This was originally posted on April 4, 2007 in Indonesian Language.

dah gede nihAs always, every last week on each month is dedicated to my sweet Kamechan  :) I translated the post I have written 5 years ago, back then Kame was still few months old, around 5 months to be exact.

*******************

It has been few months since I last write about my sweet Kamechan…

Recently, my brother told me, “I regret giving Kame to you.” I asked him back, “Why?” He answered, “Because you are like a crazy person now! Talking to a turtle, playing with a turtle!” Whuahaha I couldn’t help laughing so much…It’s a kind of madness I have every time I have a pet, I instantly love him/her sooooo much and talking to him/her comes naturally.

There’s nothing much to talk about Kame these past few months, however there was a moment when she did something that touched my heart deeply.  Last month I was so busy and always came home late at night, so I had no time to play with Kame. One day, when I let her out of her tank and let her wander around without even giving her a slight attention to play with her.

Do you know what she did?

She climbed on my feet, stayed there and looked at me with those attention seeker kind of eyes. I kept on typing my work after petting her head for a second. Amazingly, Kame kept on looking at me for about half an hour. I finally gave in and took her on my lap. Isn’t she so sweet?

mycutekame

And then, lately I have been busy watching Heroes so I often slept late. Kame always sleeps at 8. Few days ago, she suddenly woke up and crawled onto my lap (I was sitting on the floor at that time), when I took her back to her ‘bed’ she climbed back onto my lap and stayed there till I finished watching Heroes.

*******************

That was what I wrote 5 years ago🙂

Till this day, none of my turtles (tho I still love them) acts like her.

There was also one moment that I will never forget. I was still into Harry Potter (not so much now as I am incredibly disappointed with the ending), I just bought the 6th book and read it intensely. I let Kame wandering around while I was reading the book in prone position.

Knowing she was being neglected, Kame climbed onto my back, I petted her and kept reading. Somehow, she knew she was still being ignored, she climbed down and climbed onto my open book…and that instantly made me smile and closed the book to play with her till she got bored and left me.

Maybe you think the stories sound too farfetched for you, but  those are all true moments I will always remember.

In memory of Kame (in memory)

Shared at

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

22 responses »

  1. catchatcaren says:

    I can’t believe you wrote this all the way back in 2007!!!! That’s a loooong time ago! I loved that charming story

    • Novroz says:

      I have been blogging since 2005🙂 but not very active because the blog host I used wasn’t good at all.
      Thank you Caren and Dakota ((hug))

  2. I never knew they were so clever, she obviously wanted to watch hero’s..LOL Have a wonderful Sunday xx00xx

    Mollie and Alfie

    • Novroz says:

      I didn’t know either back then. She was the cleverest I ever had🙂
      Aha…it was still Sunday at your place when I posted this post…timezone effect😉

  3. Binky says:

    It’s always nice to hear stories about your turtles. Before we met, I never really thought turtles were all that interactive with their owners, but now I have learned that they can be, and can show interest and affection and a whole lot more.

    • Novroz says:

      I thought so too…I mean they are after all cold blooded animals. But I guess love makes them as warm as the warm blooded animals😉
      I watched a discovery channel once and it said that Croc has very tiny brain and that made it impossible to have them as a pet…but I have met someone who carries his Croc on his shoulder and he said that the croc never bite anyone and very nice.

  4. Samuel says:

    Awww she is adorable.

  5. What an amazing turtle Kame was and what wonderful memories. No matter the breed, there’s always one that holds an unbelievably special place in our hearts. One that somehow reacts to us like no other can.

  6. Misaki says:

    That’s so cute. When mummy ignores me by sleeping in late I step on her back too – only I weigh a bit more than Kame bol

  7. Cope says:

    Kame never gave up.🙂

  8. barkandchatter says:

    Awww… those are some very sweet memories!🙂

  9. What a beautiful post – Kame sure knew how to get your attention – I love that you were both snuggled together watching TV, so cute! And I totally think it’s cool to talk to animals!🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Annette and Snoopy🙂
      I often put Kame on my lap when she was still my only turtle and watched TV together, tho she always ended up sleeping, I guess that shaped her a bit.

      Yaiii \(^_^)/ … crazy as it might sound, I think they understand things we told them, well at least some of it. Animals aren’t that stupid.

  10. Awww what a special friend! Kame loved you very much!

  11. Donna says:

    Well, first love always sweeter, right?

Thank you for commenting :)

