A week ago, I posted a post called Banana Thief where Kroten stole my banana…at the end of the post I hinted about this post: Can they see colours?

Many people think that turtles just like other reptile sees in black and white but I have seen so many evidence that show the otherwise. Kroten and Kame seemed to be able to differentiate colours.

Kroten often bites green things…well, used to bite green things. As she gets older she tends to smell it first before biting it…BUT for the past few months I have noticed something new in her behaviour. She loves banana and I often brought banana home. One night, I was hungry and ready to eat my banana, she immediately woke up. I didn’t give her the banana because it was late at night and my turtles only eat in the morning. The after effect is the interesting part. She started sniffing around and became VERY interested with yellow things in my room…even my roommate’s pajama which happened to be yellow.

Her reaction toward yellow things happened several times.

As a science teacher, I know I should investigate it like a real scientist😉

This video will show you how Kroten able to differentiate colours:

You can see in the video that after I stimulated her with a banana she became more interested with yellow than other colours.

On the second observation, she even bit the yellow thing (I honestly don’t know the English word for that thing) before smelling it.

She totally avoided the blue ones and sniffed the red one a bit.

Further observation happened after I shot the video, I was putting her on my lap and my pajama was yellowish. She sniffed my lap seriously till she was content that it wasn’t the delicious yellow banana and then fell asleep.

So…I dare to say that Turtles can see colours!!

I, then looked it up through google and found this article: Turtles – Teacher.scholastic.com , it says: Scientists have discovered that turtles see colors and are especially sensitive to red.

My smart Kroten <3

My smart Kroten❤

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

35 responses »

  1. Kroten you are the smartes turtle I know. I will try that with my Hell-mut. We checked him today if all is well. It is but he still sleeps, it’s to cold outside for him.

    • Novroz says:

      Ah yes…Hel-mut is a tortoise, I wonder if tortoise acts the same as terrapin.

      • I will try it in spring. I hope he likes bananas too :o)

      • Novroz says:

        Don’t forget to share it with us🙂

      • Adam says:

        Be careful with your terminology of tortoises are turtles but not all turtles are tortoises. There’s actually a lot of science behind this I know for a while in Britain because it’s common to call land turtle or tortoise regardless of whether or not it’s actually turtle that box turtles which over there for a while were called box tortoises were treated much like tortoises and people don’t worry so much about giving them water and feeding them im proper diet. The term Terrapin actually refers to the diamondback terrapin which is a turtle that lives in brackish water near the coast.

      • Novroz says:

        Thank you for the explanation🙂
        It helps a lot as I am not from an English speaking country

    • Madison says:

      I knew it I have blankets for my two turtles I tried just having one but squirtle would not sleep in the red so I got a white one and tried putting west side in it she just went to the red one

  2. jojotheres says:

    I love how Kurome interrupted the end of the video😄.

    It’s good to know that turtles see colors. Now I know that when Jo-Jo bites shoe-laces, she’s not just being a psycho.

    • Novroz says:

      Hahahah he interupted ALL the time, I have to contain him somewhere. That little rascal!

      Maybe your shoe laces smells like food or has the colour of food😉

  3. Binky says:

    That is quite interesting. They always used to say dogs can’t see color, but they now say they see some colors. I think for most animals it would be advantageous to see colors, so I would bet most of them do. Their spectrum may be slightly different than ours. Insects see in the ultraviolet.

    Those things are called clothespins. Traditionally they were made of wood, and the old ones were made of a single piece of wood with no hinge.

    • Novroz says:

      I agree!! It’s advantageous for them as they need it to survive (either to find food or protect themselves) but some animal used other way to ‘see’.

      Ah!! Thank you🙂

  4. Tamimo says:

    Did you know that turtles have an easier time walking on carpet than plain floor?😀

  5. Nekoneko says:

    Hahaha!!! I like to see her so excited to see the banana and gallop after it. So fast!! She’s like : “Mommy!! Bring back the banana!! Pleeeese!! Gimmie, gimmie, gimmie!!”🙂

    She really does seem to see the yellow clip as different from the others, but she seem so disappointed when she gets really close and sniffs it…. I can almost hear her say : No fair!!! That’s not the tasty banana!!

    Kitties will do something similar when they see something move. The get so darn excited that they have to chase or pounce on things because their instincts are to be little hunters… always on the prowl. I love to trick and play with my Ting-Ting like that because it is soooo fun for us both. I’m not certain she sees colors, but I know she can see in near darkness. That’s a kitty thing….😉

    • Novroz says:

      Hahaha…my poor babies, they are often being teased by me😉 fortunately they still love me.

      Oh yes, when I had a cat, he often chased things that moved…so fun to play with him.
      It is well-known that Cats have good vision at night🙂

  6. KDKH says:

    Loved the video! You were testing her with various colored clothes pins!

  7. That is very interesting! How old is Kroten? He looks like he is smiling for his close-up! Science teachers ROCK!!

  8. Theresa says:

    This is so fascinating! You’ve shown not only that they can differentiate colours, but also that they recognize their food by smell AND by colour😀 Love this post. Thanks for sharing! Also, the smaller turtle – Kurome is it? – is too cute :3

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Theresa🙂
      Although they smell their food but they don’t have good smelling…at least the way I see it. They can smell something tasty but it’s so hard for them to find its origin.

      Hahaha Kurome is a little rascal, he kept showing up in the video…I have to keep him away and retake the observation.

  9. That is amazing. I never realized Turtles were so clever🙂 xxxxooxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  10. Misaki says:

    that’s so interesting, who knew!

  11. Gray Dawster says:

    I like bananas too Miss. Novia🙂
    Have a wonderful weekend my dear

    Andro xxxx

  12. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    Thats a cool video! Did you get any banana in the morning buddy?🙂

    I think you can see for sure! I can, I don’t like green veggies, even when Mum hides them with the carrots I can pick them out and leave them!🙂

    I hope you’re having a fun day,

    Your pal Snoopy🙂

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Snoopy🙂

      No, Kroten only gets her banana every once in two weeks, the carbo is too much for her.

      Hahaha you should eat your veggie Snoop😉

  13. I wonder if tortoises are the same? Nozzy my tortoise reacts almost the same to orange, he loves carrot and has gone and tried to eat an orange pen before, although I haven’t done anything like this to test my theory! I call those things clothes pegs or clothes pins.🙂 x

    • Novroz says:

      They are quite the same so I assume they can also see colours. Go and do the same observation😉 would love to know the result.

      Thank you for the new vocab🙂

  14. Nanette says:

    Fantastic! I believe! Wonder if it is a “color vibration thing” for them. We see color, maybe they see like X-Ray vision? Good demo, clearly loves yellow! But now I wonder? Do I annoy them with a red light? Purple? ughh

  15. of course they can see colors, while human has 3 photoreceptor (thus we can see red,green,blue), turtle has 4.
    the “extra” photoreseptor is to see/detect uv light.

Thank you for commenting :)

