I still can’t post about my baby turtles yet because something bad had happened…again!!!

We no longer has the kittens because someone STOLE them when no one was at home 😦

The awful event happened Thursday evening (I wish I could write about it faster but my PC is in my dorm). My Sister In Law didn’t tell me straight away because she wanted to wait for me to be at home. I had plan to meet my fellow teachers from previous school, so I went home a bit late. She texted me asking whether I am going to go home or not, I said I will be home a bit late, she replied by saying be home soon, poor Uci has lost all her kids, someone stole them.

When I got home, I asked her the detail. My brother took my Uncle who was visiting from Padang to a mall. My in law went to a mini-market near our house. When she returned home, she didn’t saw the kitties but assumed they were playing somewhere because those active kitties often seemed disappear but then showed up again…but she saw a brick, helmet’s front glass inside the shelter and a wooden block we used to block the water during heavy rain was placed in front of the shelter. (I reconstructed the condition to show you)

Jpeg

The next morning she saw only Uci was sleeping inside the shelter. She looked around for the kitties and couldn’t find them anywhere.

The arrangement looked like something kids would do but the kids in my area never did something like that…and even if they did something like that they wouldn’t take the kittens far away and eventually they will return home.

It’s been 4 days now and the kitties haven’t returned yet 😦

If you have been following the story of these cats (here, here and here), you know that we never plan to adopt them and would gladly give them away if someone ask, of course we would wait for them to stop breastfeeding. To think that someone just came in and snatched them away when there was no one at home was unthinkable!! Really unthinkable!! Why would anyone do that???

Everyone in my family started thinking, did he/she/they take them for something bad like eating them or laboratory test or something else because nice people would ask. It turned out, our neighbor’s kitten was also gone.

It’s a mystery for us!!

I hope whoever took them don’t mean bad (false hope but it doesn’t hurt to hope such goodness)

Bye bye our little kitties…hope you are all in good health

IMG_20140712_232137

Right now we are also worry about the mother, Uci. Uci is still feeding her babies. Now she had no babies to be breastfed and that causes her breast to swell. It looks painful but she is hanging there.

Jpeg

All we can do now is to comfort her. We don’t know how to treat such condition (any advice?) She is doing well, active as always and doesn’t make noise at all….but we still feel sad seeing her swollen breast.

Jpeg

She is now sleeping inside the house again. She was sleeping outside when her babies were still in the shelter we provided for them.

Jpeg

The saddest part is the way she keeps calling for her babies. Next to the shelter is a small ditch, she often looks at it and calls her babies as if she thinks that the babies might get caught in the ditch. She smells the shelter, the motorcycle because the babies often played underneath it, and all the places around the house. The way she calls them sounds so sad 😦 When she starts calling them, all I can do is telling her that your babies are not here anymore Uci, let’s just go inside.

It might sound crazy but I know the way she meows for food and to be let in into the house, those meows are different to the way she meows to call her missing babies. It sounds desperate and sad.

I fell so very sorry for her.I hope she gets over it soon and her breast stops swelling.

How can someone be so cruel??

About Novroz

I actively maintained 2 blogs. My personal blog is about things that I love: Turtles, Books, Movies, Music, Larc en Ciel, Muse, Cillian Murphy, The Mighty Boosh and many more. I also help my 3 super cute turtles, Kroten, Papoe and Kurome, to maintain their own blog: https://kamekroten.wordpress.com

44 responses »

  1. raisingdaisy says:

    My heart is breaking for you, the mommy cat, and those poor little kittens. I pray they were taken by someone who just wants pets, but they should have considered the fact that they were too young to be taken from the mother is horrible. I’m so sorry to hear this.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Daisy’s mom.
      You know, part of me think that some kids did it but not the ones from my neighborhood…but I wish that wasn’t what happened because kids would end up leaving the kittens around unattended 😦

      • jenny bermeo says:

        i am so sorry what had happen. Some people dont have hearts this day, only bad things in there mind. I hope the best for your cat and hopefully she feels better but like any mother losing there child it is a very depressing moment, heartbreaking. Good luck and hope the kittens are in a wonderful home.

