If you missed previous parts, you can click these links>> Part 1, Part 2, Part 3.

This is a repost of my old post at Polychrome Interest. This part of Kame’s gravid moment was published on August 19, 2009.

********************

About a week ago, my baby turtle, Kame, became restless again 😦 she started moving around aimlessly in her tank and digging the floor. I thought it was over and that this entire act about being gravid was nothing but a false alarm.

Digging again

She’s digging again

This time I was so busy, I didn’t have time to let her out…I can only did it on weekend. I let her dug outside the house. Once, I let her out since 5.30pm till 9.30pm and nothing happened.

The other day, I let her dug in the same place again…and she stopped after 2 hours…Still without any result.

This is how I protect her when I left her alone for a while

This is how I protect her when I left her alone for a while

The last time I let her dug, she stopped after 3 hours.

I do not know what else should I do?? I love her so much but I can’t afford bringing her to a Vet, let along do a surgery on her. Right now, I also have my mom’s health to think about. All I can do right now is praying to God to save these 2 ladies I care the most in this world.

*****************

In 2009, we found out that my mom has tumor in her intestine. We were focusing on how to  cure her. It was impossible for me to think about taking Kame to a vet to have a surgery if she becomes egg-bound. So, at that time, all I could do was pray that she would not become egg-bound.

Here’s a video of such surgery:

******************

The last part of this Kame’s Gravid moment will be posted next week.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

17 responses »

  1. Nekoneko says:

    OHHHH!OHHH!OHHH!!!! Poor baby!! That video was too horrible for me to watch it all because I kept crying too much once they opened her up… I hope it all turned out good for that turtle. 😦

    I’m so glad that didn’t happen to Kame. I know it would have made you even more upset than me, and I’m just imagining it!! You must have been so worried even if your Mother’s trouble were worse back then….

    I didn’t know turtles laid eggs even when they weren’t pregnant…. I just thought they did it for little turtles when they mated.

    • Novroz says:

      Same with me, I couldn’t watch the video. When the vet started the machine to open her plastron, I instantly cried and horrified. I turned it off straight away. I finally managed to watch it after everything was alright with Kame. Fortunately, that turtle in the video looks fine after the surgery.

      That was a difficult time, having loved ones to worry about. The two seemed to connect more than I know.

      I didn’t know that either till it happened on kame.

  2. Binky says:

    That was quite an ordeal.

    I didn’t know that that was also the time that the health problems started for your mother. It must not have been a very pleasant time for you.

  3. Tony McGurk says:

    I hoe she will be ok. Will there eventually be eggs. Waiting for the next episode.

  4. Gizmo says:

    Just when you thought the danger was past…Oh no! And you left us hanging again…That video is astonishing…I guess I never thought about it but of course they’d have to cut the shell to do surgery…is that fiberglass cloth they used for the repair?

    • Novroz says:

      Sorry to left you hanging again…I am just following the order of my old posts 😉

      That video is scary! Before I saw it, I often wondered how does vet do surgery on Turtle…the cutting of the plastron is the scariest part. Yeah I think that’s a fiberglass cloth. The turtle can’t stay in the water too long after the surgery.

  5. Deb says:

    Those were some hard times. I keep you in my prayers.
    xxx

  6. Hey Kroten, Hey Papoe, Hey Kurome, Jet here. Hi Miss Novroz.

    What a horrible time. We’re so sorry you had to deal with so many challenging issues at once. We send condolences on the passing of your Mom. We hope you will accept our healing energy, Jetty kisses and JJ hugs of comfort and support.

  7. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Guys,

    It’s so hard when you have so many things to worry about – I couldn’t even watch the video cos Mum’s around and she’ll probably get all squeamish 🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  8. […] If you missed previous parts, you can click these links>> Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4. […]

Thank you for commenting :)

