Back in 2011, Mommy shared Kame and my differences in both physical and behavior…she was actually planning to do more but completely abandoned the idea when Kame left us. You can see the list of our differences in this page> Our Differences. It was once called as Kame vs Kroten.

It has been over a year now and I think we should start that section again. Mommy will try to share about me and Kame based on her memory, she said she had a post drafted ages ago. I will take over the writer position when Kurome and Papoe are being talked about here πŸ˜‰

My two little brothers are from different species, Kurome is a Chinese Three-keeled Pond Turtle (or Reeves Turtle) while Papoe is a Pink Belly Short Necked Turtle (or Emydura Schultzei)…That fact leads to so many differences in their physical appearance πŸ˜‰

One post won’t be enough to cover all their differences…hence I will only share the obvious ones πŸ™‚

1. The Shapes

Carapace

Kurome has a long shaped carapace, he also has three keeled. Papoe’s carapace is round like a coin. Kurome’s carapace reminds me of tortoise rather than fresh water turtle πŸ˜‰

Apart from the shape, Kurome’s carapace is very hard like a rock, even harder than mine…while Papoe’s is very soft.

2. Hiding Methods

DSC09917

Kurome is just like me (Red Eared Slider), he can put all his arms and hind legs inside his shell. he can also push his head inside. As for Papoe, he gave quite a surprise for us….it was the first time we both knew that there is a turtle who can’t put his arms and legs inside the shell, and to make it even weirder he also can’t put his head inside! I guess now we know why Papoe has round shell, he needs it to protect his head, arms and legs πŸ˜‰

3. The Hands

The Claw

Both Kurome and Papoe has web around their claws..however, Papoe has bigger web than Kurome. Papoe’s hand is like all web with small nails. The size of their web determined their ability to swim. Papoe is a really good swimmer, he is very small but he can swim well on my tank while Kurome can die in my tank…he can’t swim well, that’s why he lives in tank with shallow water level.

4. The Eyes

The Eyes

Hohoho…this is the best!! Papoe has yellow eyes with black pupil…Kurome is a special reeves, he is a melanistic reeves turtle, meaning he has all black body including his eyes. He has no bright part at all! How cool is that? His eyes are the one that made Mommy fell in love with him.

5. The Smiles

Last but not least…Kurome and Papoe have differences beak/mouth shape. Kurome has a sad shaped mouth while Papoe has happy smile face.

I will let you all see it for yourselves πŸ˜‰

Kurome's smile

Papoe's smile

Although Kurome has sad shaped mouth…but that doesn’t mean he is not cute!! Trust me, he can be incredibly cute…I am a bit threaten by him, Mommy’s heart often melt whenever she saw Kurome.

Overall…I am happy to have them both as little brothers. Black Kurome and the little Papoe, both are very special to us

About Kroten

My name is taken from Schildkroten (Turtles in German). I am a morph Red ear Slider. My Mommy adopted me on March 19, 2008. I am the oldest in Novroz's turtle family :)

21 responses »

  1. ilovecats says:

    May I link this on my blog? I did get your email and will add tonight thanks.

  2. Ann Paws says:

    Very interesting guys. I have been wondering what types of turtles you are. I don’t think I have ever met any of your kind before.

  3. Binky says:

    I really like the last two photos of Kurome and Popoe’s heads. They both have very unique faces and expressiones.

    • Novroz says:

      Me too πŸ™‚
      I used to have 2 RES…now I have 3 different species, there are so many wonderful differences…and their expressions are the most visible ones. I love Papoe’s smilling face but Kurome has wonderful eyes that go well with his sad mouth shape.

  4. Amy and Toby says:

    This is my first visit, hopping over from the Monday Mischief hop. Love this post and learning about turtles! I’m a follower now, hoping for more great photos and facts! So interesting about the adaptations of the shells and swimming ability.

    • Papoe says:

      Hi Amy and Toby πŸ™‚
      Welcome to our blog πŸ™‚
      Thank you for following our blog, we feel happy every time another animal lovers learn more about turtle from our random blog πŸ˜‰

  5. wow what a great comparison article. I love how they both have webbed feet…. yet how insightful of you to know that doesn’t mean they can both swim well.
    That is the cutest frown I have ever seen!!!
    xoxox
    Lisa, Abigail and Finn
    Soft paw on a Hard Shell

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Lisa πŸ™‚
      The minute I brought them home, I searched through internet what should I do with their species…If I didn’t do that, I could have killed Kurome because he really couldn’t swim well.

  6. Roberta says:

    Hopping over, knowing nothing about turtles/tortoises. Found this fascinating! Thank you.

  7. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    So cool to read all the differences, glad Paope has a big shell to protect him as he can’t hide under his! πŸ™‚

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy πŸ™‚

  8. Red says:

    So sweet!
    xxx

  9. Donna says:

    I like Kurome’s eyes. Its really like dragon eyes, if the iris narrowed. ;3

Thank you for commenting :)

