This is a RE-Post, originally posted on May 15, 2010 by Kame.

*********************************

You know that turtles are reptilian, don’t you?

And just like most reptile, I also shed my skin…but because I only have small amount of skin and lots of hard shell, I also shed my shell🙂

My shell is divided into 2, Plastron and Carapace. Plastron is the bottom shell and carapace is the upper shell.

I haven’t shed my scute because my mom gave me the wrong diet…Wait!! What is scute? Scute is the parts that build turtle shell. See the picture on the right! That was my 1st scute, it was shed on February 14.

My mommy was literally jumping ups and downs of excitement. She was so happy because that scute means she finally gave me the right diet.

I continue making her happy by shedding my scute one after the other🙂 on May 5, I had shed 4/6 parts of my plastron’s scute. Mommy keeps all my scutes, she was going to unite them all once I had finished shedding all my scutes.

Few nights ago, I made my mommy happy again by shedding 4 more scutes from my left side shell.

You can see that I have brighter color than before🙂 I can’t wait to see my self wearing new and brighter shell. Mommy will be proud of me…I know she will.

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

12 responses »

  1. Deb says:

    You have made mommy so proud of you!…I am too!
    I’m glad you are on the right diet now!
    xxx

  2. Binky says:

    This is nice to know, but also sad. I’m glad you saves Kame’s scutes and made that display out of them.

  3. Donna says:

    So, did you manage to unite them, mbak Novi? I think it is a good idea.

  4. shirl says:

    ur kame looks so big when he/she shed, my turtle is only 2 inches and in the half, she is already shedding her plastron, is that like too early?

    • Novroz says:

      No. Kame was late because of the wrong food I gave her. After researching then I knew what’s right for her

      • DaysWithHarriet says:

        I am new to this site, and am so glad I found it. I have just become a new mommy to a little baby girl turtle named Harriet, (Or Harry). Can you give me some recommendations on what to feed her? I want my little girl to have the best I can possibly give her!

      • Novroz says:

        Hi Harriet’s mom🙂

        Unfortunately I am currently unable to use my pc so I can’t copy and paste a link here. You can click turtle fact (it’s on the top of this blog) and there you can find article called what to eat and what not to eat. It’s a list of food for turtles

Thank you for commenting :)

