The Adventure of Little Papoe

Adventure #1 : Papoe and Baby Grasshopper

On a beautiful afternoon, Papoe is walking under the tree to keep him cool. He enjoys walking around the riverbed but he makes sure he never cross the river because his mommy once said that he might not be strong enough to cross it.

Papoe is thinking of taking a swim because the day is so beautiful but before he gets to the water he hears a cry. He looks everywhere, wondering who cries in such beautiful day.

1

He sees a baby grasshopper on a big rock.

“Why are you crying?” asks Papoe.

The baby grasshopper startles and jumps back, “oh no! A turtle!” he looks more terrified than before and cries louder.

Papoe is so confused. “Why are you crying even louder than before?”

“You’re a turtle!” answers baby grasshopper, “You’ll eat me!” he resumes his cry.

Papoe looks puzzled, “should I eat you? Do you taste good?”

Baby grasshopper stops crying and starts thinking, “hmm…I don’t know, I never eat myself.”

Papoe looks at him thoroughly and said “You don’t look tasty to me!”

“But…but…Mama said that turtles eat grasshopper…so I must look tasty to you!” says baby grasshopper.

“Okay then if you persist, I will eat you now,” says Papoe. Papoe moves forward and opens his mouth.

“Oh No!! What have I done,” thinks the baby grasshopper, “I shouldn’t have said that.” Baby grasshopper begs to Papoe “No, don’t eat me. I lied, I taste horrible.”

“ha ha ha ha,” Papoe laughs so hard. “I was joking, I am not going to eat you but you kept saying you taste good so I teased you a bit.” Papoe winks at baby grasshopper. “I never ate a grasshopper before, my mommy only lets me eat vegetables.”

“Fiuh..” baby grasshopper sighs in relieve.

“Where’s your home?” asks Papoe.

“There…across the river. I saw a leaf floating on water and decided to jump onto it. Before I knew it, the leaf was carried away to this side of the river. Can you help me get back home? Asks baby grasshopper.

“I would love to, but mommy told me NEVER to cross the river because it’s dangerous,” answers Papoe.

“Oh please Mr. Turtle…please help me,” begs baby grasshopper.

“I am so sorry. I really can’t help you,” Papoe walks away.

Baby grasshopper cries again. Papoe has no heart to leave baby grasshopper like that. He keeps thinking what he should do. Then, something sets so clear in his mind. He walks back to baby grasshopper’s rock.

“Okay, hop onto my back. I will carry you across. But you must promise never to tell anyone that I swim across the river! Says Papoe.

“I promise Mr. Turtle,” baby grasshopper wipes his tears away.

“Call me Papoe,” says Papoe, “ what’s your name?”

“Alang,” answers baby grasshopper.

2

Thus for the first time in his life, Papoe swims across the river. He is so small that no one can see him swimming with a little grasshopper on his back trying to hold still. Papoe swims harder than he ever swims before. Fortunately the stream is not so fast that day.

“Here we are,” says Papoe. Alang jumps from Papoe’s back.

“Thank you Papoe,” says Alang, “I will never forget your kindness.”

“Don’t mention it,” answers Papoe with a smile on his beak, “I must get back now or mommy will be very worry. Don’t go hopping on a leaf that floats on river again, Alang. Hope you’ll get home safely.” Papoe waves at Alang and starts swimming back to his side of the river.

When he arrives home, he is so tired and sleeps for hours. That has been a tiring adventure for a turtle his size.

DSC00418

****************************

Note:

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

44 responses »

  1. Red says:

    What a hero!
    xxx

  2. Binky says:

    Papoe was lucky the river wasn’t fast and furious that day or the story may not have ended so well!

    • Papoe says:

      Well…it’s my first time in a story…so I a, sure Mommy won’t hurt her main character😉
      …and I hope she will never put me in a very dangerous story🙂

  3. hello papoe its dennis the vizsla dog hay wel this ternd owt wel for all konsernd!!! however if yoo enkownter a skorpion wot wants to go akross the river do not agree to kerry him!!! ok bye

  4. Papoe that was soooo kind of you not to eat the baby grasshopper and to help him get across the river. I am sure your kindness will be greatly rewarded!

  5. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    That is such a cute story! I knew there was mischief going on really and you’re Mom just didn’t know! Tee Hee

    Glad you got back ok, you little hero!

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

    • Papoe says:

      Well Snoopy, there will be a lot of adventures that Mommy will not know😉 ….well Mommy in my story that is! Mommy who wrote the story knows it well😉

      Thank you Snoopy🙂

  6. Ann Staub says:

    Aww I loved this story! And I love the cute picture of Papoe at the top – that is too cute! You are very brave Papoe!

  7. barkandchatter says:

    Papoe, what an adventure! I hear grasshoppers taste terrible, anyway!

  8. Gizmo says:

    What a sweet boy Papoe is…He’s got a big heart for such a little turtle boy

  9. Misaki says:

    Aww Papoe is such a good turtle:-)

  10. Deb says:

    Very brave of Papoe.😉
    xxx

  11. raisingdaisy says:

    Papoe is such a cutie! I love that header picture of him smiling his biggest smile.😀

  12. Alice Audrey says:

    I’m so glad Papoe made it back without incident.

  13. oldegg says:

    You are lucky Papoe to have Mommy write such a good story about you. Lucky you were not that hungry when you met Alang the grasshopper.

    • Papoe says:

      Thank you Uncle Robin🙂
      I am lucky that she chose me to be her main character😉 I never ate one and doubtful mommy will ever let me eat one.

  14. niharika says:

    chhooooo cute chooo kind brave papoe.❤

  15. Donna says:

    Good deeds! Great Papoe!

  16. libbyQ says:

    i think Papoe is correct; baby (and adult) grasshoppers probably don’t taste too good.
    such a cute story and that first shot of Papoe smiling is so much fun~!
    🙂
    libbyQ

  17. robintoffee says:

    Great story!
    If you got swimming in the river again tell me so I can join you😉 I love swimming!

  18. Hey Papoe! Mommy let me use my account finally. (I mean…it is named after me! XD)

    I’ve never had any grasshoppers either. Mommy says that I should stick to the things that she can get easily. I wonder if they taste good…

    Just kidding!

    -Jo-Jo

  19. TheTurtleGirl says:

    I love your stories so much very funny xD

  20. crocky78 says:

    I totally laughed at:
    “I don’t know, I never eat myself.”
    Nice one.

Thank you for commenting :)

