As I had written in Papoe is Catching Up; I am both happy and concern seeing his growth spurt. It’s great that my little Papoe can finally turn to big Papoe (not that soon…but he will); unfortunately his growth brings one major problem!!

My Kurome, a reeves turtle, can’t swim well. I had tested it with Kroten’s tank (which is always full) and he tried so hard to swim to the top so that he could breath. He was moving his arms and hind legs so rapidly; it hurt to see him moved like that. When I brought Kurome home, Papoe was still so incredibly tiny. Papoe is an Emydura Schultzei who can swim in deep water so gracefully.

Because Kurome couldn’t swim well and Papoe was so tiny, I could easily put them together (after making sure Kurome would not eat Papoe).

The right tank belonged to Papoe and Kurome, the water was very shallow

DSC00065

I use rocks for their basking area

DSC00064

As Papoe became bigger day by day…I had to stop thinking only about Kurome, Papoe had to be considered too. It’s impossible for him to share tank with Kroten because Kroten doesn’t like other turtle in her tank. She can easily bite Papoe.

I raise the water level a bit as he grew and add more rocks.

DSC00070

As you can see in my previous post (Papoe is Catching Up), Papoe gets bigger and now as big as Kurome. I raise the water level from around 10 cm to around 25cm.

DSC01197

This new water level requires higher basking area…so I have to improvise by putting rocks on a plastic container like this.

DSC01204

Papoe can swim more freely and Kurome can still reach the basking area easily.

DSC01201

But that only works for now!

Soon Papoe will be much bigger, I need floating dock but the place I usually bought my turtle stuff hasn’t sold a new one. Kurome can swim but not as good as Papoe and he needs easy acces to hold on so he can breath.

Adding new tank is impossible because I live in a 4×4 meter room with a room mate. The space is not enough. Kurome, most likely, will not grow much bigger…maybe slightly bigger; but Papoe is going to be much bigger than he is now. He can be bigger than Kroten.

For now, I can relax and improvise…but there will be time when I really don’t know what to do. Papoe needs to swim while Kurome can’t swim well…I love them both equally so I want both of them get what they need.

Hopefully…time will make my brain thinks faster…or maybe anyone out there has a solution for me?

DSC01199

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

33 responses »

  1. Mags Corner says:

    Wishing you all the best in getting a solution figured out for your sweeties before the time come to make changes. You are so good with them and great at thinking of things to do to meet each of their needs so I am thinking positive for you coming up with a solution. You can do it…I know you can. Hugs and nose kisses

    Love the pictures!

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Mags. I do have another small tank but I want to keep Kurome together with Papoe as long as they can…but they can still live according to their natural behaviour.

  2. KDKH says:

    Maybe you could get an elevated bed, with a larger tank, or two tanks, underneath! http://www.finnwooddesigns.com/ElevatedPlatform.html

  3. Bailey says:

    Tough situation. I’m sure you will find a solution for them.

  4. Nekoneko says:

    Hmmmm? How about a way to make the tanks stack on atop another? Like bunk beds for turtles?🙂

    Maybe some sort of shelf or rack like these totes:

    That way they would only still take up the corner of the room but still be easy to clean and work with.

    • Novroz says:

      That’s a nice idea…I can put Kurome’s tank on top…but finding a strong shelf would be difficult, I can’t use plastic.
      Thank you for the suggestion, I am including it to my idea list😉

  5. Binky says:

    I guess telling your roommate she has to live in a turtle tank won’t work. Stacking the tanks like others have suggested might work. I hope you can find a good solution for everyone.

    • Novroz says:

      Hahaha…that will require massive amount of water to put human in a tank😉

      Yeah, so far that’s the best solution tho I am not sure it will look good in our room

  6. Robin says:

    Your turtles are very cute🙂 Is there anyway to stack the tanks vertically, maybe put them on shelves? If you can do that,you may be able to add an additional tank without using much more space.