  2. Oh no! That’s the worst. Why people can do such bad things? I’m so sorry for you and for Uci.

  3. this pains me too much to even comment. I can’t even think clearly to comment. I am at a complete loss for words. Praying they are ok, my heart is breaking for you and the kittie’s mom.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Caren.
      It breaks everyone’s heart too, everyone in my family has become used to seeing those kitties running around the front yard…we miss them.

  4. hello novroz its dennis the vizsla dog hay steeling living babies like this is abowt the lowest thing a persun cud do!!! i am sorry the kitties wer tayken and i hope they ar reeternd to yoo and there mama!!! ok bye

  5. Beth says:

    I’m so sorry you and poor Uci have gone through this! I hope the kittens are somewhere safe!

  6. Mumsy's Little Chancy Man says:

    This just breaks my heart. I do not understand how some people can do the things they do. The best thing to do for Uci is to leave her alone unless her breasts become red or you see signs of infection then she will need to see a vet as soon as possible. Her breasts already look pretty red in that picture so I would keep a close eye on them if I were you. I am just so sorry for her, you and the kittens. Warm, gentle hugs sweet friend

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Megs. So far they are still pinkish ( the photos didn’t do justice) and no sign of becoming red yet. She routinely licks her breasts, maybe to clean it up from any bacteria.

  7. Aw, I’m so sorry to hear that! I’ll give you some advice for momma kitty that might help. Placing a wet, warm rag on her breasts can help express some of the milk and relieve her a little bit. I breast fed twice, and I can tell you that when you stop or don’t feed for a while it is very painful and uncomfortable! I know I’m not a cat, but I just can’t imagine it being too different.

    • Novroz says:

      My sister in law was planning to do that when I left…but Uci refused any touch on her swollen breasts.
      I know, I am sure it’s the same as we (human and cat) ara both mammals.

  8. Binky says:

    I’m really sorry to hear that, Novia. It does sound as if someone has taken the kittens. If an animal had done it, you think there would have been some signs of a attack or fight, and I don’t think they’d all be gone at the same time.

    • Novroz says:

      Thank you Peter.
      None of us think it’s animals because there’s no bigger animals than cats here and just like you’ve said there’s no sign of fight. The male cats pretty much left them alone.

  9. Marc-André says:

    OMG… This is so sad I don’t even know what to say 😦 this made me cry…

  10. Mary Inman says:

    That is so sad and heart breaking. 😦 I understand how you can tell the difference in her cries because when my Booba Scooch was in pain she was actually saying “Mama”. I always call myself “Mama” to my 3 turtles, and to her when she was still alive. She would cry “Mama” when she hurt really bad. It was so pitiful.
    How could somebody do that? That is just SO mean! I agree with Ann “Paws” Staub. Put some warm rags on her breasts. I breastfed my 2 sons and it does hurt when the breasts are too full of milk and not nursed. You could try gently pulling a little to release some milk if she will let you. Her teats look like they’re painful from suddenly stopping nursing. I will pray that her babies come back. I just pray someone didn’t do something mean to them. Especially since your neighbor’s kitten is missing too. My heart goes out to UCI and you too Novroz. That is just so heartbreaking. </3

    • Novroz says:

      Unfortunately she won’t let us touch her teats, she tries to scratch our hand if we get near to hear teats. She is after all live her whole life in the street, she is only ‘sort of’ our pet for around 3 months.

      Thank you Mary. I haven’t gone home yet but I hope she is already much better when I go home on weekend

  11. Bikramjit says:

    oh no that is so sad.. dont know what to say now 😦

  12. gopika says:

