First of all, sorry for worrying you Mommy…but I also want to explore our room like Kroten and Kurome.

Few days ago Mommy had a panic attack because I suddenly disappear from my ‘bed’ … she called my name and lifted everything on sight. She tiptoed carefully so that she won’t accidentally step on me.

Then I showed up between the two tanks (mine and Kurome’s tank and Kroten’s tank). “Ah!! there you are!!” she said. “Bad boy!!

Then she picked me up and put me into my tank (after she did a little investigation)

Now, here’s the story of how I escape. Mommy was also wondering how could I be outside my ‘bed’.

Because of my tiny body, Mommy always puts me in a big plastic bowl with an old comfortable cloth as my ‘bed’. That morning, after peeking whether I had woken up or not, Mommy forgot to fold the cloth again.

I had written (back on March 2012 ) that I am really good in climbing. Seeing the position of the cloth, I knew I can easily climb out of my bowl.

These photos below show what a good climber I am.

After that last photo…all I need to do is to jump down πŸ˜‰

Mommy only lets me walk around the room when she is also in the room but she lets Kroten and Kurome walk around even thought she isn’t in the room…I have a little case of jealousy… so please don’t blame me from jumping out of my bowl.

Although I had been a bad turtle, she still held me and kissed me πŸ™‚

Shared at

About Papoe

Hi...I am named Papoe (read: pa-poo) because my origin is from Papua New guinea :) I am a Pink belly short Necked Turtle. Mommy adopted me on March 11, 2012. I am struggling with my body size...maybe I am a midget

64 responses »

  1. Adventurous little one .. goes on a adventure all the time πŸ™‚

    • Papoe says:

      I am going to be the best explorer in the world πŸ˜‰

      • edlaine says:

        PAPOE , i feel bad for mommy, i know what is to have the little ones. I am Oliver mother and he is the same thing, ANd oliver is almost 4 inches, he growning between 4 to the most 5 inches and i have to keep my eyes on him. I bought for him a wood box to sleep on it and he love to cover his face on the clothes to go to sleep. So be good to mommy, dont explore too much, dont give mommy a panic attack number 2.

      • Papoe says:

        Well…I will try Edlaine.
        And Mommy has doubled her protection after that day. I also need to learn to be less shy…ah so many to learn, it’s tiring being a baby!

  2. Nekoneko says:

    Oh my goodness! Naughty lil’ turtle!!

    I’ll bet you gave your mommy the scare of her life to think one of her little ones was lost. Be a good boy and stay safe from now on.

  3. even if he dose wonder off u knw he is in the room all u have to do is close the door and look around and if u cant find him hell find u πŸ˜›

    • Novroz says:

      I always close my door when I let my turtles go…I don’t want to search them all over the house. It’s not a big deal for Kroten, she’ll come when I call her.
      Papoe, on the other hand, he is still too shy to come when I call him

  4. Oh, you are just the cutest, cleverest turtle ever! Of course you were going to take the chance when it presented itself. It’s discrimination – not letting you wander around πŸ™‚

  5. We have a case of run away turtle in here.

  6. catchatcaren says:

    your poor Mommy!! You worried her sick! Thank goodness she found you but you ARE a good and CLEVER climber! xoxoxoxo

    • Papoe says:

      I know 😦
      I feel sorry for giving mommy such panic but what can I say? I want to enjoy a good walking in the room too πŸ˜‰

      Thank you for the compliment Dakota ((hug))

  7. FleaByte says:

    How could mommy help but give you kisses? Cute!

  8. I’m not surprised your Mum was so worried about you buddy!! It’s so sweet she calls your name – really happy she found you!! Good Mischief though – Tee Hee

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • Papoe says:

      Thank you Snoopy. She always call our name even when she just enters her room after work. She says she does that because she wants us to remember our name.

      My Sister, Kroten, already knows her name well.

  9. Binky says:

    Poor Mommy and poor Papoe! You want to have your freedom, and mommy wants to make sure you’re safe. It’s a good thing that you didn’t go too far because it’s a dangerous world out there.

    • Papoe says:

      She always close her door when she knows she can’t keep her eyes on all of us.
      I don’t want to wander to the dangerous world…I just want to walk around the room πŸ˜‰

      I should eat a lot and get bigger as soon as possible so that I wont worry her again.

      • Binky says:

        That would be a good idea, Papoe! Too bad you can’t have chocolate. That makes humans grow big. Well, big around, anyway.

