Mommy said that Cuttlebone is good for my health, especially my shell because it contains a lot of calcium. To make my shell stronger, I must consume a lot of calcium…BUT…I never touched any cuttle bone given by Mommy. Kroten always eats it, Kurome also starting to eat it now…I am the only one who haven’t eaten that thing yet.

Mommy usually cut it and tied it with plastic rope like this:

DSC00363

I don’t know why I just don’t like it!!

Mommy also gives us Apple peel because it contains a lot of vitamin E which is good for shedding process…both Kurome and I never ate it (Kroten eats everything give to him)

Mommy HAS to make me and Kurome eat what we don’t like.

Just like all Mommies in this world…she came up with a way to create new food that can tricks us…tricking us to eat food we don’t usually eat.

Mommy made us a cuttlebone-apple peel jelly.

Here are the steps:

  1. Cut cuttlebone into small pieces
  2. Crush the big pieces with fingers
  3. Blender some apple peel
  4. Put both apple peel and cuttlebone on a pan
  5. Add some instant jelly powder (make sure it’s a plain one)
  6. Boil it
  7. Freeze it in the fridge (add pellets before putting it in the fridge)
  8. Ready to serve 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mommy made that jelly yesterday, and….

Kurome had no problem at all!! He ate it straight away…he even ate it from Mommy’s fingers.

DSC00352

As for me…it took about 15 minutes for me to analyze was it good to eat or not…Mommy was a bit worried, but I made her smile when I started munching it 🙂

DSC00355

I think this is the best Mischief Mommy had ever done to me 😉 and I can no longer do a mischief toward food 😉

About Papoe

Hi...I am named Papoe (read: pa-poo) because my origin is from Papua New guinea :) I am a Pink belly short Necked Turtle. Mommy adopted me on March 11, 2012. I am struggling with my body size...maybe I am a midget

19 responses »

  1. you certainly have one clever Mommy!

  2. Bailey says:

    Resistance is futile when it comes to Moms and our health. They just keep working on us until we give in.

    • Papoe says:

      Hear hear!! I am glad she came up with a way to force me eat that hard food…but I should prepare for her future tricky food from now on 😉

  3. Binky says:

    That’s funny. Kids never seem to want to eat what is good for them! It’s good you found a way to make it more appetizing for them.

    • Novroz says:

      Kids…both animals and humans are the same 😉
      I have to figure out the same food first, I think seaweed jelly is the best. I am glad they like it.

  4. Looks pretty boring, now if it had Peanut butter on it..YUM 🙂 xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

  5. Deb says:

    I thick my dogs into eating things by putting it is a little peanut butter…like medicine.

  6. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Hey Buddy,

    It sounds like she tricked you good this time!! I bet you’ll even be rushing up for more next time she brings it out?! My Mum does that with medication and she gets me to eat it too!

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

    • Papoe says:

      Yeah she did!! but no complain here 😉
      She hasn’t made it again but I am hoping soon.

      Euuuh…medication must tasted worst than my cuttlebone 😉

  7. […] shared about Mommy’s trick to make him eat cuttlebone….well I am proud to say that I need no trick to eat […]

  8. Red says:

    Mommy sure does love you to do all of that to get you to eat your food. xxx

  9. Donna says:

    Wow, it looks like human’s food too. I probably taste it if I don’t know it’s turtle food. :\

  10. […] can mix anything here. I once made a cuttlebone+apple peel jello> here. Strawberry+cuttlebone. Just be […]

Thank you for commenting :)

