First…remember this video?

Kroten wants to be lifted every time she sees me. She also acts like that with my dad. She didn’t want to be lifted but shows expression to be lifted (at that time she still showed reluctance with the whole family but had grown curiosity toward us). This video is for an old post called Kroten and My Father.

Kroten (and all my turtles) has been living with family for years…she gets used to us. As you all know, I recently moved to my school’s dormitory. What I haven’t shared is that I have a roommate who only stays here once or twice a week.

Kroten (and all my turtles) always sleeps out of her tank, she has her own little ‘bed’.

One morning, when I was taking a bath and Kroten stayed in the room with my roommate….when I came back, Kroten was chasing my roommate. At that time, I thought “ah..my Kroten is so used with human and now she chases anyone.” but then when I called her name she became confused. She looked at me and then at my roommate and then at me again as if she was confused who is her mommy. I laughed and said “hahaha which one is your mommy, Kroten?

And to my surprise, she walked toward me! She started raising her body and lifted one of her arms, a sign that she wanted to be lifted or touched.

DSC00053

This is an old picture, not the one happens recently

My curiosity got the better of me. I told my roommate to extend her hands toward Kroten. I wanted to see whether Kroten would respond the same toward her. She stayed still, arms on the floor with her whole body on the floor…she didn’t even lift her body. She was only looking at my roommate. then when I extended my hands at Kroten, she immediately lifted her body and her arm.

I was fascinated with Kroten’s attitude. Once again, my turtle has given me a surprise. I never knew turtle can recognize its family so well.

From my observation, I think at first Kroten thought that my roommate was me because she didn’t make sound…but when I came in and said something she knew she was chasing the wrong person. When my roommate bended down to extend her hands at Kroten, Kroten could see her face clearly and noticed that she wasn’t me.

Turtles are amazing creature

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

36 responses »

  1. Tamimo says:

    Your turtles are sooooo smart

  2. Binky says:

    That is quite interesting, and something you wouldn’t know until you’ve spent a lot of time with a turtle. I don’t know how well they’re supposed to see, or how far they can see clearly. From a distance, your roommate may look enough like you to confuse Kroten. And like you said, when Kroten got a good (and probably closer) look at your roommate, she realized it wasn’t you. It’s possible sent may also be involved.

    • Novroz says:

      I don’t know either, but I am assuming that they don’t have good eyesight…that’s way when I said something she recognized me from my voice and then when I bend down she recognized my face from closer distance…but that’s only my theory.

      Sent? Did you mean scent? I don’t know about that, but if that’s also involved then she could smell my roommate before I came to the room.

  3. Very amazing. I had no idea they could recognize their family like that.

    • Novroz says:

      It’s a new thing for me too. All this time I thought I have helped them to get used to human and not realizing that they are quite choosy to whom they want to get used to.

  4. Beth Ann says:

    I had no idea that turtles would recognize humans as family but it makes sense ! You have cared for your turtles so well and they have seen you as mom!!! Lovely post.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Beth🙂

      I didn’t know that either…and this morning, Kroten even did something more spectacular, she looked away and shifted her body sideways from my roommate when she tried to extend her hands again.

  5. Misaki says:

    They sure are amazing, I never knew they were that smart

  6. raisingdaisy says:

    That’s SO interesting! It’s obvious that Kroten really does know you as her mommy and trusts you completely. My daughter absolutely loved this post and always loves seeing pictures of your little turtle family.🙂

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Daisy’s mom🙂 Say thanks to your daughter too🙂

      I want to test her biting too but no one wants to volunteer😦 She can distinguish fingers from food after long training but other people are afraid she might bite their finger.

  7. WOW, We never knew turtles were so smart🙂 xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  8. anon says:

    Turtles can indeed recognise and differentiate, be it their own kind or human. One of my turtle is extremely skittish and frantically run and hide when other people approaches, but not when I approach.

    One of my other turtle, let’s call her A, hates another, B, and always attack her while ignoring others. Now that I’ve separated them, B still cowers in fear whenever I put them together, and A still wants to attack occasionally.

    They ain’t the smartest creatures, but ain’t completely dumb either.

  9. FleaByte says:

    Wow. I had no idea that turtles were so personable. Do you think maybe that they have poor vision and that’s why you were mixed up with your roommate?

  10. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    That is so cool!! I love that she knows her mommy!🙂

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

  11. Terry Cramer says:

    I love your blog! Your babies are adorable!!! So sweet. I live near an animal rescue shelter and they have some huge tortoises that are African……Tortoises. I forgot what the other descriptive word is. The tortoises live there. They can live up to 100 years old. Do tortoises share qualities of turtles? Your little guys seem more alert and interactive. Thanks!
    Terry, Livvie and Kessie, from MatildasJourney.com

    • Novroz says:

      Hi Terry🙂

      In some way turtles are similar with tortoise but there are also SO many differences.
      Tortoise can live longer than fresh water turtles, mine will live up to 30years. I don’t know how active or inactive tortoise can be because I never have one.

      Thank you for stopping by Terry🙂

  12. Deboshree says:

    Your little pets are super smart and super cute. Say my hello to them!🙂

  13. Donna says:

    Hahaha! This is remind me too! My turtles used to be like that, chase everyone, even stranger (But as they get older, they only chase family’s members, especially me).
    At that time, I surprised too. I didn’t think that turtles can do that. Yup! turtles are amazing!

  14. Nekoneko says:

    I love watching the videos… it’s so neat to see Kroten begging for attention like that. Most people would think turtles aren’t so loving towards their owners, but she certainly shows that she really wants to be close to you and share that feeling of “belonging” to you. It’s so unexpectedly and heart meltingly sweet….🙂

  15. tamimo1 says:

    Please blog more! I enjoy your creative and funny stories. I hope my turtle will be as great as yours.🙂

  16. Alice Audrey says:

    Cool. Makes you feel loved, doesn’t it?

  17. TheTurtleGirl says:

    I wish my turtle could roam around by the way your turtles are amazing

Thank you for commenting :)

