“Customers are coming!!! Act cute, girls!”
“I’ll just stay here. They won’t choose me anyway.”
“Why are you being so pessimistic? That attitude made them avoid you!”
“I’m not being pessimistic, I’m being reasonable. Just look at me! I’m too pale, I have no nails, and the worst is I am rotting.”
“I understand but don’t make it worst by looking all depressed.”
“Just leave me alone!”
“Fine!”

“ah…today is bad for business. No one picked us. Let’s have some beauty sleep while there is no customer around! We have to look cute again before the shop closed”
“Someone’s coming!”
“Ha…ha…You who always avoid customers suddenly become a customer radar. Yeah, right!”
“She’s here!”

“Oh…hello there! Your eyes are so beautiful looking at me like that. Would you like to come home with me?”
“I’d love to! You are the company I want to spend the rest of my life with.”

Total 150 words!

…and that’s how Kroten ended up as my second turtle😉

Mel U at The Reading Life told me about a short story by Indonesian writer where the story is composed only with dialogue (you can read the story here). I was tempted to do something like that ever since I read it but no idea seemed to come up…till today.

I tried to imagine what the turtles in the petshop were talking about…one of them is my poor Kroten with all her deficiencies.

This is part of Red at Mommy’s Money Matter’s Flash in The Pan

I wrote 2 flash at the same time, this one is about my dearest turtle, Kroten. That’s why I published it here.

I wrote another one at Polychrome Interest (my own blog) about DOOR.

Here’s an excerpt from Secret Door:

I couldn’t remember when the first time my mom told me never to come near the door in the basement, let alone open it. I never asked her why, I just obliged.

In total, I had written 3 flashes. The first one is a bit like poem called Unrequited Desire (also about Kroten)

Please let me know what you think. I gladly accept all critics🙂

**********************

Along with this flash, I’d love to say: Happy World Animal Day🙂

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 responses »

  1. […] Pingback: Flash in The Pan : Perfect Company | Underneath The Shell […]

  2. Deb says:

    That’s a good flash!😉

  3. Wan Azuhairi says:

    Happt world animal day to you too! Im gonna give my babies special treats😀

  4. Red says:

    This is absolutely wonderful! There are a few which do use dialogue in this book, but this will be the only which is dialogue only. You did a fantastic job, Nov!!❤
    Awesome!
    Red.
    xxx

  5. Great story!! I’m so happy you found your forever home buddy!!🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

  6. Binky says:

    That was good! I figured out it was about pets in a shop, and probably turtles, quite soon. I didn’t realize it was only dialogue, though. That makes it a lot harder to writer.

    And Happy World Animal Day! (I didn’t know about that either, until you told me.)

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Peter🙂
      I know that Kroten’s friends would figure it out soon…not sure about others tho.
      When i first read the short with this style, I also didn’t feel that the write only used dialogue…and you having said that makes me happy that I can do what she had done.

      Happy WAD to you too.

  7. Happy World Animal Day! There will be some activities happening in and around our place, so we hope to check out the scene. Have a good weekend with your two little ones😀

  8. fitri says:

    bgus mb..ringan..tp heart melted banget..jd teringat gmn hewan2 yg blm diadopsi d pets store..aah mb novi bkin mata brkaca2..keep writing!

  9. Tony McGurk says:

    What a lovely story about finding Kroten

  10. Red says:

    Nov, when you get a chance, I need to know what you want to do here.❤
    http://forum.redmundpro.com/index.php/forum/flash-fiction/11-ata
    xxx

  11. […] Matter’s Flash in The Pan for Fish with 1200 words limit. I had done similar story before called Perfect Company where the story is written only in […]

Thank you for commenting :)

