This is a RE-Post, originally posted on October 24, 2010 by Kame.

*************************************************

Baca dalam bahasa Indonesia>> disini

Alhamdulillah (Thank God)… I finally shed all my scutes away🙂 they are now 100% new. It took 10 months to shed them all, from February to October. 10 months to shed all my 53 old scutes. The last 6 scutes had been shed off one by one in the last couple of weeks.

It’s nice to know that my shedding process ended at the same month when I first came into my mom’s custody. October surely is my special month. I have laid my eggs last year, and now I have finished my shedding…what is left is to lose more weight, I’m still a bit obese.

My shedding process has made my pyramiding problem become less then before. I’m not going to tell you about the changes that happened to my carapace’s pattern, I had already written about that in my previous post, here. I’m going to focus on my pyramiding now.

Look at the picture on the left!

(You can enlarge it by clicking on it). My old scute, on my back side, looked curvy and pointing down. This is the effect of pyramiding. My new scutes look round without any curves that point downward.

Look at the picture on the right! On the top of my head, my old scutes were pointing upward with poignant edge. My new ones are flat and roundy. They looked so normal

Look at the picture on the left! My side scutes that used to look like dragon skin, all pointing outward with poignant edge are no longer there, it looks roundy and normal now.

Look at the picture on below! Both pictures are taken from above, you can see clearly how different my old scutes are to my new scutes. Those poignant scutes no longer exist🙂

The only problem left is my bumpy area. From the picture below, you can see that the bump on my top carapace is not as bumpy as before anymore, but it’s not perfect yet. And it’s still flat (flatter than Kroten’s)

I wonder if my carapace will ever look like when I was younger again.

You can see my scutes in here

About Kame (R.I.P)

I am a 5 years old Red Ear Slider who happen to be so Narcissist and love sharing about my life and other turtle-ish story

17 responses »

  1. Caroline says:

    Ah. She is becoming even more of a beauty. I had no clue they shed their scutes. Does the color change? It looks a bit as if.

    • Novroz says:

      I didn’t know either when I first have turtles, wrong food will make the scutes stay forever.

      Yes, the color become brigther and the pattern become clearer. But I notice that it slowly become darker again.

  2. […] In October 2010, I finally shed ALL my scutes away. i have a completely new Carapace…yeaaa (^^)/. You can read the details of my new carapace in here. […]

  3. Binky says:

    It’s funny all the things you don’t know about an animal until someone points it out. I didn’t know that a turtle’s scutes could become misshapen like that, or that it was a problem.

  4. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    I think it’s amazing that you can shed a whole new shell!!🙂

    Hope you’re having a fun day🙂

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

  5. chesire says:

    Can you give me advice about taking care of new res hatchlings?

  6. Mary Inman says:

    Novroz, I was just looking around on your site and I noticed this post. I am wondering, where did you get the number of 55 scutes? Turtles do not have 55 scutes. Every terrapin, sea turtle, tortoise, and box turtle I have ever seen myself, or pictures of, all have a total of 50. There are 13 major scutes on their carapace, 12 on their plastron, and 25 around the edge. I call the edge their little skirt. So far, I have been unable to find any proper name for it but the edge.

    This was something I noticed 17 years ago with our first turtle, Manny, who was a RES, and then with every pic I ever saw when my ex and I studied up on proper care. I still notice it even in pictures now. I also noticed it when I was a kid when we found wild turtles and kept them a few days or so and let them go. Knowing what I know now, we were always told information that was not true that was apparently passed down. We were told that you could determine a turtle’s age by the amount of its sections. I always wondered why they were always the same age, no matter how large or small they were. I knew something wasn’t right about that! Lol

    We only had one as a pet when I was a kid, and from what I know now, that poor little thing was sick and never ever had a chance. They were bringing RES babies in in mass quantities to be sold and they came with a tray far too small and a little palm tree. That little turtle was never active at all. We’d hold it and it wouldn’t even move.😦 This was in the late 60s. It makes me sad now knowing that little turtle suffered from the time it was brought to be sold.😥 It was just a tiny baby. They sold them for a quarter and gave no instructions on how to care for them. As I said, they were already sick and doomed anyway because of the mass quantities they were brought in to be sold and the filthy conditions they were kept in before being sold.😦

    As my ex and I got each new turtle, I noticed they all have the same number. I counted the scutes in your pictures on your turtle and there are not 55. There are 25 around the edge, 13 on the carapace, and 12 on the plastron? That is why I am curious as to how you came up with the number of 55 scutes? Did some pieces shed in 2 different parts and you thought they were 2 scutes?

    I always thought it was so cool that God made turtles with 13 scutes on top, 12 on the bottom, and that those 2 numbers add up together to make the 25 around the edge. I found several websites to support what I am saying. There were some sites where people said they had been told otherwise, counted turtle scutes for themselves, and found the higher numbers that they had been told about or read about were wrong!

