I have been sharing Kame’s gravid moment since November. It was originally published in 6 parts…but here, I decided to re-post it in 5 parts.

If you missed previous parts, you can click these links>> Part 1Part 2Part 3, Part 4.

This one was first published at Polychrome Interest on August 22, 2009.

Finally…after a long roller coaster ride…this will be the last post of the nesting series :D…I have big grin on my face…grin of happiness.

2 days ago, Kame had calmed down again…you know, not digging anymore. Things were back to normal again. But something miraculous happened last night.

I went to bed at 11.30, and as usual, Kame slept under her table and Kroten slept next to me. Somewhere in the middle of the night, Kame woke up and started making all the noise a turtle can make. So I put her inside her tank again…I was clueless to what had just happened.

When I woke up in the morning…I saw an incredible thing lying on the floor next to Kame’s table. It was a white egg shell covered with yolk. The yolk was scattered all around my room. I screamed calling my mom “mom…Kame has laid her egg…Kame has laid her egg” I felt soooo happppyyyy……

Kame's egg

Kame’s egg

I took the picture and kissed Kame. I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t see the process because she laid her single egg while I was sleeping, but my happiness overcome that disappointment…now I don’t have to worry anymore 😀

Thank you Allah for lifting 1 burden out of my shoulder, now I need to concentrate on the other burden.

But that was not the last post 😉

On September 10, 2009, I posted the last part of Kame’s gravid moment on my blog, Polychrome Interest.

Somewhere around 1 am…the electricity went out. I was so furious because I can’t go back to sleep. Around 2 am, I still unable to fall asleep due to extreme heat.

But….

As my religion said “Every bad thing always has its good side

And IT DOES!!!!

Somewhere around 2 am…Kame, who was sleeping next to my bed started farting…that’s weird!! was my first thought.

Then….

She started snorting over and over again. I turned on the flashlight and realized that she was struggling to let her egg out.

She moved a few centimeters away from her bed…and she looked painful. I can’t watch her in that state. I love her so much I can’t bare seeing her in pain. I pray to God she’ll be okay.

Then I moved her into the water…and hoping it’ll be easier for her. And it did 🙂

Not long after that, less than 5 minutes, I turned on the light (The electricity had turned on again) and saw an egg inside her tank 🙂

I didn’t see the process directly step by step coz I don’t want her to get annoyed by the light (both lamp and flashlight) and decided not to let the egg out.

So I let her labor in the dark. As much as I want to see the whole process…but her safety comes first. I’m happy just to be able to see the 1st few minutes of her struggle 🙂

It might not be the best way to labor…but 1 egg at a time is way better than no egg at all which is the sign of egg-bind.

I got the picture of her egg now 🙂 this time, it’s not broken 😀

Kame's egg in four direction. The last picture is shot without flash so that you can see the texture

Kame’s egg in four direction. The last picture is shot without flash so that you can see the texture

This is the last of my re-post series 🙂

I hope everyone likes the story.

This might sound funny, I kept the egg in my fridge for a month (more or less) because I wanted to show it to my brothers and I had hard time throwing it away…But I finally threw it.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

25 responses »

  1. Your right, every bad thing has it’s good side..Yipeeeeeeee an egg 🙂 Have a funtaztic Sunday..Wez haz a smile on our face xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. Binky says:

    I’m glad the story had a happy ending, finally. Is it normal for RES to lay one egg and then another one a few weeks later? That seems odd. Did she ever lay any eggs after that?

    • Novroz says:

      I actually don’t know whether it was right or not…she had at least 10eggs in total.

      No, she never had another gravid moment afterward. And Kroten hasn’t even had her gravid moment.

  3. Red says:

    The eggs are so cool. The texture on them is so different from bird eggs.
    xxx

  4. turtrox says:

    Hi there to everyone who writes this wonderful blog.
    I’d just like to say that not only do I love your awesome blog, I’ve also been inspired by it to write a little about my terrapins too on a blog.
    I hope you don’t see it as copying… 😦
    Please tell me if such and I’ll delete it.
    Thank you so much anyway because you’ve really inspired me and I love this blog!!
    My blog is at ww.cheloniansofelysium@wordpress.com

    • Novroz says:

      Hi turtrox 🙂
      I think you put wrong adress to your blog because I can’t open it.

      About copying…I am happy that you decide to make a turtle blog 🙂 more turtle blogs is always welcome. Be creative with it 🙂

      I don’t mind at all as long as you don’t copy any of my post. Every post here is a labor of love, so I will be very angry to anyone who copy-pasted a post….but if someone makes another blog about his turtle, I fully support him/her 🙂

  5. Deboshree says:

    Oh my gosh. Fabulous recounting there, N. I am here after quite a while and have ardently missed all of you. Hope 2012 turns out to be brilliant for you! 😀

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Deboshree 🙂 long time no see…I haven’t been around yours too in a while. Been veru busy.
      I had both sad and great time in 2012. I hope you had better one than me

  6. ashish says:

    why didn’t you incubate them ??were they fertile eggs??
    normally RES have 5-6 eggs in on clutch but you had two ,didn’t you ask a vet about that?

    • Novroz says:

      Yup they were fertile eggs as I didn’t have male turtle at that time.

      Oh no…she didn’t only have 2eggs…several more came out after that. I only shared the first moment when it happened

  7. Donna says:

    Funny thing when my turtle (ahri) laid those parthenogenesis eggs, I’ve tried to incubate them. One of the eggs even “cooked” because I put them under the sun for the long time. I have no idea why I failed to hatch them, until I learn about that in Biology class. 😉

  8. Geoff says:

    It is good to be back Miss. Novia
    and I will be hoping to get an invite
    to you today 🙂 If you don’t receive
    one can you click on this comment
    and request access to my Space 🙂

    Then I can let you in again 🙂 Yaaay

    Geoff aka Andro xxx

  9. Tony McGurk says:

    I can’t believe you threw it away. You should’ve fried it & had it on toast for breakfast. 😀

  10. jgreerberube says:

    Why didn’t you hatch Kame Jr.? 😀

  11. […] Part 2; Part 3; Part 4; Part 5 […]

Thank you for commenting :)