    a thing like this happened with me…. long story… i live in a flat so thre its like a society.. i had a cat (male cat) names tuffy…male cat always aggressive… but he was a bit friendly with us…suddenly, all of a sudden he dissapeared.. 😦 i felt very bad…. 😦 i had found tuffy on 12 of december 2012… and he dissapeared in late april 2013…. 😦 my friedns and i was very sad… i still have pictures of him… but then… january 2013, near my birthday 🙂 i found a cute cat… i tried touching her but she ran away…. maybe she was afraid… and then later that evening, i heard a meow.. then another meow.. so i checked on my doorstep… ( i live on the first floor) and it was that same cat….she was so cute….. after some days, on jan 10, i finaly touched that cat with my frnds… our happinesss knew no bounds.. it felt like tuffy returned… 🙂 i named the cat timothy… coz she looked like a tiger cat…and in english literature (i am in school) i studied about a story of a tiger named timothy.. thats why i named her timothy…. timothy got soo trustful with my that she had started following me everywhere… when i used to go home, she would even come up the stairs (i live on the 1st floor) and then in my summer vaccations, i went to my aunts house to stay there… (i had got tito and mackie in march 2013) and i kept asking my frnds how timothy was… and one day my friend said that timothy had given birth to 3 kittens… i couldn’t wait to seee them… but the cat at my aunts house kept company to me… and when i returned, i saw the kittens.. they were soooo sooo sooo cute!!! timothy allowed me to play with them… the bad boys who live in other buildings always tried troubling timothy and her kittens… i had named the kittens ginger. (coz he is male and a ginger cat) lisa, and timber…. i kept protecting them and all….but one evening when i was playing with timothy n her kitties, timothy went up to my car and vomited there… i thought she must have eaten something wrong…. afterall, she was a stray cat… then.. the next morning i got a shock… when i woke up, my brother came and told me that… that he had see timothy DEAD right under my building… i thought he was joking coz maybe he wanted me to wake up early for my school… but when i saw timothy dead, i couldn’t help but cry…. timothy had shifteed her kittens to my building before that… and i went to see if all the kittens were ok…. no… lisa the white one, who had been bitten my some dog, was also DEAD.. a dog had come or maybe a male cat and broken all the bones of lisa…:( her one eye had popped out.. i felt very bad… i searched everywhere for timber.. but no luck… finally from the 2nd floor i heard a meow.. so i went thre and found ginger there…. ginger was biggest of all so he ran up and survived… i kept ginger in front of my house for some days.. and i did not tell my friends that i found ginger… but everytime i opened the door to go to feed him, he would run inside and sit under my sofa.. my mom did not allow that coz he had fleas…. but now ginger lives in a nearby building of mine and my friends feed her… i am happy that ginger is alive.. but my loved cat is dead.. 😦 i hope a new cat comes again… but no cat can take the place of timothy….. 😦

  13. gopika says:

    i am in 6th grade right now.. so my mom says that no cats in the house… i love cats.. infact i love animals… the kittend=s might return some day… if they are not killed then maybe they grow into cats and comeback…

  14. Alexis says:

    Oww! Those people who stole them must be jerks! Please mind my language. I think the people who must have stolen them are the same as your favorite. First they could have taken the boy, and then the rest. Or maybe the kitties were looking for their brother when ma was asleep and got lost? My family and i ( and pets ) pray for momma cat and the kitties!

    • Novroz says:

      Oh no! My favorite one was lost due to my brother’s mistake. I had two after my favorite was lost, and now those two i also don’t have anymore 😦

  15. snoopys@snoopysdogblog says:

    This makes us so sad 😦 Our hearts go out to the kitties, their Mama and all of you….

    Thinking of you all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  16. fitri says:

    ikut sedih mb,aku jg punya kucing.moga aja yg ambil emg pny tujuan melihara,jgn smp yg enggak2,soale skrg manusia makin kejam ma binatang.kasian uci,moga ga kenapa2

  17. Aw poor babies. Poor Momma. I can’t imagine why someone would do that.

    –Wags and purrs from Life with Dogs and Cats

  18. Nekoneko says:

    Aaahhhh!! That is so terrible!! I hope the little ones aren’t being treated badly wherever they are now… It would be good if they were at least taken by someone who truly wanted sweet little kittens for pets and was just afraid to ask if they were free to take. 😦

    I know Uci does miss them. Mama cats have a strong bond with their kittens… So much so that if they lose them they might even do really crazy things to “replace” them. I saw one of our feral cats when I was a girl, who lost her kittens to sickness actually steal away several baby squirrels to nurse and love. That was kind of bittersweet… knowing of course that she probably killed their real mother to do it. She took excellent care of them though, nursing them and never letting the other cats near them and then later they went off to do whatever it is squirrels do when they got big enough.

    • Novroz says:

      Uci is dealing it quite well now…although she tends to sleep a lot now.

      After this incident, Uci has transformed from feral cat to a pet. She stays at home all day long and she even sleeps on comfy area; on the chair, on the motorcycle and even on my dad’s bed.

  19. Xeristh says:

    Hope the kittens are living well now.

  20. Ol says:

    Please go ro vet with her if u dont know how ro cure

Thank you for commenting :)

