This is actually a re-post from  my blog (Polychrome Interest)  on June 26, 2009. I am going to share it again in the more proper blog which is here🙂

After I arrived from Boyolali, leaving Kame and Kroten alone for 4 days (I wrote the story in Indonesian language)…Kame had been acting weird ever since.

She was eating less, she was also restless, going up and down her basking area, swimming frantically, and always tried to climb out of her basking area. She wanted to be out so badly. When I finally let her out, she walked around the house like a patrolling soldier. It’s really weird.

About a week after my arrival, on Sunday, I noticed something else from Kame, she tried to dig the floor with her back leg. I recorded it and asked everyone at redearslider.com on Monday, I had guessed that she was going to lay her eggs…but I needed to be sure and I also need to know what to prepare.

It was confirmed!!! Everyone told me that she is gravid (pregnant reptile). I should prepare a nesting box or watch her dig in the garden. I chose the garden first. I need to do my ‘charity‘ work on Tuesday so I let her out in the early morning for about 20minutes. She found her site and started digging but since the soil is so so hard, 20minutes didn’t give her anything.

1st hole

I went home faster than I was supposed to and went straight to my baby. I let her out and she went back to the same spot. She started digging. Because it was hard, I gave her a little help. I helped her digging using a small shovel and added water to soften the soil. 2 hours had passed and she still hadn’t finished digging. It was already dark so I had to take her home. The soil was all over her, I had to bathe her and let her in the large bucket for an hour so that all the soil was washed away.

I was still doing my charity work on Wednesday. I ran away before it was over and went to Balai in Ps.Minggu to buy some sand…beach sand. I put all the sand into a large bucket…and instead of digging the sand, she always tried to run away from the bucket😦

On Thursday, I tried putting her back into the sand box and once again she tried to climb out of it. So I decided to let her out and let her find her own spot. This time she chose a spot right in front of my front door. She dug it up for 30minutes and because she couldn’t dig any deeper (the soil is so hard) she left her unfinished hole and started wondering around. After another 30 minutes, I got tired watching her walked around and lifted her back to her spot…and somehow she recognized the spot and started re-digging it…and again she left it unfinished.

2nd hole

At that time, I thought since she was in the mood to dig, I lifted her back to her nesting box…and once again she tried to climb out of her box.

Today, Friday, she still hasn’t laid her eggs😦 I am worried for her…if the eggs never come out, she’ll become egg bound and it will put her life in danger…please God don’t let that happen, I love her so much. Amin.

Just found this video…I will made the right nest today

This post will be updated every day till she lays her egg.

*****************

I will share what happened to Kame’s laying eggs process next month as every last week of each month is dedicated to Kame🙂 …or maybe even faster than next month.

Part 2; Part 3; Part 4; Part 5

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

26 responses »

  1. That’s so nice and interesting, I’ve only seen sea turtles laying eggs which is quite a show.

  2. Gizmo says:

    This is so fascinating…I will be watching every day and eagerly following Kame’s progress…Is this her first time laying eggs? I wish her the best of luck

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Gizmo. Since you are new here, I should tell you that Kame had passed away…however, since I still love her and the blog belongs to her, I still share bits of her memory here. This one is one of them. I share it every last week of the month (but for this laying eggs series, maybe I will do it faster than a month).

      It was her first time laying eggs, that’s why she had difficult time doing it.

      Thank you for being so interested Gizmo ((hug))

  3. Oh wow,so cool. Can’t wait to see pat two..xx00xx
    Mollie and Alfie

  4. Hey Kroten, Hey Papoe, Hey Kurome, Jet here. Hi Miss Novroz.

    Wow, we had no idea how arduous (VBP) the process was…

  5. Binky says:

    Next month?! No fair!
    That’s quite an interesting story of Kame’s ordeal.

  6. Donna says:

    Kame ever laid eggs o_O? My Kicky is older than Kame, but she hasn’t.yet. Has Kroten laid eggs?

  7. Hey guys! How have you been? i’m sorry i haven’t come along to visit in a while.😀 We’ve been busy preparing for da videO for Cesar Millan here: http://www.subarubestinshow.com/vote.php?dog_video=226 Today’s the final day for vOting. Just barely 3 hours to go. I was wondering if you would like to help vOte for me one last time today?😀 Thanks a whole lot! Xoxoxo Poppy!

  8. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    That’s fascinating – I’m intrigued to find out what happened?

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

  9. Tony McGurk says:

    Oh now I will have to wait longer for the rest of the egg story. OK looking forward to next episode

  10. […] Kurome wanted to know why Freighter is in a cage. […]

  11. […] mini series (copying Binky’s term) has 6 parts…I hope you all will enjoy it till the last […]

  12. […] you missed previous parts, you can click these links>> Part 1, Part 2, Part […]

  13. jgreerberube says:

    This is amazing! Very interesting!🙂 I was going to try to make (encourage) Bubbles and Jimmy to.. umm.. have turtle-ettes but didn’t because Jimmy bit her😦

  14. […] you missed previous parts, you can click these links>> Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part […]

Thank you for commenting :)