  7. Bu Konde says:

    Saya gabungin dua RES dalam satu tank dengan dua area basking. Sudah 3 bulan mereka disatuin, yang satu besar (sekitar 1,5 tahun) satu lagi kecil (sekitar 7 bulan).

    Sampai saat ini tidak ada insiden gigit menggigit *semoga seterusnya juga* kadang2 mereka malah basking bareng😛

    Turtle butt :)))

    A photo posted by Astri Afrianti (@lilate) on

    apa tiap kura2 beda ya, prilakunya?

    • Novroz says:

      2 RES, jenis kura2 yang sama ga akan nmenimbulkan banyak masalah, tapi ini masalahnya yang satu ga jago berenang sementara yang satu jago bgt…nah itu yg harus dipikirkan, gimana supaya keduanya bisa terpenuhi kebutuhannya

      • Bu Konde says:

        maksudku gabungin si kroten sama papoe sih dengan kondisi ada 2 area basking dalam satu tank.

        waktu aku gabungin, memang yang besar langsung ngejar yang kecil karena ‘penasaran’ tapi aku awasin sampe beberapa jam. Akhirnya yang besar udah ga terlalu peduli sama yang kecil.

        saran aja😀

      • Novroz says:

        Kroten bener2 ga bisa digabung dengan kura manapun. Selain itu yang dipikirkan kan kalo papoe dah gede yah ga mungkin 2 kura2 besar dalam 1 tank 125 liter. Papoe cuma bisa digabung sama Kurome karena Kurome ga akan tambah besar lagi, dia salah satu jenis kura2 terkecil.

  8. Bikramjit says:

    No idea.. what you can do .. I would have said Stacking the tanks..
    all the best

  9. mollieandalfie says:

    Just popped by to say we Lub’z you been AWOL as been working on the Auction xxoxxx

    Mollie and Alfie

  10. Beth says:

    Like everyone else, the only solution I could think of would be finding a way to stack the tanks–like turtle bunk beds🙂 Maybe the store you get supplies at would have some other alternatives, too? All I do know is, these darlings sure are lucky to have someone who is so committed to making sure they are all happy!

    • Novroz says:

      No, the shop only supply basic needs for reptiles. I will have to check furniture store for that.

      Thank you Beth…I am the lucky one, I have fantastic little critters

  11. aditsharda says:

    Hey, you can add a gradient of sand to the bottom with a floating turtle dock to assist you.. That ways, Karoge can use the sand gradient to come to the top for air while Papoe can swim to the top for himself…

    • Novroz says:

      I can’t add any sand because that will take time clean it up and I don’t have the luxury of time to do such thing.
      I am still waiting for my usual shop to order a floating dock…but floating dock is still not the right answer as Kurome can’t swim too well when the water is very high

  12. Alexis says:

    They grow up too fast, huh.

    Let’s just keep our heads up okay? Even though Papoe is getting big, just be grateful.
    My dad is always telling me when I worry about my little Buddy getting to big, that I don’t need to worry because we are going to fix it no matter what. Papoe loves you and you love him, so you have to be able to work things out. It will be okay .

    By the way in my blog Buddy’s World ( at myturtlebuddy.blogspot.com ) I mention for people to visit you and your wonderful turtles.

    Have a great day , Novroz!
    ❤ Alexis

    By the way , stacking is a great idea.

    Or maybe you could get a small desk to put one tank on and the new tank underneath?

    • Novroz says:

      Actually Papoe grows rather slow…He seems to be in the same size for over a year and suddenly he grows fast.

      Thank you for sharing my blog. Yeah stacking is on my list but I have to wait and see what happens later

  13. Alice Audrey says:

    It sounds like you are going to have to get another tank. Can you go vertical with shelves? If it was me, I’d knock out a stand out of two by fours. But then, I keep a table saw in my back yard.

  14. Misaki says:

    Sounds like a few ideas have been suggested, hope one of them works out for you xx

  15. […] months ago, June to be exact, I posted about Housing Two Turtles in One Tank….it was about how to make two turtles with different ability of swimming can live happily in […]

Thank you for commenting :)

