These past few months, I have made my mommy worried. I had whitish part on my carapace. She was SO SURE it was fungus.

She gave me ointment, put me under the sun as much as she could, worried sick that I have fungus.  It was a double worry, me who never grow big plus fungus😉

Well…last week we found out that I was just teasing her😉 hehehe naughty me. It turned out, the whitish part on my shell was my scutes which are ready to shed.

She was thrill to see half of my scute peeled off like the picture below:

DSC00434

Here’s another angle. You can also see other whitish spots on my carapace.

DSC00431

See how it peels off nicely😉

DSC00435

I know that I have made Mommy worry for nothing, so I have to apologize by giving her my cutest face.

DSC00438

I am sharing my mischief at

About Papoe

Hi...I am named Papoe (read: pa-poo) because my origin is from Papua New guinea :) I am a Pink belly short Necked Turtle. Mommy adopted me on March 11, 2012. I am struggling with my body size...maybe I am a midget

28 responses »

  1. Wow, that’s amazing and great close ups for us to see🙂 xx00xxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  2. kdkh says:

    I’m so glad! No one needs a fungus among us. Good to see he’s growing up a little.

    • Papoe says:

      Indeed!! The thought of the fungus had made Mommy so worry. She never thought that it was a shedding process because I am still tiny.

      No, unfortunately I haven’t grown yet.

  3. Phew! Glad it wasn’t anything to worry about

  4. Glad it wasn’t fungus! That stuff is VERY hard to get rid off on turtles.

    • Papoe says:

      We are glad too🙂 She said, she doesn’t want to have 2 turtles infected with that awful thing. Kroten has some under her scutes and Mommy been trying to feed her as much vit E and calcium as possible to make her shed her infected scutes

  5. i guess it’s natural of hu-mums to worry about the slightest things… and you sure gave her the cutest apologetic face Papoe x0x0x Vanilla Bean

    • Papoe says:

      Yeah…hu-mums and their worry😉 I know it means that she loves us but she needs to stop worrying. Let me just say, she melts seeing my apologetic face….it’s nice to be cute, right VB😉

  6. Binky says:

    If you’re losing your old scutes, does that mean you’ve grown a bit Papoe?

  7. usoncloud9 says:

    Glad that you’re not suffering from a fungus! When you shed, do you grow? Sort of like a snake?

    • Papoe says:

      Hi Kats🙂 welcome to our blog. Nah…I haven’t grown. Shedding scute is mot always being bigger, it often just a process to throw away the old scutes or else they will retain and turn like a pyramid (pyramiding)

  8. I had no idea! Cool photos to explain.

  9. Bailey says:

    Poor Mom. I bet she was glad to find out though.

  10. Gizmo says:

    Wow I never saw that before…I didn’t know it peeled like that…you’re an imp for worrying your mom🙂

    • Papoe says:

      Oh…you should see Kame’s scutes! She shed nicely and Mommy collected them and put them all together again. The scutes are now on her bedroom’s wall.

      I have turned Mommy’s worry to happiness😉

  11. Loy says:

    That certainly was a cute face. So glad you weren’t ill! Have a happy week!

  12. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Haha – You’re like me buddy, making your mom worry!!🙂 Glad you’re ok though🙂

    Wags to all

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

  13. Donna says:

    Mischievous fungus! And first shedding!😀

    • Papoe says:

      The fungus is a false alarm although they could easily attack in my fragile shedding time. We are keeping our eyes for it.
      Small and full fungus is not an ideal situation for me😉

Thank you for commenting :)