    I downloaded some of your pics where it clearly shows the scutes on the top, bottom, and the edge and there are only a total of 50. I blew the pictures up to make sure too. That’s why I’m asking you how you got the number 55. I saved Manny’s shedded scutes and I put some in with his remembrance picture in a beautiful frame. I also save Maylee’s. I have his very first sheds from when he was a baby.🙂 My ex made sure to save his scutes, put them in little plastic ziploc bags, and put the dates on them. I still save some of his newer sheds now. I don’t save them all anymore. I usually save the pieces that come out beautifully whole.🙂

    He really likes it when I tell him how cute he is, how tiny he used to be, and that his head is bigger now than his whole self was when he was a tiny baby. He just looks at me and blinks his beautiful emerald eyes at me. I love it when I talk to all 3 of them separately, look them straight in their eyes, and can tell they understand exactly what I am saying by their reactions. They still miss their daddy too. They look very sad if I mention him. It’s so funny how when I talk to them that they move their little mouths like they are saying something back to me but no sound comes out. I tell them I know what they’re trying to say and I do by the look in their eyes.🙂

    • Mary Inman says:

      I forgot to add this. I have a new and better phone now Novroz so now I can make spaces between paragraphs.🙂 I am sure you probably noticed! I hope Kurome is doing better. I have been praying for him. I still think the problem is probably jealousy. That is why our cat would pester Manny when all he wanted to do was enjoy his hallway running and basking time outside of his aquarium. We’d block the area off and she would keep jumping in an out just to try and bully him. She didn’t like it that she wasn’t the center of attention anymore. He held his own though when he barked at her! She did not like that at all!

      Papoe is not even as friendly to you either as Kurome is. Maybe they also sense that even he loves you more! I wish they could all get along. Part of it could also be that they are all males. There is usually always competition among male animals and it’s worse in captivity. If they grew up together from babies all at the same time, they usually will get along.

      In the wild you see RESs all stacked up on each other on one log. People try to say they aren’t social! If they weren’t social animals, they wouldn’t socialize with each other. I think some people don’t want to socialize with their RESs because they are wet and they’d rather not waste the time or effort. My ex and I had friends who had one and my ex would always show it love and play with it. His mama just let him sit there, paid him no attention, then once in awhile when she tried to he’d bite her. I think he was showing his disdain for her not showing him the love he felt he deserved. She loved her snake more and that poor little turtle had to watch her treating the snake well while she ignored him. I am really blessed that all my turtles have always gotten along well and show each other love too!

      • Mary Inman says:

        Novroz, I looked at that picture of the after shed and saw the she had one extra scute on her carapace. That could’ve happened due to the pyramiding, an improper diet, too fast of growth, or possibly just a birth defect. Turtles can get birth defects too. My Maylee grew too fast and he has one misshapen scute in the middle. No pyramiding. It has never straightened out though. Even with his new sheds. I’ve seen RESs with 2 heads and their carapace is so wide because of how they grew in the egg and having extra internal organs to support the 2 heads. Most of the time they don’t live long. Her shell was a very beautiful color! I know you must miss her. I still miss my Manny. The saddest part was that my husband was completely broken with grief when he passed away. I had never heard him so upset and screaming. After he buried him he came in the back door, fell to his knees, and cried so hard.😥 Manny was his little buddy. They’d watch Pokemon together and Manny would sit on his lap watching the whole cartoon. It is so sad to lose a pet.😦 I believe we will see them again someday when our time comes. Manny would sleep upside down on him. He didn’t care whether he was upright or not, as long as he was sleeping with his daddy. He knew he was safe. He was very “Speshell”! My husband even wrote and printed a little story about his life with us and put his picture on it. Like the way they do at funeral homes. I just hope Kurome is doing well! I have been praying for him!

      • Novroz says:

        Yes, she had 14 scutes on her carapace since the day I got her.
        I miss her everyday but I focus more on how I am blessed to have Kurome and Papoe after she was gone, because if she was still here I wouldn’t buy Kuro and Papoe. Keeping that in mind makes it less sad.

        Your Manny and my Kame were very special🙂

      • Novroz says:

        So I have seen🙂

        I have heard so much about how we should keep the turtles like they are in nature, never handle them too much, etc. But I always think that how can they love you back if never touch them and play with them. I have written this one day because someone talked a lot about how I shouldn’t handle them> https://kamekroten.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/do-they-look-like-stress-turtles-to-you/

    • Novroz says:

      You can see all the scutes here http://bokunosekai.wordpress.com/2010/11/04/turtle-puzzle/🙂

      I wrongly typed it, it was 53.

  7. Roro says:

    I see u said alhamdolillah in the begining.. r u muslim? 😊

Thank you for commenting :)

