…I hope you like getting your picture taken. 🙂
    I also hope that you too will come see me in my space too…you will be very welcome there.
    Hugs xoxo ~ Auntie Deb

    • Kurome says:

      Aw… thank you for all your nice words Auntie Deb.
      I am glad I come to this family and suddenly have so many nice friends.

      I will try having more internet time in the future…hope my sister and brother would let me 😉

      Mommy want to take my picture under the sun…she likes photo under sunlight. We should wait.

      ((hug))

  12. Red says:

    Oh, he is darling! I think he is a perfect fit. Love his boxy shape, and he does not need stripes! He is quite handsome all dark.

    Red.
    xxx

  13. nadhilaaz says:

    Haha yes he’s cute! The black eyes gives a.. some kind of cute chibi character impression or something. LOL
    Oh so he’s older than Papoe.. And look how big Kroten is now! You have such a cute turtle family :> Hope they live long and prosper (y)

    • Novroz says:

      Well…like I’ve said, he reminds me of Stitch 😉
      Isn’t his blackness wonderful? He can easily disappear in the dark.

      I think so…I think he is already a teenager. Grown up Reevesii is 12cm and Kuro is already 8cm.

      Thank you Dhil 🙂 but I have to keep my distance from any petshop or I might bring home another one 😉

  14. FleaByte says:

    Wow but he is cute! Congratulations on your expanding turtle family!

  15. fitri says:

    slamat datang kurome..aah lucunya..moga rukun2 ma siblingsnya..sehat selalu..tak doain mb novi tmbah lancar rejekinya karena ngrawat satu lagi mahluk ciptaan tuhan..amin..ganbatte!

  16. Colby says:

    What a cutie! I’m glad he found such a nice home with Papoe and Kroten. Having the short tail adds character!

  17. diani says:

    lucu…. bgt kurome moga mogahan dia temenan sama papoe

  18. Very nice turtle. Definately a heart stealer.

  19. Tony McGurk says:

    Oh Wow!!! A new turtle to the home & blog & a brother for Kroten & Papoe. Welcome Kurome to the blogging world!!!

  20. Androgoth says:

    His title can be Kurome the Great 🙂
    He is definitely a wonderful addition
    to your family Miss. Novia 🙂

    Andro xxx

    • Novroz says:

      Kurome the great sounds interesting but Kurome the active is more precised, he can’t stay still.

      • Androgoth says:

        I like that title much better,
        and as he is a wriggler then
        that can be his new name 🙂

        Kurome is already a lovely choice 🙂

        Andro xxx

      • Novroz says:

        He is also smart…in fact I dare say very smart. I have him for less than a month and I have already notice how smart he is. I will see the progress first before posting about it.

  21. Elsandra says:

    He’s soo cute.. His face is like a baby turtle :D..
    I don’t think he’s that old based on your explaination that the yellow pattern had disappear because of the aging ._. .. Lol 😀

    • Novroz says:

      He is not a big turtle as grown up…so I think he is more than 2 years already.
      Not only he is super cute, he is also very smart! He has learned some tricks withing just a month

      • Elsandra says:

        Woww 2 years and still in such a cute face?!? Wow!! He’s wonderful!!
        He must got some super ability to learn and stop the aging process lol.. Like ninja turtles 😉 …

        Now I’m having a bad time taking decision, which species would I buy as my turtle pet? Which is easier sister for a beginner? RES or chinemys?? :s

      • Novroz says:

        All my turtles maintain their cuteness…even the four year old Kroten 😉

        Find the one that steal you heart is my only advice! I never make a plan of which turtle I want to bring home, they just stole my heart so suddenly and I decided to buy and bring them home without caring about their species

      • Elsandra says:

        Of coursee.. For us the pets owner our pets are more than anyone pets :D.. In every aspects!!

        I think I’m gonna get the chinemys one.. They do really cuuteee!! :3 .. But I need price references to make sure they don’t scam me (student pocket isn’t very elastic if you know what I mean ;)).. Yang chinemys tuh c harganya @125.000 kan c? Aku pengen cepet” beli deh, takut diambil orang 😀 …

      • Novroz says:

        Kurome was the most expensive I have because he is a melanistic and already quite big…125 for baby is quite reasonable 🙂

      • Elsandra says:

        Chinemys is a poor swimmer itself or its just for kurome ??
        I’m planning to put my turtles in 40 gallon tank, I’m afraid RES will be too big for it…

      • Novroz says:

        They are poor swimmer…the species not just Kurome.
        Hehehe I don’t know anything about gallon, I only know litres

      • Elsandra says:

        So they can live without water don’t they? :s …
        Its about 250litres… And I also afraid the big RES will broke them down… I don’t know, they looked like they kinda powerful.. Haha 😀

      • Novroz says:

        no…they can’t live without water, tho they can’t swim well they are still fresh water turtle. They need water to swallow their food.

        250L is twice bigger than my Kroten’s container.

  22. Elsandra says:

    Wow the sizes 😮 … Fantastic 😀

  23. […] then months later, I feel in love with a cute black turtle and decided to adopt him and named him Kurome. I now have 3 adorable turtles with different personalities. You can see their photos in the end of […]

  24. […] We have a new family member…he is the adorable Kurome whom you can see in the above photos still hasn’t realized that our blog is having a special day […]

  25. […] 10. In September 22, 2012; Mommy brought home anew turtle she fell in love with for the first sight. A Reeves Turtle or also known as Chinese Three-Keeled Pond Turtle. We introduces him 2 day later in a post called  Introducing Kurome – The New Member Of Our Little Family […]

  26. Vernon Noronha says:

    hey, its lovely to see the care you give your turtles. and the way they respond to you.
    i had a question. i have a RES turtle and a Indian Roofed turtle. Do u think its OK to house them. also is Mating possible

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Vernon 🙂

      It depends on the turtles, you can put them together and observe them, if they look okay together then you can continue if not you have to separate them

Thank you for commenting :)

