You’ve heard of Stand up comedians…this is stand up sleeper πŸ˜‰

It actually happened on the first few days Kurome came to my house….but I have so many to share and these photos got delayed for a while.

Kurome is a very active turtle. He won’t stay still…walking here and there aimlessly and tirelessly. It’s like children high on sugar. I have never had a turtle so active like him.

As usual, I have to teach him to sleep when everyone is sleeping…I can’t let him walk around and poo everywhere.

I put him inside a plastic container and gave some clothes to cuddle in. He kept on trying to climb out of the container. At some point, I stopped hearing noises from his container. I tiptoed slowly and saw that he had finally fallen asleep.

…BUT, he slept in a funny way. I grabbed my camera and got few memorable photos πŸ™‚

Kurome was was sleeping in standing position. I think he was still trying to get out and got tired and decided to sleep in that position πŸ˜‰

This photo is to assure you that Kurome is really standing because you can’t really see it in the first photo

When I was going to take another shot, he woke up and looked up at his new strange mommy.

I bet he was thinking “man, I had picked the wrong mommy !!

Shared at

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

27 responses »

  1. Deb says:

    πŸ˜† Kurome, you are such a funny turtle!.
    Love and hugs from Aunt Deb xo

  2. raisingdaisy says:

    OMG this is just SO cute! It always amazes me at the crazy ways turtles can sleep. We got so many laughs when ours used to sleep in what looked like such uncomfortable positions. πŸ™‚

  3. Binky says:

    That is so funny! I wonder if he dreamt he was flying?

    (Did you get the email I sent you a few days ago? I’ve made a new fan art video and included your artwork in it.)

  4. 2browndawgs says:

    Well at least he got some sleep. πŸ™‚

  5. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Kurome, you fell asleep standing up?! I’m not surprised you felt sleepy, that’s some big mischief for a little turtle buddy!!

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

    • Kurome says:

      Yeah…it was a tough day…I was still in the mood to explore my new home but Mommy decided that I had to sleep 😦 I was tired trying to climb my way out!

      …but I am better now…I sleep as I pleased now…no container needed πŸ™‚

  6. catchatcaren says:

    that is too cute! He’s like a horse. Horses sleep standing up

  7. Hey! I just found your blog and I really like it.
    Also, I’m very sorry that your turtle passed away.
    I have two RES and I got them on the 10th of Nov. Their names are Nugget and Rocky Pancake.
    Initially they were very scared but they’re warming up to me gradually.
    I hand-feed them and I take them out of the tank for a about 10 minutes each day (they don’t seem to like that much though).
    Should I start taking them out for longer periods? The trouble is, they’re quite small, so I can’t really let them walk around my house freely.
    They get very excited when they see me approaching the tank but they don’t like being handled much.
    Any advice?

    • Novroz says:

      Hey Elena πŸ™‚
      Thank you for enjoying our blog πŸ™‚

      Warming up is a good sign. If they don’t like being taken out, don’t force it yet, 10 minutes per day is already fine to let them know their house. For baby I never let them out of my sight, I constantly watch them.
      I think they are still thinking that you are their food source, that’s why they get excited seeing you but don’t like being handled. It will eventually changed, some turtles need long time to know their parents while others only need few months. Just try to create bond patiently.

      I hope I can help you more πŸ™‚
      Feel free to ask more question here> https://kamekroten.wordpress.com/q-a/ I will answer it if I know the answer as I am not a turtle expert…only a caring turtle parents πŸ™‚

  8. Red says:

    How very cute. So childlike. My children do that fall asleep while they are doing something else…all the time.

    Don’t worry, Kurome. Lots of animals sleep standing up. Horses, birds, cows (sometimes), zebras, mules/donkeys, giraffes (a lot) and elephants…and every once in a while Bear does, too πŸ˜‰

    • Kurome says:

      Maybe all children are the same Aunty Red…regardless the species πŸ˜‰

      But those animals stand on their four legs, I stand on my hind legs….I guess that makes me cooler πŸ˜‰

      • Red says:

        I do think it is a child thing…I know a few adults who never outgrew it. πŸ˜‰ And you are very cool, Kurome. ❀

      • Kurome says:

        huahaha I am imagining an adult sleeping while they are standing up in a moving train…that would be the coolest πŸ˜‰

  9. Donna says:

    As a human, I cant even do it, even if I lean to the wall. Well done Kuro!

  10. Androgoth says:

    I guess all that climbing must have tired the
    sweet one out and just feel asleep where he
    stood, bless him πŸ™‚ Great photographs are
    always worth waiting for my good friend πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Andro xxx

    • Novroz says:

      Poor chap…I guess he was a bit surprised to be put back in small container like he was back then in the petshop…but he sleeps wherever he likes now πŸ™‚ I let him sleep in places he finds most comfortable.

      At this moment, he is sleeping behind the trash bin (it’s a room trash bin, it’s only filled with papers).

      Thank you Andro πŸ™‚

      • Androgoth says:

        There is one thing that is obvious and that is that you care very much for your turtles and the best part of all is that they know it and are responding to your lovely ways of caring for them. You are a special kind of person Miss. Novia and I wish you a very happy new week πŸ™‚

        Andro xxx

      • Novroz says:

        They are indeed my precious ones Andro and I am glad they like me too πŸ™‚

        Thank you Andro. best wish to you too

  11. Boy you sure picked a funny way to sleep Kurome. If I went to sleep standing up I’d fall over.

  12. Deboshree says:

    Oh you mischievous you! Always makes me smile, these posts of your antics. πŸ˜€

Thank you for commenting :)