      • Papoe says:

        Ah yes…that’s indeed too bad. If I am allowed to eat chocolate, I could be as big as Winky πŸ˜‰

      • Kame's fan says:

        Erm why are u all taking like this is a story or something?
        O.o

        Wassup turtle erm i know in real life ur a human not turtle but can i join ur turtle story? O.o im not a friend of urs but im just bored o.o and im 10

      • Papoe says:

        What do you mean?
        This is a story of me running away from Mommy … and who said I am a human? the human one is my Mommy…I am just a small turtle πŸ˜‰

  10. Hey Kroten, Hey Kurome, HEY PAPOE, Jet here. Hi Miss Novroz.

    Papoe, dude, you scared us to bits, let alone Mommy… while your climbing skills impress us, PLEASE be careful… glad Mom figured out how you escaped so she can keep you safe moving forward.

    Of course, she still loves you, she just worried… πŸ™‚

    • Papoe says:

      Hey Jet!

      I will do my best not to worry her again. Maybe I can memorize my name more…so that when she calls I can come to her straight away πŸ˜‰

      Thank you Jet…I know she loves me.

  11. Mag (Chancy's Mumsy) says:

    Oh, we are so happy your mommy found you and you were okay. Such a cute tiny little one as you could get lost very easily so you be careful climbing out of your bowl and investigating. Hugs and nose kisses

  12. Donna says:

    Watchout! We got a badboy over here. πŸ™‚

  13. Deboshree says:

    You are such a cute, naughty fellow! Take care of yourself and your Mommy. Do not give her such panic attacks in the future. πŸ˜›

  14. Tony McGurk says:

    You are such a tiny boy you need to be very careful Papoe. I can understand your curiosity to explore the house as there’s all sorts of intersting things to discover

  15. nadhilaaz says:

    Awww~ the last photo looks adorable!
    I can see a little mischievous smile there >:)

  16. Red says:

    I am not going to scold you for exploring. It is part of your growing up. You need to go to Mommy when she calls for you. Or you can call for Kroten or Kurome. If they come to you, Mommy can find you more easily.

    And of course she kissed you. After panicking, she was very happy to have you in her hand again. All Mommas know about that πŸ˜‰

    • Papoe says:

      Thank you Aunty Red…you’re the best πŸ™‚
      I am still learning to memorize my name, just like human babies, I need time to really know my name

  17. noormissouri says:

    Haha, this is so cute!

  18. Brian says:

    One of my turtles went missing one day and we scoured the whole house… nowhere to be found… eventually saw an open vent that he could squeeze down.. vent was long and then had a 10ft drop to the furnace… luckily it was summer and when we removed one of the panels in the basement there he was!!!

    I also had my turtles in my sandbox and they must have stacked all ontop of eachother because when i returned one had maken his great escape, must have been atleast 1foot to the top, little bugger was never found. RIP Leo…

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Brian πŸ™‚

      That’s quite an adventure your turtle had. Fortunately you found him again. My turtles only play in my room because I don’t want them to end up somewhere I can’t find.

      Sorry to hear about your Leo 😦

      • Brian says:

        It was in my room!! Thought he was gone for sure, must have been down there for over 30hrs, had to go to bed with him missing. Im sure he was as glad to see me as i was him!!

      • Novroz says:

        I am happy to know that πŸ™‚
        Hope he will never run away again.

  19. Amanda says:

    Novroz i have an idea if ur poe turtle wants to walk around u must put something around each corner to block for ur turtle to go get danger maybe only in ur room and close the door before going to work make sure theres no light item that turtle can push down and crawl away if this plan fails please blame me

  20. Kame's fan says:

    U mean ur a turtle thats really typing and knows english? Its impossible 0____+

    Erm poe just tell whos typing human or turtle cause im confused y ur acthing like a turtle turtle do t know how to type and how come ur typing that poe is not typing but is like people using his acount to type and baby turtle dont know how to type so wierd just tell me who typing turtle or human

  21. Amanda says:

    Do somebody know that kame’s fan is actually me o.o

  22. Amanda says:

    Theres a time i want to make clothe for my turtle to wear i just use paper

  23. […] in November 2012, I gave Mommy a panic attack as I went missing (you can read it HERE). I haven’t given her panic attack anymore because she had left me walk around the room like […]

Thank you for commenting :)

