You all know by now that I let my turtles sleep on the floor with some rags, this happened few weeks ago. I let Kroten slept near my computer screen (you can see the rag near my PC) and then I felt hungry and took a banana to eat. Before I ate it, I put it on my side. The smell of banana immediately awaken Kroten from her sleep. She took a sniff and bit it.

I took my camera and recorded the moment. NOT TOO LONG though because fresh water turtles or terrapin can’t eat on ground, they need water to swallow the food. After a few bites I put her back to her tank so that she could swallow the banana.

This post and video will lead to turtle fact I have just realized recently. Can they see colours?

Shared at

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

35 responses »

  1. KDKH says:

    How cute! My parrot steals my food much the same way!

  2. Gray Dawster says:

    This is great Miss. Novia, and
    Kroten certainly enjoyed that
    banana🙂 lol

    Andro xxxx

  3. What a smart girl! I like it to watch them when they eat :o)

  4. animewookie says:

    Adorable! Made my morning Nov❤

  5. Misaki says:

    hahahaha Kroten sure looks like she’s enjoying that!

  6. jojotheres says:

    Kroten must have loved that banana!😄

  7. Kroten is like my husband, he LOVES bananas

  8. Binky says:

    I wonder if Kroten would also like a banana split?

  9. Theresa says:

    How cute!😀
    That last question about colours is interesting. At work (I work as a photographer) we are wondering whether humans all actually see the same colour system, or different colours. Colour perception is fascinating, perhaps turtles see more colours than humans do, or less, or different shades that humans can’t see!

  10. Laika says:

    I once had a tortoise. He loved melon and strawberry.

  11. That is so cool! I loved the video!

  12. terratoby says:

    Guest star – Banana! Love it! Kroten those were some big bites! I didn’t know they had to be in the water to swallow.

    • Novroz says:

      She has BIG mouth😉

      Tortoise can eat on land because they have saliva and tongue, fresh water turtle can’t because they don’t have saliva and very small tongue.

  13. That banana is as big as Kroton. How adorable!

    –Woofs and purrs from Life with Dogs and Cats.

  14. Xeristh says:

    Hahaha.. I love how she dragged it.

    About color: I read about it some times ago. Yes, they (and most reptiles) can see color, even better than human since they can see ultraviolet’s one. They have favorite color too.

    • Novroz says:

      She would drag it as far as she could but the banana was TOO heavy😉

      Snake can’t see color, they use temperature. I don’t know about other reptile.

  15. […] week ago, I posted a post called Banana Thief where Kroten stole my banana…at the end of the post I hinted about this post: Can they see […]

  16. Nicole Yong says:

    banana?my baby turtle does not eat banana i heard that banana are good for them but mine just smells it and swims away

Thank you for commenting :)

