I went to a Japanese Convention last Saturday and got a cup as souvenir. The cup was in this white box:

DSC00322

Well…you know how I love doing unusual things with my turtles and that hole reminded me so much of Bilbo’s front door. So, instead of throwing it away, I turned it into Papoe’s Room πŸ˜‰

DSC00323

First, I put a small handkerchief inside the box.

DSC00325

Then, I taught Papoe how to enter his new box-room with round door.

DSC00327

Look at him!! He looks comfy πŸ˜‰

DSC00328

Then I folded the handkerchief because Papoe Hates light when he sleeps. He always tries to find a place underneath something just to avoid the light.

DSC00329

Last but not least…I closed the box.

…now, look at him!! Sleeping soundly in his box-room πŸ™‚

DSC00330

I woke him up the next morning…he was still inside πŸ™‚

I put him back there just now. I hope he will learn to climb inside and made that box his special place. All my turtles have their own special place to sleep…all but Papoe.

Note: For those who are wondering why my fresh water turtles don’t sleep on their tank…it is because that’s how I trained them to be closer to me. They all sleep on the ground and back to their tanks in the morning.

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

42 responses »

  1. Deb says:

    Aw, he looks so comfy. And we all nee a special place we can call our own. πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the recent visit too!…it’s always a pleasure! πŸ™‚
    xxx

    • Novroz says:

      Hear hear! πŸ™‚
      I sure hope he can call that place his room.

      You are more than welcome Deb! I have been so busy lately and it feels good to finally have free time to visit all my blogger friends ((hug))

  2. ilovecats says:

    Aww. You’re such a wonderful turtle mom. That looks comfy. I’m sure this can be done on a larger scale for other pets.

  3. That’s so sweet. He has his own hobbit (well turtle) home πŸ™‚

  4. raisingdaisy says:

    I love Papoe’s new room! What a clever thing to do. You’re such a great turtle-mom to think of all these wonderful comforts for your little ones. They’re very lucky to have you.

  5. Loy says:

    What a cute little sleep place for Papoe. Sweet Dreams!

  6. Super cute πŸ™‚ he obviously loved it as he stayed there all night xx00xxx

  7. What a great spot for Papoe!!!! Looks so comfy!

    • Papoe says:

      Yeah…I so badly need my own spot…Kroten has Mommy’s bed (she basically rules the room) and Kurome has the back of our tank…I usually had mommy’s pillow (underneath it) but she always moved me when she wanted to go to bed *sigh*

  8. FleaByte says:

    So cute! I love what you did with the box. Now he just needs a couple of plants, maybe a painting on the wall …

  9. catchatcaren says:

    I love how you made a cozy little haven for him. I bet he will learn to crawl in there on his own.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Caren.
      I sure hope so. I still teach him to crawl in…but at least he stayed this morning and walked out by himself when he heard both Kroten and Kurome’s footsteps walking around the room.

  10. Binky says:

    It looks as if Papoe really likes it in there. Just the right size for him, too.You could print his name over the door like they do for dog houses.

  11. nice…that’s a comfy and eco-friendly room… x0x0x Vanilla Bean

  12. This is so cute! I hope your turtles live a happy long life! I nominated you for β€œVery Inspiring Blogger Award” http://yeararoundmylife.wordpress.com/2013/02/19/very-inspiring-blogger-award/ God Bless!
    – Mary Pacis

  13. What a great house – sweet dreams buddy!

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  14. Nekoneko says:

    Hahaha!! That is sooooo cute!

    My lil’ kitty Ting-Ting has a box of her own too for snoozing up on the window sill of our living room. It’s a box that came with a pair of Carolyn’s shoes… Ting-Ting hopped in it the day she brought them home and wouldn’t let her have it back so we let her keep it figuring she’d get tired of it eventually.

    Nope…. she still curls up in it for hours everyday and Carolyn has to keep that particular pair of shoes in the closet in a plastic bin instead. πŸ˜‰

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Miyuki πŸ™‚

      Lol!! that’s very funny…can you try switching the box unnoticed? I wonder will she recognize it!

      • Nekoneko says:

        Hahaha… No, she’s very protective of “her things” and wont let either of us steal that box back. If we move it she “meows” until we put it back on the windowsill. I think she liked the smell of new leather that permeated it when it arrived… (And now it smell like catnip since she keep her toy catnip mouse in there with her most of the time…) πŸ˜‰

        I imagine Papoe will become attached to his new box too…. most animals like to have their own little cubbyholes to get private time.

      • Novroz says:

        Ting ting is a smart cat πŸ˜‰ or maybe it’s because of sense of belonging.

        Papoe hasn’t come to his box by himself yet, I still have to put him there…but he always stays inside till morning, I guess he feels comfy but hasn’t figure out that that place is his yet.

  15. poet365 says:

    I think he likes his new bed,
    and it certainly looks comfortable πŸ™‚ xxx

  16. Tony McGurk says:

    What a great little room Papoe. Everybody needs a special place

  17. Donna says:

    What a nice idea! If that hole is square shaped, it will be like he’s on TV :D!

  18. What a clever idea. Yippee, Papoe has his own sleeping room now. If he stayed in all night, then I’m sure he’s always going to love it.

  19. Alice Audrey says:

    Box rooms are the best, and this one is decked out great.

  20. […] I provide you with proof of him sleeping under anything. (unfortunately, the box-room didn’t work […]

Thank you for commenting :)

